Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
8.3

Unbeatable location, bear in mind it is close to the lakes and midges can be a problem. Breakfast was average, continental better than cooked. Rooms were clean as were communal areas. Would happily stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Perfect stay- the only problem was that the room was much too warm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
7.7

Excellent location and setting. WIFI in the lounge room only. Pay for towels even in the private rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Amazing location, good facilities and friendly staff. Also nice to have an ensuite dorm. The top bunk mattresses though are awful!! Springs sticking into you from every bit of it. Really uncomfortable, definitely need looking at!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
4.3

This hostel would be closed if it wasn't in such an amazing location. I have been in Ireland for 2 weeks and this is the worst! The bed had tiny flying insects that bit me all night, the mattress was a rock! The wifi only worked in the common room which is not a problem however the staff sits on all the couches in there To get the wifi leaving no room for the guest. I sat on the floor and no one offered me a seat. I was a paying guest. And I kept walking on meetings,akward. Luggage room not safe

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.7

Clean and well located, it is a great spot for exploring the area. I wish they had a bulletin board for solo hikers looking for a walking companion!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
7.4

Had a good stay at this hostel! Great location for hiking the national park and sight seeing. The rooms were nice and tidy, a little noisy if you are next to a big dorm but that is to be expected. The main woman's washroom didn't have a handle, or it was broken so no one could flush. The bathroom in my dorm however worked fine, but it's something that needs to be fixed. Would probably stay here again in spite of that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
6.9

Came to hike Wicklow and for that reason it served its purpose. Right by all of the trails. Obviously a youth hostel, so lots of youth. Very busy. Toilet and shower had issues, plus it's a push button shower so be prepared for that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
10.0

Wonderful hostel in a very scenic area. Definitely worth a visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
8.0

Not made for tall people, shower head was at shoulder level and beds are about 180cm. Other than that comfortable and affordable hostel in a great location along the Wicklow Way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.