Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 528 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International Located at Monastic Settlement, Glendalough, Wicklow.
Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International
Ireland
Wicklow Monastic Settlement, Glendalough
87% 528
53.0085864 -6.3185119
Glendalough Youth Hostel (Hostelling International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Nov 2016
9.4

We had a wonderful stay at Glendalough. The hostel is in a great spot for enjoying the outdoors, good kitchen and dining facilities. The rooms are pretty basic but all you need for a hostel and nice and clean. The staff made our stay memorable, they made such an effort to move TVs and DVD players so that we could watch a great Irish movie that they had recommended. Awesome place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
10.0

Very cosy hostel,I will surely stay there next time when I re-visit Glendalaugh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Gorgeous location perfect for walking. Friendly welcoming staff and everything you need including a cosy lounge with a warm fire in the evenings. We were there with our two kids and all loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
7.7

I am really disappointed by the new irish trend of using a bed sheet instead of a bedlinen. There were only two lockers on the room for 8 & they were without padlocks. No hangers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
8.6

Our major problem with the hostel was the lack of hot water for a shower when we arrived in , after walking in the rain. The water in the showers was just about lukewarm. We were in room 6 and there was no where to hang /store our things But we did have a good time and we enjoyed our hostelling experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
8.9

Great place. WiFi doesn't reach to most of the rooms. Showers were a push button. Showers could have been a bit cleaner. Overall good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Oct 2016
10.0

Very friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.1

I'd definitely come back! The location of the hostel is perfect for exploring the valley of Glendalough and the surrounding Wicklow Mountains, a lot of beautiful hiking trails start there. The next supermarket is quite far away though, so it's better to bring food with you. Also, the hostel is clean and the staff was always very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
6.9

Manager was quite busy but still friendly and helpful. Facilities reasonable and location superb. Shower though was one of the worst I've experienced though. Percussion tap unit which goes off after ~10secs, cold for ages beforehand till warmed up. Not ideal after walking/ cycling all day. Otherwise okay. Reasonably-priced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ambradipiano951
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Perfect location for who wants to enjoy the wicklow mountains and doesn't have any car. The only complaint is that I booked 2 beds in a mixed dorm bedroom and we ended up in different rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.