X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Global Backpackers Airlie Beach Reviews

356-362 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
421 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

good hostel, good staff, good facilities but it was really noisy when I was there! the big negative point for me was the matress, really bad!! the check-in is only possible from 1pm so when you arrive at 8am it sucks to wait that much time if you want to rest or have a shower!!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Generally good. Loved meal deal-food delicious. TV room unnecessarily shabby. V unimpressed with bthrooms, and through hostel incl. Rooms a lot of random broken hardware that just need to be removed to imrpove imaage and eaasier for hostel for cleaning etc

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

the staff is not very friendly in my opinion, especially the staff working in the bar restaurant. did not say a thing when something you ordered was not available, and offered you the other thing without asking!! and when she collected your empty plate, she did not say anything either, just acted like a robot, no smile no eye contact!! The kitchen was dirty, several flies were there, and the dishes, plates were greasy... feeling disgusting when eating.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

All good. And nice have toilet shower in the room. But also not so convenience. Coz if someone use it. Then need to wait...


66%

Staff were fine, cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Needs more basic items such as bath towels/mats. Shower curtain was completely broken, ran out of toilet paper, wasn't replenished for 24hrs.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel located on main street,with super market and lagoon just across the street.You get 50% on a meal drink at the bar downstairs,which has great atmosphere.I regret that the bathroom is located in the room and there are no others:when 10 people have to take their shower,it takes a long time...and it's not clean at all (bathroom).No lockers in the room.


77%

no big problem except the kitchen is a mess .............. don't feel like cooking in there


29%

This visit was a hell. Cockroaches were running over our bodies during sleep in this filthy bedroom, which looked like it was never cleaned before. They should be ashamed about the quality they offer.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I enjoyed the meal deal, its great! You can get a decent meal ond a little drink for just 6.50. My 10 bed dorm was spacious,clean and air-conditioned. The bathroom shower was clogged at first but they fixed it within couple of days. Otherwide the bathroom was not very pleasent, but not very dirty either. There is a deal available:stay for 4 nights but pay for 3.


77%

Really good value for money and in an ideal location! Staff very friendly and helpful...except from the miserable bar staff! Bathrooms could do with a really good clean hu t apart from that we enjoyed our stay!


80%

In a great location in the heart of Airlie, right in front of the Lagoon. The facilities are pretty standard, clean kitchen etc. Residents get really cheap food and drink in the bar, by far the best hostel food I've ever had. Try the thai beef salad!!


69%

Bar next door is loud until least midnight. Not the place if you're planning on getting some sleep. But very central


57%

The room I stayed in was quite unclean - the bathroom in particular. I also only booked this place because the website said there was a pool on site. When I arrived, the pool had been filled in! This really annoyed me. Because our bathroom was so disgusting, we didn't stay at our hostel more than 1 night. We went to the hostel next door instead. Much better. The staff didn't know anything. I asked them how to get to a specific location and they sent me in the opposite direction!

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

THERE IS NO POOL. the hostel is not called global it is beaches which makes it neary impossible to find.. Bathrooms were disgusting and smelled like an outhouse. There is no supplies for making your own food. Had no forks to eat dinner with or bowls for cereal.. It is cheap and you get a good price on dinner though! Great location.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The rooms aren't really clean. There are lot of people partying and you can't sleep well.


77%

for the price excellent, the voucher of 50% off the meal was excellent. For the price i recommend

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

There is no bus that collects you from the greyhound stop! Despite saying this on the description on hostelworld! I mentioned this to the staff and she just shrugged. Ridiculous. The place is noisy and the bathroom stank of urine. Only stayed one night as I was sailing in the morning, it's an ok place to crash for one night.


80%

Lovely big dorm room with clean bathroom and great shower. Kitchen is fairly average but ok. Amazing location!


74%

The bathroom smelled and was really disgusting. So dirty! I stayed for 3 days and didn't noticed anyone cleaning it. The rest was brilliant!

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Unclean and broken sink in room!


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback