X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Glendine House Reviews

Glendine Road, Kilkenny, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
82 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This B&B is charming and reasonably priced. It is in a beautiful location, on several acres of land. When we arrived, we were welcomed by name by our host, Alan. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The towels were big and fluffy. Unlike some B&Bs where you are given a menu to order breakfast, Alan offered to cook whatever we would like. This place is a country setting, yet close enough to walk to town. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Alan was great host, great stories and a great breakfast. Facilities very good and even a cup of tea on arrival. Not sure about the previous reviews commenting on top floor and hot water believe these may have been entered in error as no other floor and plenty of hot water just needs a second or two to come through. Highly recommend

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I'm John Gregory and submitted a negative review of Glendine house by accident, thinking it was for another B&B that we stayed at. The website wouldn't let me delete it, and I was mortified, because Glendine House was the best B&B we stayed at while in Ireland. Our hosts made us feel at home immediately at this idyllic property, and I highly recommend it.


83%

Great reconmendations for pubs and food as well as sites to visit. Greeted immediately when pulling up to the home and provided help with luggage. Great host with several stories to share. Breakfast was very good.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Don't stay on the top floor. The shower doesn't work.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a delightful period house which is what I had sought, and the proprietor was most friendly and helpful. However, I found that there was no hot water on tap in the en suite bathroom in the evening and I had to use the small jug kettle provided for tea/coffee making in the room, to heat water for shaving, before going out for an evening meal. In the morning hot water was available in the tap and the shower. Hence, my average rating for the facilities. However, I would stay again.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice place, i would love to stay again


97%

Thanks a lot Alan! It was really nice and clean. A house filled with Heart.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Alan is extremely welcoming and an excellent host. House is beautiful and atmospheric and breakfasts great. Bit of a trek into Kilkenny city (ended up getting taxis mostly for about 7e each way) but location is quiet with horses and trees surrounding it, which makes up for the distance.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very charming B&B with character and Alan is very warm host! The most remarkable B&B in our 1 week traveling around Ireland.


89%

All you could ask for !

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

nice country house, owner was very nice and no complaints!


94%

This was an amazing place to stay. Very quaint and pretty house with a field with sheeps and horses. Alan, the host was really friendly and offered tea on our arrival. The house is about 2 min drive from city centre so the location was really convenient too. The room and ensuite toilet is well furnished. There's a TV but we did not use it. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great stay, very happy with it overall the host Alan is brilliant and very accomodating. Would love to return!


97%

This is a lovely B&B with a very hospitable host who will greet you with a big smile. The location is about 2 km from the city centre, so it is a bit of a walk to town if you did not come by car, but in return you get a very charming, quiet place with a big garden that has grassing sheep and two horses that will let you pet them if you bring them carrots. When you are inside the house, the decor takes you back in time, and it is a very good location for putting away the stress of city life.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Spent one night here with my gf on our way through Ireland. Alan was a lovely host very friendly and informative. The Breakfast was excellent and would thoroughly recommend Glendine House !


100%

Allan was waiting for us as we were family. In the morning he prepared us a complete breakfast...very very tasty! The place is wonderful and so relaxing. I wish we could have stayed more days. I recommend it absolutely.


94%

Relaxing charming b

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We loved our stay at Glendine House. It was so peaceful and great to see the horses grazing outside our bedroom window. Alan was a wonderful host and gave us good information about the area. The property and home are absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was delicious, too.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Beautiful house and room. Nice surroundings and garden. About 20 min walk into the city through nice neighborhood. Very nice, dedicated and helpful owner! We enjoyed our stay very much and will return.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Kilkenny Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback