Hostelworld.com

Global Central

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.6
Global Central Located at 9 Shields Street, , Cairns.
Global Central
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 9 Shields Street
73% 381
-16.9219087 145.7762467
Global Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
7.7

Excellent location, close to the lagoon and also the bars. Staff helpful and friendly. No lockers in room. one really annoying thing is that the AC is on a timer and goes off at night, this caused me to wake up at 4am every night because I was too hot. I would like to have been able to choose when I want the AC on and the temperature. Rooms were clean enough, although under the bed where I kept my backpack didn't seem to get cleaned often. Overall I would defo recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

Central hostel, close to everything I stayed there for 8 nights and the room never got cleaned... In a room of 7 it gets very messy after a week Over all pretty ok considering the low price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.6

No friendly hostel stuff, but it is in the city center and really cheap. Small rooms and no lockers. If you wanna save money go there, otherwise go to a better hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.7

Very good hostle, would definitely stay again. Friendly staff, value for money, good size rooms and comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel with nice staff and atmosphere. Very well situatated in middle of Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2016
7.4

A good, clean hostel in a great location and nice, friendly staff. It's huge and finding the rooms was a bit of a maze, the size of the hostel also meant the fun atmosphere was lost as we didn't meet many other guests despite the ones in our room. Reception isn't 24 hours which was a pain as we left early morning for a flight and had to arrange them to bank transfer our $20 each we left for key deposit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Jan 2016
8.0

Really good hostel, by far the best value for money on the East Coast. Decent sized rooms, friendly staff, good TV, best goon pong and PJ O Brian's meals. Only thing that annoyed me about the hostel was shutting off the tv room at 10pm bit annoying if you're not going out. But other than that great hostel with a good crowd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
2.0

More security

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2015
8.0

Matress was old and inconfortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2015
7.7

Everything was fine but don't know why there is a weird smell in the middle of the hallway... I lived at the second floor while my stay. Every time I had to pass by the hall to the toilet I could always smell it! But the floor was clean. You could walk with your bare foot with no problem!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.