X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International Reviews

Monastic Settlement, Glendalough, Glendalough, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
387 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

If it would have been possible to have a warm instead of cold shower it could have been even better.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Dirty in all rooms. Toilet downstairs did not flush, when told to the staff they did nothing. There was no soap in the toilet, staff did not refill when commented upon.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Most of the toilets worked very poorly and couldn't flush. Great location if you want to explore Wicklow mountains

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I liked that the bathrooms were ensuite. There was some mold in the shower & the shower drained slowly, but other than that, it was very clean. I wish there would have been breakfast included--there isn't a shop in town to buy some simple groceries, so I skipped breakfast those mornings. There isn't a bike rental on site, and i wish there would have been so you coudl go to Laragh. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were large and clean. Would go again.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff were lovely and the hostel was well equipped. Laid back vibe about the place. They did a good breakfast for a price. Shame about the cold showers and the fact that my 10 bed room had only two lockers. I had to leave my valuables in the car.


80%

Everything was good exept maybe WiFi. No connection in our room, only near reception desk.


94%

Great locationlocation,let down slightly by a smell of smoking in the room

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very happy with cleanliness with clean linen left on bunk bed to be put over pillows and beneath quilt. Very relaxed atmosphere and marvelous setting. Great value for money. Self catering facilities were very good if that was your wish.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This was an amazing hostel! People very friendly. Right on the 2 lakes (10 minute walk to the big lake). 5 minute walk from town. Met some great people at the hostel and the manager even drove us to the nearest bus stop at the end of our stay! So so great, would recommend it to anyone.


94%

Nice quiet atmosphere, comfortable lobby where you can meet people, clean facilities and an overall good time awaits you there!


77%

A beautiful location, right in the heart of the Wicklows. A tasteful building with all the necessities and a beautiful backyard. If someone would have said it was a resort, I would have believed them.


80%

We stayed in Glendalough Youth Hostel while walking on the Wicklow Way. The hostel was very conveniently located near the Wiklow Way itself and near tourist attractions as well. Laragh is 2Km away which might be a bit far after a 20 Km walk :) but Glendalough Hotel has a pub which offer a drink and some food at a decent price. We took the breakfast which is a bit expensive for what it is but convenient given that the nearest village is 2 Km away


74%

Amazing background and building. But we have to highlight that there were nobody to welcome us when we arrive at the youth hostel. We had to look for one receptionist for about 30 minutes. In addition, the breakfast wasn't included in the price and when we arrived in the dinning room in the morning there was nothing anymore to eat while we arrived only 30 minutes after the beginning. Despite of it, the room was very roomy and clean (except a stain on a sheet) with a private shower.


91%

Very homely and a most enjoyable stay - made to feel very welcome!


51%

Me and my girlfriend, we brought our own food, to have self-catering during our stay, as we did not know what to expect. After we checked the staff kitchen, which we accidentally took, we found it dirty, sticky (old fry-oil) and smelly (old meat). We thought about taking breakfast from the Hostel the next day, but we did not do it after seeing that. It was actually the last time we took a step into the kitchen area. I would never eat anything made in this kitchen ever.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Tara was brilliant, hostel is very dated with lots not working correctly. However your right next to the Walks .Yha members get 2euros discount a night. Someone who walked in paid 4.50 less than I had. I wouldn't stay again, if you have a car stay in Knockree hostel as it was cheaper and amazing in comparison


80%

Glendalough Youth Hostel was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and they helped us with everything immediately. For instance, the heating in our room was not working and the staff just rebooked us to an other (and bigger ;) ) room. Very nice. The kitchen is wel provided with tools pots and pans. The location is also ideal if you want to hike in the Wicklow Mountains. The downsides are the very old and uncomfortable beds. And the Wifi is only accessible in the lobby.


100%

Amazing! Beautiful location, very clean, great breakfast in the morning for a good price! Also a fantastic DVD selection.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

I liked that hostel. Please note that you have to bring your own padlock if you want to lock your valuables (maybe you can borrow some, but I didn´t ask). Staff is very helpful and friendly and it´s a very warm and cosy place. Easy to meet people. Cleanliness is good, though facilities are a bit older, so it´s harder to keep them spotless. Also important: Next ATM is far, far away (some 20 km?). Bring also food in advance. There´s only a tiny little gas station shop within walking distance.


89%

A good value , clean hostel with nice staff and a cat. The lounge area has a wood burning stove and lots of sofas, they have a big selection of DVDs that you can rent and the place is warm throughout even in the depth of January. (we woke up to a light dusting of snow outside.) It could be bettered if they offer a service where you could perhaps rent a posture pillow for an extra couple of euro and complimentary tea, coffee and sugar would make it near perfect


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(197 results)


View all Glendalough Hostels

Please give us your feedback