Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Global Central

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.8
Global Central Located at 9 Shields Street, , Cairns.
Global Central
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 9 Shields Street
73% 395
-16.9219087 145.7762467
Global Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Staff was super friendly and helpful. And great location (only one block from the lagoon/beach front).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.7

The baggage storage is not secure at all. Basically everybody from the street could pick up the key and empty the room out of the unsupervised back-entrance. The room and other facilities are hostel-standard, just like a hostel always is. Unfortunately the aircon in our room was not really working, quite unpleasant for a room without windows and in tropical Cairns. There's no WiFi provided by the hostel. After all this is cheapest hostel I've ever stayed in and I was positively surprised.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
4.9

Dorm room was a sauna/steambath. Air conditioner added to it by blowing out warm humid air and there was no ventilation. Bunk beds felt like they were going to fall apart & collapse. Bathroom & laundry room were filthy & several members of the staff were a bit rude. By far, the worst hostel I ever stayed in. Will not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • liingust
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
4.9

Ok accomdation if you just want somewhere to sleep, and if you're ok with not being able to lock in your stuff. Dorms are pretty messy since there's no storage for your luggage, so it's everywhere over the floor, so make sure you know where you got your stuff. Many lost their key in the mess.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • CaughtDatTravelBug
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.3

Really nice hostel with great opportunity to meet new people! I really enjoyed my stay here, however when I wanted to extend my stay there was one staff member who insisted there was no availability in the cheaper rooms, then I checked back a few hours later with a different staff member, and they said there was heaps of room! Aside from that, all the other staff were lovely, and made it a really enjoyable experience!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
8.9

Thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
7.7

Excellent location, close to the lagoon and also the bars. Staff helpful and friendly. No lockers in room. one really annoying thing is that the AC is on a timer and goes off at night, this caused me to wake up at 4am every night because I was too hot. I would like to have been able to choose when I want the AC on and the temperature. Rooms were clean enough, although under the bed where I kept my backpack didn't seem to get cleaned often. Overall I would defo recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

Central hostel, close to everything I stayed there for 8 nights and the room never got cleaned... In a room of 7 it gets very messy after a week Over all pretty ok considering the low price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.6

No friendly hostel stuff, but it is in the city center and really cheap. Small rooms and no lockers. If you wanna save money go there, otherwise go to a better hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.7

Very good hostle, would definitely stay again. Friendly staff, value for money, good size rooms and comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.