X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Global Village Reviews

87 University Street, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2045 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Favourite hostel I've stayed in so far. Really nice bathrooms, rooms and common areas. But the staff are what made our stay great! The "two bearded Aussies" were amazing, taking us out and were good fun to hang out with. There's something new to do every night. Would definitely recommend :)

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I stayed for three nights. Overall staff was nice and helpful. However the mattress in the bedroom was horrible, probably old and has become flat with holes and there was no position that would be level ok to sleep. Also all bathrooms are unisex, which is ok if you have the separate ones as well, but you don't, so it makes it all a bit uncomfortable. And lastly, it's not really close to the city centre. You'd walk a lot to get to the actual centre. So overall ok, but not ideal, not the best.


100%

Can't fault the hostel in any way. Located in a nice area of the city and easy to walk into town. Staff were very helpful and kept the place very clean. Pleasant atmosphere and enjoyed my stay. perfect for a city break.


97%

It's a pity that I only booked this place for three nights. I would have loved to stay longer. It's located very conveniently near a lot of places to eat and drink. The common areas are well equipped places to meet other travellers.


94%

I stayed at the Global village for two nights and I really enjoyed it. The staff was very nice and showed me around! The rooms and bathrooms get cleaned everyday at least once, which is great. I felt very comfortable staying there and I had a great time.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel ! University area. Very friendly staff. Lots of facilities..and beer pong is definitely a plus ! As lively as the live in Belfast is.


100%

Not usually one to do ratings, but this place was truly excellent!! The location is awesome! walked everywhere quickly. The staff were fantastic! Everything was super clean, showers hot! Really 100%!!!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an amazing time at Global Village! One of the best hostels I've ever been too. Great homey feel and very clean. The staff were great, especially Sebastien, they made me feel at home (which was great as I was travelling alone) and ensured everyone had much fun. Would definitely come back.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, would definitely recommend.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great hostel! Run by four very sweet young gentlemen who live on the premises, it is run expertly and generously. Located in an old Belfast townhouse, Global Village has the feel of an upmarket hippie commune - if all communes were rung as well hippies would rule the world! It is very clean, with very welcome heaters in rooms. The kitchen downstairs is an airy social space, with free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and pasta provided. Showers are pristine, with plenty of hot water. I will be back!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

A comfortable budget option in Belfast. Staff was warm, helpful, and went out of their way to make us all feel at home. Seems to attract plenty of solo travelers, too, so meeting people at Global Village is a snap. They also have awesome artwork in the kitchen area that gives it some extra personality. It's a bit of a hike from the city centre, but the neighborhood was nice enough and the walk was pleasant.


97%

Great staff. Special place. Thanks.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely people, very helpful, nice place


97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The people - staff and guests - were great. They are what made the hostel. Location was good. A 15-20 min walk to the center, but close (3 min) to a lot of restaurants and the Botanical Gardens and Ulster Museum. I would definitely stay there again if I was in Belfast.


91%

Good times, good people. Global Village was a great place to stay for a weekend in the middle of a weird Irish winter. Shout outs to the great staff, you made me feel very welcome. Special greetings to Ginger Beard and to Harry's fluorescent jacket.


94%

Really great place to stay. Very clean, rooms very spacious and reasonable rates. I will be back!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great spot! One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Clean with a nice vibe and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back again.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Global Village Belfast ticks all the boxes; casual but clean, laid back but organised and has really lovely vibe about it. The staff are really friendly and helpful and willing to play! Beer pong, fussball and pool, some craic. Congratulations, this is hosteling as it should be. Thank you and see you next time Mark and crew.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything was great except that the wifi wasn't working.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff, lots going on at the hostel every night. Room and bathrooms were very clean and plenty of bars and shops just down the road. Had a great intro from Tom when we arrived on which places to visit. Would definitely stay there again.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(121 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback