X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Global on the Waterfront Reviews

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
356 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Some beds has flea. I was bitten from flea

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, very central. However $35 a night for a single private room I would not have expected a prison like resembling room.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There is no proper wall between the room and the corridor, just some wooden blinds which cannot block out the noise from outside. Quite often there would be some inconsiderate fellows kept chatting and yelling in the corridor waking you up at 4 in the morning. The kitchen is unacceptably small and dirty. Staircase is very narrow, making the transfer of luggage difficult. Laundry room is closed at night. Hand washed clothes has nowhere to hang dry.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

it was quite cheap, but it had very low services. no wardrobe or chairs o table in the room (i didn't know where to put or hang my staffs), i had to pay for few minutes of wifi, no breakfast included, the toilets were very very essential and sometimes not cleaned.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Very disappointed with our stay and overall cleanliness of hostel.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

Didn't feel overly safe... The room was a mess very hot and stuffy. There was a balcony however it was covered in trash! Staff were lovely however the rest of the experience was hell! Bathrooms were gross with no sink to wash hands! Very cheap however wouldn't do it again!


77%

Shower pressure and temperature control 1 floor showers men is not good enough.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location on the Esplanade. Facilities seemed pretty average but not in a bad way. Private room was decent and staff was helpful and friendly.


51%

Not somewhere you will get a good nights sleep. It is above a bar, which is great if you want a night out but not so great if you are going out on the reef early in the morning.


100%

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a quiet environment. You can book a bunch of tours right beside the front desk and they're a great deal. There's even a kitchen you can use if you're traveling on a dime. And also a great way to make friends!

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. I didn't use the sink in the room because it looked appalling. The rooms look like prison cells and there's nowhere to leave your stuff except on the floor.


66%

The staff was the only perfect about that hostel. Due to the fact, that it is up to the guest what he expects, this hostel definitely got some problems with drunken people screaming in the night and cleanliness. All in all an average hostel.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Twin room was a bunk bed, springs were against our backs while trying to sleep, but quiet. There was a tiny sink and the outlet was high on the wall so we were unable to charge anything since there was nothing to place the item you are charging on. The room was very hot even with the fan. When we checked in we got a coupon to take to a local pub and we had an awesome, big portion dinner including a drink for $7! They arranged an early checkout at 6:30am, which was nice. Good place for a night!

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Noisy all night, is there no curfew?? Shower curtain was transparent which put me off showering.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The luggage room was the only place that was not clean enough

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms were alright, the bunk beds have no rails tho so if you're pissed or just a very restless sleeper you bare the risk of falling off them, the toilets and showers are very disgusting but for $15 a night you can't really complain, great location, the lagoon is across the street and the staff are very nice and very helpful.


86%

There was only one problem. The front door was locked when I arrived at Global on the Waterfront to check in. The sign said to call night manager to get a room key. I did not have a cell phone and coins to call. I sent e mail which explained my arrival time was 11:50 PM when I made reservation. However, I did not get any reply from Global. Fortunatelly, one of the guests came out from back door and he showed where the night manager was. Then I could get a room key.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location, clean rooms and kitchen facilities ok




View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback