Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International Located at Monastic Settlement, Glendalough, Wicklow.
Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International
Ireland
Wicklow Monastic Settlement, Glendalough
86% 506
53.0085864 -6.3185119
Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.1

I'd definitely come back! The location of the hostel is perfect for exploring the valley of Glendalough and the surrounding Wicklow Mountains, a lot of beautiful hiking trails start there. The next supermarket is quite far away though, so it's better to bring food with you. Also, the hostel is clean and the staff was always very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
6.9

Manager was quite busy but still friendly and helpful. Facilities reasonable and location superb. Shower though was one of the worst I've experienced though. Percussion tap unit which goes off after ~10secs, cold for ages beforehand till warmed up. Not ideal after walking/ cycling all day. Otherwise okay. Reasonably-priced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ambradipiano951
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Perfect location for who wants to enjoy the wicklow mountains and doesn't have any car. The only complaint is that I booked 2 beds in a mixed dorm bedroom and we ended up in different rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
8.6

Excellent location. Nice hostel. Good well equiped self catering kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Free tea and coffee would be nice, even if someone doesnt want breakfast. 2 Euros for just a cup of coffee was a bit overpriced. Otherwise nice reception, great cleanliness and security to leave some stuff behind when going out hiking!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
7.1

If you're staying in this area, you probably don't need a vibrant scene from the hostel, and you definitely won't get that. It was great for what I needed - a bed and a shower in a beautiful area close to hiking. One big complaint is that the wifi doesn't make it back to the bedrooms, which should be standard nowadays. The staff was also real medium. Not especially nice or helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
7.7

The location was beautiful! Although it was a hostel, I was a bit disappointed with the beds. We stayed in a twin bedded room that was quite small with nowhere really to put our clothes etc. The beds in our room had seen better days! Overall though, we enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Very clean and comfortable and great welcome. Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • auntykaykay
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
10.0

Glendalough was a dream within a dream. No hostel I've stayed in compares. Under the bed cages, wonderful-kind-helpful staff, and the most enormous full Irish breakfast ever for 8 euro. Obviously the surroundings didn't hurt either. Go to Glendalough and stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
9.7

We have walked up to the hills. You can choose your path according to your possibilities, from easy track to the whole day climb. Outstandnig view down to the Glendalough. Accomodation was nice and price convenient. Great restaurant The Wicklow Heather is recomended for it's unique atmosphere, 30 mins by walk or you can ask for a transport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.