Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel, great staff. Awesome: you could buy food at the counter as the next store is quite a ways away, big selection of games and movies for rainy days, lots of stoves and pots to use. Not-so-awesome: ventilation in bathroom wasn't great, there was water coming down for hours after a hot shower. FYI, he stoves are gas stoves, which took some getting used. WiFi only really works in the lobby. Can't say much on the atmohsphere as I was only there for one night with my boyfriend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
8.3

You had to push a button to have water from the showers, and it lasted like 10 secs. Then you had to push it again, so it was not pleasant to shower. But they clean rooms really well, and have movies and board games. Great place if you're into outdoors and going for walks and hikes, if not, don't stay there. Overall nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
5.1

Loved location but were shocked by the room. Booked a double room at 50€ per night without breakfast. At that rate we expected a simple but nice room. What we got was a drab tiny room with 2 old beds and nothing else. The mattresses were so old & worn out, it was like lying on the bare spings. The bathroom's plumbing had interesting aspects, only the guy checking us in didn't tell us about it. Not funny having a toilet that doesn't flush. It does not take much investment to make a room nicer!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Perfect location and great facilities. Look forward to stay I g again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, kitchen and dining area clean and of a good size, dorms also large and clean, I was travelling alone and there were two large groups staying so there was not much atmosphere outside of them and the always present hand held devices. very pleasant stay, amazing location speaks for itself

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
5.7

This could be such a great hostel if the management made any effort with the place. They have all the facilities and infrastructure plus a superb location but just don't bother with the little things that would make it a good hostel. The cleaning of the rooms is poor the wifi doesn't work outside of the lobby it has NO atmosphere at all they seem to actively want to discourage guests from mingling or having fun, the whole place has a sterile hospital feel to it. Need more characters to explain

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
7.7

Beautiful spot in good surroundings for hikers. Room and self-catering kitchen were clean. Beds were comfortable. And it's only one and a quarter hours from the airport. So it's perfect for a start or last stop of your holiday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.1

Had a very Pleasant stay at Glendalough. Elders were welcomed as well as youth.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AitchBengtsson
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.9

Glendalough is a great place to enjoy nature and go hiking. The hostel is equipped with a kitchen but food isn't close by so bring food with you. The room's shower was tiny and the timer was ridiculous but it was hot at least and the plumbing is a little temperamental. The young members of staff were a little obnoxious and loud and the internet is unreliable. BUT. Beautiful scenery, close to hiking trails and easy to get to. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
7.7

Loved my stay in this beautiful place. From a very warm reception, through to a hostel which had basic required facilities, but great atmosphere, this was a stay I really enjoyed. I love being just a few yards away from the hills, and the many trail runs you can do round them. It was ideal to just get up, walk out the door, and start running!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.