Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Mar 2017
8.6

Glendalough is a beautiful spot and this hostel fit the setting nicely! Staff were kind and the facilities were clean. The only complaint is that the toilets didn't flush well and the bedding sheets were very stiff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.0

The staff was incredibly rude, but it was clean and in the perfect location for hiking. Bring groceries with you because there is no store around. They'll charge you 5 euro for a piece of toast in the morning otherwise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.4

There are two pillow for each single bed, and this is just AMAZING !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • enricolungay18
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.7

Very friednly staff and clean hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.3

2 nights in Glendalough. Comfy bunks and a comfy lounge/reception area with a wee gas flame stove... loads of DVDS but didn't ask where you could see them. Self catering or option to purchase breakfast. Close to the hills for walks and hiking and near to the monastic settlement there. No need to drive, walk from the hostel. Entry to room is by key card and use ur own lock on lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.9

Staff were friendly and rooms were very clean. My boyfriend and I booked a private room, looking forward to getting to share a bed for cuddling.. but when we got into our room it had 2 sets of bunk beds and one single bed. So it was a little misleading, spending the extra money didn't really feel worth it. Location was nice, just far enough away from town, but also close enough that it was a nice walk. Our toilet didn't flush, that was our biggest complaint. No matter what we did, never worked

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.1

Lovely place, great location! The staff were unbelievably friendly, one even joined us for dinner and gave a fantastic recommendation. ONLY complaint: the breakfast cost 5 euros and only consisted of toast and cereal - not worth the money but the only food around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Great place, great location. They could do with a few more lockers in the bedrooms. A few things like having free tea and coffee would have been nice. Soap in the soap dispensers - little things that don't cost much but make the experience that bit nicer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Good place to stay if looking to go hiking. Very nice common room for relaxing. Only gripe was that wifi was only reliable in the common room, not the bedrooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Nov 2016
9.4

We had a wonderful stay at Glendalough. The hostel is in a great spot for enjoying the outdoors, good kitchen and dining facilities. The rooms are pretty basic but all you need for a hostel and nice and clean. The staff made our stay memorable, they made such an effort to move TVs and DVD players so that we could watch a great Irish movie that they had recommended. Awesome place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.