Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Global Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.3
Global Central Located at 9 Shields Street, , Cairns.
Global Central
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 9 Shields Street
69% 404
-16.9219087 145.7762467
Global Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.3

Much better than the facilities and cleanliness at global waterfront. Beds are also much better. Close to everything you need and a short walk to the lagoon. Cheap enough for what you need from a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
2.0

They won't let me stay in this hotel, because I have kids and they let me find another place in the night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
7.4

In all the awesome hostels I've stayed at during my visit in Australia I found the Global Hostel in Cairns one the least desirable. The staff were friendly however the inside feels like a college dormitory. The rooms were incredibly small. I realize the staff have no control over what goes on in a room but my room was a rats nest with clothes and food boxes all over the floor. It almost felt like people were living in there and I could barely move around without stepping on something. 😒

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
6.9

It was really nice to stay there ... However the staff was very unfriendly and impolite which can be quite uncomfortable for travels from overseas with poor English

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
4.0

Stayed here in July. We walked through a mall, then trough a large door. When we walked through the corridor, it was dim and looked literarily like death row! In our room my bed was dire, it had one leg missing, slats were missing and had blood stains on the mattress! The showers were dirty so was the floor. My white socks were stained black from walking to the toilet and back. Tumble driers were poor had to spend over $10 to dry my clothes as they were still damp, staff were reluctant to help!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
5.4

There were ants in the room upon arrival. We asked reception to look. They never followed up with us but when we returned later we noticed there were no ants visible. The kitchen setup was poor as many guests used the lent materials (plates, cups, silverware) for long periods of time. It seemed to us the normal rule of general sharing of kitchen items and leaving everything available to everyone at all times would be much better. Also, the website should specify if rooms have no natural light.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Staff was super friendly and helpful. And great location (only one block from the lagoon/beach front).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.7

The baggage storage is not secure at all. Basically everybody from the street could pick up the key and empty the room out of the unsupervised back-entrance. The room and other facilities are hostel-standard, just like a hostel always is. Unfortunately the aircon in our room was not really working, quite unpleasant for a room without windows and in tropical Cairns. There's no WiFi provided by the hostel. After all this is cheapest hostel I've ever stayed in and I was positively surprised.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
4.9

Dorm room was a sauna/steambath. Air conditioner added to it by blowing out warm humid air and there was no ventilation. Bunk beds felt like they were going to fall apart & collapse. Bathroom & laundry room were filthy & several members of the staff were a bit rude. By far, the worst hostel I ever stayed in. Will not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • liingust
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
4.9

Ok accomdation if you just want somewhere to sleep, and if you're ok with not being able to lock in your stuff. Dorms are pretty messy since there's no storage for your luggage, so it's everywhere over the floor, so make sure you know where you got your stuff. Many lost their key in the mess.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.