X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Glenelg Beach Hostel Reviews

1-7 Moseley Street, Glenelg, Adelaide, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
317 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great hostel close to the beach. Friendly staff

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location right by the beach, in a very nice building. Polite and friendly staff. Communal areas are dark and a bit cramped, not very inviting. No lockers in bedrooms and lack of power sockets. Lots of big groups in the dorms.


100%

Loved my weeks stay here, owner Tony was nice & friendly, the hostel was clean & the single beds are always a winner with me, along with $5 happy hour proper UK pints! Reasonable prices after happy hour too tbh. My only complaint was that I had a couple of very hot % humid nights & there was no air con or sufficient fan in the room. Perhaps a couple of stand alone rotating fans couple be put in each room to help combat the heat on nights like that. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.


97%

Wonderful hostel with absolutely convenient location, helpful staffs, rooms are spacious & clean bathroom, already recommended to my fds


86%

Excellent location, one minute walk to the beach with lots of restaurants and shops just downstairs. The hostel was very clean too.


77%

I stayed in the yha in the central city for a wwhile but I really missed beach and a bit more something which reminds u to be in Australia! The glenelg beach hostel has a great location, it's just next to the tram which can bring u in the city any time but ucan eeasily find everything you need (grocery and clothing shopping as well as good bars and clubs as well as good restaurants or fast food) all there aand u've got the beach! I just really hates that I didn't have any plugs next to my bed.


83%

I had pleasant stay for 2 nights. Airport bus cross the road, restaurants & shops around the corner, coles is also closeby. Very close to the beach and shopping street. Individual comfy bed in spacious room. No locker in our 6bed female dorm, but ok. Check-in staff was nice & friendly. The only thing I found a bit weird was the shower area. Cant find light switch for upstair shower, downstairs showers for mixed gender with only curtain instead of door, very insecure, no hooks for clothes hanging

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Its value for money for its location, but the downsides are some tenants were extremely loud until early hours of the morning and nothing was done by the management. The hot water kept going off in the bathroom,, and the alternative bathroom was out of order. its very inconvenient as the hot water switches off without warning halfway to having a shower. There was a short supply of cutlery most times.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Tony, Thanks for making our stay in Glenelg a great experience.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

My family and I had an excellent stay at The Backpackers, Glenelg. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and informative. The location is great if you want to be close to the beach. There is a tram stop just around the corner that will take you to the city centre. Highly recommended! Would definitely stay there again.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Cold shower, no plugs in wall so had to charge my phone in the lounge down stairs, really old building so out of anyone's control really, staff were great, really friendly, the guests in my room were really loud when enetting and leaving and very inconsiderate , but again, out of the staffs control

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely place, next to the beach. Adelaide is a nice city and in about 20 minutes you are in de centre. Hostel is very good, too bad that hot water is most of the times a problem. Lot of times the shower was cold in 2 minutes!!!


89%

Great hostel with no bunk beds!! Rooms are spacious and bathrooms clean. Kitchen can be cramped when busy but overall very decent cooking environment. Extremely friendly and informative staff! Location is brilliant, 3 min walk to the beach and 1 min walk to tram which will take you into the city. Would recommend this hostel and a good place to meet lots of other people travelling Australia.


100%

Great hostel. Staff were super helpful, especially considering they had to stay back late for us to check in. Would definitely stay there again! :)

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean, close to beach. Tram takes half an hour into Adelaide but very cheap. Hostel is clean. No lockers and the plug sockets werent easy for everyone to access as it is converted terraced housing.


83%

There were no lockers in the rooms and the kitchen utentials could be improved by adding more as there wasn't a great deal of cups etc. Breakfast is basic, just toast teas and coffee (no milk). But the hostel itself was good, a beautiful building with a good vibe and the staff were friendly. Also the location was great, 2 seconds to the beach.


97%

Very clean hostels with hot showers. Sometimes if a lot of people are showering it might be cold though. They clean the rooms every morning between 10-12. Free breakfast included unlimited toast (if empty ask tje friendly staff at the bar) as well as butter and jam. So basics are covered. Enough space in the kitchen to cook and a cool tv room and the staff provide dvd movies for free. Happy hour between 5-7pm so grab a drink or more for 5$ each. :) 200m away from a tram stop - city 20min away :)

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location near the beach, staff are lovely and rooms are spacious enough for bags to be left around. Wasn't that busy mid-November, so no fighting for bathrooms etc. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


94%

It was very laid back and the staff were very helpful.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel in Adelaide, very close to Glenelg Beach, nice pub, no bunks


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Adelaide Hostels

Please give us your feedback