Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 694 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 694 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
8.9

I realized after the reception desk had closed that the door to my room (#3) could be opened without using the key card. Also limited working outlets in the room (3 in an 8 bedroom). Staff friendly, facilities great, would come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
8.6

Great Location, nice staff. The beds are pretty awful though - the spring in mine poked through the mattress and spiked at my leg in the night which isn't good! Apart from that I enjoyed the place - right on the doorstep of the trails, close to a hotel with food & drinks, full kitchen facilities, quiet nature & comfy living area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
6.0

Over all it's ok for youth hostel standards. But it was really annoying that the staff (young international volunteers or something like that?) created a student exchange atmosphere and populated the common room (only place with internet and to spend some time when the weather is bad) instead of making space for the guests. That was really inconvenient, people went to bed at seven to avoid that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
10.0

What a wonderful hostel in an amazing tranquil location. We booked 3 twin rooms en suite on our way over to the WAW, what a gem! Rooms were very clean and tidy, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the kitchen and catering facilities were great. We will definitely be back next year for a longer stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
9.4

A lot of the reviews here talk about the beds. Due to that I checked the mattresses in the room I was in before selecting where to stay. Some of them were absolutely horrible-the old metal springs would have been terrible to sleep on. The others were new and some sort of foam composite that was great. Good enough Id love to know the manufacturer brand!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2017
9.1

Super helpfull staff!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
5.7

It is in need of a little refurbishment / repair and mattresses need to be replaced etc.... A group that were staying on our first night we're very disruptive and were drinking in the corridors until 4 am. It should have been dealt with by staff who were absent and any person (and there were several) who tried to deal with the situation were ignored or worse! There were also groups drinking outside the front door at 9am on both mornings. Not a pleasant atmosphere for those staying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2017
8.0

No water for showers and beds terrible. Need to spend a little$$$ and buy new beds. No one slept in our room due to coils cutting off nerve and blood supply to hips , arms and wrists. They have you because of location, but I would not stay there again as I need sleep!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
7.1

Great location. Friendly staff. The room was a little smelly and could have been improved by removing the graffiti from the bunk beds and cleaning the mould from around the shower. Pretty basic facilities but the experience was acceptable overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
7.7

Lovely stay friendly helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×