X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Global Village Reviews

87 University Street, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2294 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, would definitely recommend.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great hostel! Run by four very sweet young gentlemen who live on the premises, it is run expertly and generously. Located in an old Belfast townhouse, Global Village has the feel of an upmarket hippie commune - if all communes were rung as well hippies would rule the world! It is very clean, with very welcome heaters in rooms. The kitchen downstairs is an airy social space, with free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and pasta provided. Showers are pristine, with plenty of hot water. I will be back!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, good location. Would recommend and go there again


89%

A comfortable budget option in Belfast. Staff was warm, helpful, and went out of their way to make us all feel at home. Seems to attract plenty of solo travelers, too, so meeting people at Global Village is a snap. They also have awesome artwork in the kitchen area that gives it some extra personality. It's a bit of a hike from the city centre, but the neighborhood was nice enough and the walk was pleasant.


97%

Great staff. Special place. Thanks.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely people, very helpful, nice place


97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The people - staff and guests - were great. They are what made the hostel. Location was good. A 15-20 min walk to the center, but close (3 min) to a lot of restaurants and the Botanical Gardens and Ulster Museum. I would definitely stay there again if I was in Belfast.


91%

Good times, good people. Global Village was a great place to stay for a weekend in the middle of a weird Irish winter. Shout outs to the great staff, you made me feel very welcome. Special greetings to Ginger Beard and to Harry's fluorescent jacket.


94%

Really great place to stay. Very clean, rooms very spacious and reasonable rates. I will be back!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great spot! One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Clean with a nice vibe and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back again.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Global Village Belfast ticks all the boxes; casual but clean, laid back but organised and has really lovely vibe about it. The staff are really friendly and helpful and willing to play! Beer pong, fussball and pool, some craic. Congratulations, this is hosteling as it should be. Thank you and see you next time Mark and crew.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything was great except that the wifi wasn't working.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff, lots going on at the hostel every night. Room and bathrooms were very clean and plenty of bars and shops just down the road. Had a great intro from Tom when we arrived on which places to visit. Would definitely stay there again.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really cool spot with friendly and helpful staff!


100%

everything is great in this hostel, highly recommend.


94%

This hostel felt like home from the moment I walked in. The staff were fabulous and the environment was relaxed and welcoming. I would definitely go back!


91%

Global Village is a great hostel, really good facilities! The wifi sucks but the included breakfast and awesome staff definitely make up for it!


83%

Not a bad Hostel at all but if this is NI`s nº1!? i feel sorry for whoever has to stay elsewhere.


100%

I loved my stay at Global Village! The staff was so friendly and able to answer all of my questions. The atmosphere was great! I met some really great people that were also traveling! The beds were comfortable and I was surprised at how clean the bathrooms were compared to the other hostels I have stayed at! I will definitely be back!


83%

First off, would definitely stay here again and pretty solid hostel as far as Belfast is concerned. Really frustrating Internet that only works downstairs in the common area. Nice staff all Aussies so not the most knowledgeable with questions but good people and a great quiet place to crash when traveling. Close to the university area and definitely stuff to do but only really on weekends. Belfast is dead during the week as far as going out.


(188 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback