Hostelworld.com

Global Backpackers Airlie Beach

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 595 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.7
Global Backpackers Airlie Beach Located at 356-362 Shute Harbour Rd, , Airlie Beach.
Global Backpackers Airlie Beach
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland Queensland, 480 356-362 Shute Harbour Rd
69% 595
-20.2686133 148.7174820
Global Backpackers Airlie Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
7.1

I stayed in a 10bed dorm. For 20$ a night I could't complain. The only thing that seemed quite dodgy was the fact that you couldn't take Alcoholic drinks up to the rooms or kitchen. I got a handful of vouchers for booze and nightclubs but if you simply wanted to drink your own drinks you would have had to store it at the reception. I've been to many hostels and none have been stuck up about drinking in your own quarters.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
9.1

Very good hostel. Right in front of the Lagoon, on the main street. A few steps from other bars, has a bar connected to it. No free Wifi, kitchen is not well-accesorized and there's not enough space for everyone's food. Besides that, I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
6.3

10 bed room was a bit small for the amount of people. Bathroom was old and had mould. Could do with a refurbishment to be honest. Wi-Fi costs money. Kitchen is Way too small for the hostel (maybe this is to encourage people to eat at the bar). $7.50 meals with a drink were good at the bar though. Very central location as there's only one street in Airlie beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2016
7.4

Was much better than I expected. Just booked a cheap hostel, and some reviews weren't very positive. But I had a good time, staff was friendly and the room was relatively clean. The bar next door was a good place to hang around in the evening. Overall it was pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Mar 2016
7.7

Stayed in an all female 10 bed dorm and that was a really good size for us all. Good atmosphere with the bar attached and great location being in walking distance to all the travel shops, cafes, clubs and bars. Some of the staff a bit unfriendly, do have to pay for wifi (but the bar next door has free wifi so just use that if not bothered about speedy access), and rooms didn't seemed to be cleaned very often (quite a large cockroach discovered in our bathroom) but apart from that, all good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.3

Clean and large rooms. Right in the centre of town. The bar does cheap drinks and half price meals for guests and the food is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Mar 2016
4.9

I wasn't expecting much as the hostel was very cheap compared to its counterparts in airlie beach. As predicted it wasn't great...the room had no aircon, the sheets stank, the bathroom was appalling and there were so many people squished into one room. You get what you pay for...but it did the job for one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Mar 2016
4.6

Probably the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Disgusting room, bathroom and kitchen. Mold everywhere. Rowdy/drunk guests. A guy peed all over our one bathroom (for all 10 people) and it reeked our whole stay. We reported it and the staff handed over cleaning products and suggested we spray them around the area! People often left doors open which negated effects of AC. Limited (and always in use) power points. Seemed like an old motel converted into even worse hostel. Meal deal was only plus.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Mar 2016
3.4

The check in staff were rude and unhelpful. The room was beyond vile. There was no main light in the bedroom area and a damp smell lingered in the air. The bathroom was even worse with mould literally covering the entire ceiling. Definitely not worth the money. The only good point was the fact the hostel was above Beaches and we got a 50% off voucher.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
7.7

Only stayed one night. Room was spacious but only having one bathroom between 8 people could be a little frustrating at times. Was nice to have a bar attached to the hostel as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.