Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Global Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 444 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.3

great location, quiet when we were there so not the best for solo travellers wanting to meet lots of people, but as a group we were okay. clean kitchen and nice terrace. we did have the problem of lots of cockroaches in the room! staff really helpful and friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Aug 2017
6.0

Good if you're looking for cheap no thrills place to stay. The private rooms you can not control the air con and if you do turn it off it automatically comes back on. I had to spend the night sleeping in a jumper because it was that cold. As for the mixed dorms there is no ladders on the beds so if you're on a top bunk things are a bit awkward. Every one smokes weed on the balcony so good if you're into that thing, if not expect the kitchen and lounge area to stink off weed! Reception good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • christinacumming4068
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
8.9

The location of the hostel is great and I loved the lounge & balcony area. The room we were staying in however was very small, hot and smelly. The guy at your info desk helped us with our bags and even he said 'oh it smells like feet it here' and made a quick exit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

The hostel is perfectly located, close to supermarkets, restaurants, shops, bars, the marina and the Esplanade. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The common areas are spacious and comfortable. The toilets are big and I never had to wait to take a shower. You constantly see staff cleaning rooms, toilets and the kitchen. But I have to say I constantly saw cockroaches in the rooms or in the kitchen, which wasn't very pleasant. And if you want wifi you have to pay for it which is annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
5.1

As a solo traveller, I do not recommend this hostel. I booked the mixed dorm room and had heard good reviews of Global as a welcoming and fun hostel. I checked in with a lovely girl on reception but after that, it went downhill. there were no lights on on my floor so couldn't find room well and the room was bright white with a single light and no windows, making it feel like a prison. Didn't even stay the night because of how uncomfortable it was.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
8.9

It's a good place to stay with a big kitchen. Bathrooms could be cleaner but it wasn't anything horrible. The most annoying thing was the "no alcohol in the hostel" policy... meaning people drink in the rooms instead of the common rooms, which is pretty irritating if you are trying to sleep and aren't there to party. Cairns in general is a huge party city. The rooms are super cold too, if that's what your into. But kinda a party hostel, again good if that's what your looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2017
2.9

I had items of clothing stolen and shoes ... not what I expected to happen and thought it was a bit strange. I was in a private room with two of my friends which can only lead me to believe it was staff. The hostel is basic and the location is near the the main pool. The staff didn't help me with regards to my missing items and didn't seem really bothered. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Enjoyed our stay despite the trampy girls bringing boys back. Kitchen was always clean as staff cleaned up several times a day. Room was a little messy and a little cramped but that's as usual in Oz.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×