X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Global Village Reviews

87 University Street, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1704 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Staff were very helpful and kind. The internet didn't always work while in my room on the top floor, but I expected that. The rooms also had quite a bit of space!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I spent 2 great nights there, it's a really nice place to stay. The room was very clean and comfortable as well as the bathrooms. Free tasty breakfast served in a very clean kitchen-diner. A big thank you to Simone, great and helpful staff member, you rule man!


100%

The owner is a real nice guy ensuring a great stay!


100%

Everyone who works there is great. Mark & 'Eyebrows' are funny, extremely helpful. It's a family environment and I had so much fun there. First hostel I've been too which has a stocked kitchen with pasta, herbs and spices! Good location, good environment, lots of activities planned. Big spacious rooms and bathrooms too. Will recommend this place for sure.


100%

This hostel is perfect, the owner works hard to make it feel like family... and it does. There are always staff members ready, able, and willing to help you with your trip. Instantly I felt like I was at home with new friends. The staff even went out with us on some nights. It's location was great, central to everything. They introduced us to the best pubs with the best Irish music. I had fabulous time at this hostel and would definitely return to it again.


100%

Awesome hostel, facilities esp the kitchen, location and staff. Good social atmosphere, if your travelling alone and want to feel at home you can't fault this place. Great eyebrows and beards to be observed on certain staff too!!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean, nice friendly staff.. Chilled atmosphere, good facilities, convenient location, and even a little dog for good measure! Would stay there again

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a really fantastic hostel. The vibe is so good and that's the hardest thing to capture. It feels like a big house full of good mates. I highly recommend this hostel, don't go anywhere else in belfast. Lovely, warm staff, location close enough to everything but far enough to be chilled out. It was a really diverse and nice bunch of guests too. Good facilities and just a really nice place. Wish I'd stayed longer. Thanks global village.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel has a very homey feel, complete with regular TV watching and lots of group hang out time. However, unless you're properly introduced or come with your own group, that doesn't necessarily mean you're going to make friends or even acquaintances, which was a shame. The location is inconvenient for everything but the student quarter, but if you time/energy for a 30-45 minute walk into town then you're fine. Lovely building and cute bedrooms.


94%

This is the best hostel I've stayed in this year. The staff are helpful and always around if you have questions. The toilets and showers were always clean, but would have been nicer if there were a few more. Breakfast was good also. The hostel organises different events each night, BBQ's, nights out etc. The setup of the common areas is great for meeting new people. If you want a hostel that is value for money, social and clean then this is the place for you. I couldn't recommend it enough.


97%

Overall , excellent stay! Staff amazing! Loved foxes salad on BBQ night!!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It is very clean and a fun environment. The staff Tom, Fox and Jack were great and were very helpful, beyond ordinary hostel staff members. They even went out of their way to assist my friend who was ill during the stay.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great hostel. The staff are super helpful and outwardly friendly. The place has an amazing, relaxed atmosphere and is located in the heart of the student quarter.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an excellent stay here - atmosphere is great, staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a really cute hostel with friendly staff and at great atmosphere for meeting people! the showers didn't work in the morning but otherwise I loved it! about a 20 minute walk from mostly everything you'll need. Would probably stay again if I go back to Belfast! :)


74%

The hostel is very close to Queen's University and fairly close to the city centre (approx. 10-15 minutes on foot). The atmosphere in the hostel is quite pleasant, the staff are friendly and really helpful. You should expect a very basic breakfast, but at least you're offered one! Disadvantage are the very few toilet facilities. They are situated only on the ground and first floor. We stayed at the third floor and we had to go to the the first floor every time,which was quite inconvenient.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Well located: walking distance from the bus station and city centre, staff are helpful, value for money - basic accommodation (pillows somewhat thin), clean showers.


100%

Very laid back attitude from the staff as well as the guests, which gives the place a homely atmosphere. I liked it very much.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, very clean, cosy and with friendly staff. Definitely I'll check them first if/when I will go back to Belfast.


100%

The room was very quiet and clean! location was nice also. Overall we had a nice stay there for 1 night and the staff was so helpful. very good one :)


(126 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback