X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Global Backpackers Airlie Beach Reviews

356-362 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
450 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Bedbugs. Cockroachs


71%

There is one brunette girl with blue eyes from the staff that I really don't know why she works there. She really hates the job and doesn't like to help at all. The place has a very loud bar and you can't sleep until midnight (when the music stops). Besides this, they have good meal deals in that bar and good deals with accommodation if you book the tour with them.


97%

The hostel is very clean. We had a private room which was very spacious. Food was great value for money and the bar had a buzzing atmosphere

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great time staying at Beaches hostel. The staff were great and the location was awesome. My only request is they put a soap dispenser in the bathroom - there was no soap at all. Otherwise an awesome stay!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

You pay for what you get. It's not the best hostel but then again it's cheap. Good location and staff were helpful.


20%

I made a mistake for my reservation It was not in MAY !! We didn't stay at the backpacker !!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location on the Main Street, amazing food deals for in house residents. Bathrooms could do with a bit of a clean, but very good value for money.


60%

Receptionists very RUDE, won't be staying there again.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Way better then YHA we was one the first day.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

good hostel, good staff, good facilities but it was really noisy when I was there! the big negative point for me was the matress, really bad!! the check-in is only possible from 1pm so when you arrive at 8am it sucks to wait that much time if you want to rest or have a shower!!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Generally good. Loved meal deal-food delicious. TV room unnecessarily shabby. V unimpressed with bthrooms, and through hostel incl. Rooms a lot of random broken hardware that just need to be removed to imrpove imaage and eaasier for hostel for cleaning etc

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The room was a bit dingy but the fridge and TV were excellent and came in use a lot. We really really appreciated the $6.50 meals in the evening and the food was fantastic. Beaches bar as far as bars went was one of my favourites on the strip.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

the staff is not very friendly in my opinion, especially the staff working in the bar restaurant. did not say a thing when something you ordered was not available, and offered you the other thing without asking!! and when she collected your empty plate, she did not say anything either, just acted like a robot, no smile no eye contact!! The kitchen was dirty, several flies were there, and the dishes, plates were greasy... feeling disgusting when eating.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

All good. And nice have toilet shower in the room. But also not so convenience. Coz if someone use it. Then need to wait...


66%

Staff were fine, cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Needs more basic items such as bath towels/mats. Shower curtain was completely broken, ran out of toilet paper, wasn't replenished for 24hrs.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It wasn't easy to find because the sign out front said Beaches, not Global Backpackers. The woman at the front desk was friendly and quite helpful for planning excursions while at Arlie Beach. If you are a guest at Global, you get a coupon for a $6 dinner with draft beer or cider, a good deal. Some noisy guests came into the dorm late at night, probably expected as Airlie Beach aimed at the partying crowd. No internet on site, use the computers at another hostel to the west.


80%

Hostel located on main street,with super market and lagoon just across the street.You get 50% on a meal drink at the bar downstairs,which has great atmosphere.I regret that the bathroom is located in the room and there are no others:when 10 people have to take their shower,it takes a long time...and it's not clean at all (bathroom).No lockers in the room.


77%

no big problem except the kitchen is a mess .............. don't feel like cooking in there


29%

This visit was a hell. Cockroaches were running over our bodies during sleep in this filthy bedroom, which looked like it was never cleaned before. They should be ashamed about the quality they offer.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback