X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Global Backpackers Airlie Beach Reviews

356-362 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
469 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Traveling as 22 and 18 year old males. Staff were not very friendly as is the case in most hostels. Found the room was unclean with cockroaches and had to make and unmake our own beds. Was not cheap enough to justify all of this. It was also on top of a bar which made it very loud, before the boat trip I had hoped to catch up on some sleep.


37%

Horrible hostel!! Really, is unbelievable that in airlie there are just 3 hostel. Is messy, uncomfortable, noisy in the morning and night.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Kind of dirty but on the main street. Nothing too special about it....


63%

It was OK. The location was great and the room was clean. The bathroom was dirty and the tap was dripping.


49%

The room we stayed in was not clean, in particular the floor, when you walked on it with bare feet or socks the soles of your feet would be black just walking from the bed to the bathroom. Also the mattress was a thin piece of foam or something that you could feel the bed slats through, it did not make for a comfortable nights sleep.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A very functional hostel. Special thanks go to the excellent house meal, which is a huge meal and a drink (beer, wine or soft drink) of choice for $6,50. For the wifi, you had to pay $5 for just one day, but it worked well. The rooms were average, and the club downstairs was busy (which is good if you're into going to clubs) and you could hear this into the rooms. But all in all, a good place to stop over before and after a whitsunday islands tour.


66%

Good location and Nice staff But dorms need a fresh cleaning and painting, more plugs, a mirror and a better isolation.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Was alright, wasn't thoroughly impressed that I had a room upstairs and the showers were downstairs.


83%

Nice place pretty clean and well located. The bar sounds great, it didn't bother me too much but I imagine the noise could be awful for people who find it difficult to get to sleep.


51%

Bedbugs. Cockroachs


71%

There is one brunette girl with blue eyes from the staff that I really don't know why she works there. She really hates the job and doesn't like to help at all. The place has a very loud bar and you can't sleep until midnight (when the music stops). Besides this, they have good meal deals in that bar and good deals with accommodation if you book the tour with them.


97%

The hostel is very clean. We had a private room which was very spacious. Food was great value for money and the bar had a buzzing atmosphere

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great time staying at Beaches hostel. The staff were great and the location was awesome. My only request is they put a soap dispenser in the bathroom - there was no soap at all. Otherwise an awesome stay!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

You pay for what you get. It's not the best hostel but then again it's cheap. Good location and staff were helpful.


20%

I made a mistake for my reservation It was not in MAY !! We didn't stay at the backpacker !!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location on the Main Street, amazing food deals for in house residents. Bathrooms could do with a bit of a clean, but very good value for money.


60%

Receptionists very RUDE, won't be staying there again.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Way better then YHA we was one the first day.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

good hostel, good staff, good facilities but it was really noisy when I was there! the big negative point for me was the matress, really bad!! the check-in is only possible from 1pm so when you arrive at 8am it sucks to wait that much time if you want to rest or have a shower!!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Generally good. Loved meal deal-food delicious. TV room unnecessarily shabby. V unimpressed with bthrooms, and through hostel incl. Rooms a lot of random broken hardware that just need to be removed to imrpove imaage and eaasier for hostel for cleaning etc

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Airlie Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback