X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Global on the Waterfront Reviews

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
300 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

My single room (103) wasn't clean at all. I think that it wasn't prepared for me when I came because First i didn't even have bed sheets in my room. Great location, loved the common room, kitchen clean with all equipments needed. Noisy, especially because there is no real window in my room, I could hear everybody as if they were in my room. But I enjoyed my stay, thank you! I would probably recommend this hostel (especially because the single room is really cheap!)

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

-room clean can be provide -bathroom and toilet are not too clean

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay in the beautiful city of Cairns.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

Felt like imprisoned, unfriendly and unhelpful staff, traveldesk tries to sell you everything before and after check in, very loud, air conditioning not working, no windows, easy to break in rooms, small and much to hot kitchen, anybody can grab any key for bringing back a cuttlery box...

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

you took my booking without me knowing you had to have an up to date passport . i rang and canceled my booking.last time i ever book with you guys..as they say done my dough

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Missing BBQ possibility Missing laundryline. Just expensive dryer. Washing machine didn't work properly.

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

This hostel was prison like, there were two of us who booked a private bunk room. they gave us the wrong keys and were sent to a male room that was full. After that was sorted we spent the entire time in a room where only the fan worked. It was humid and gross the entire time. Also, we rudely got kicked out of the lounge well before the closing time and there was no other place to escape the room since i was on the top bunk and had to sit on the floor if i didnt want to climb up the bunk.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The noise is terrible, it's one thing that the place is echoy, but they blast music allll day long. I also did not appreciate letting people knock on doors to every room to bring them PJ VIP, there's better places to do that. The lobby, the lounge, outside. The sink was also not cleaned since the last person, there was beard hair on every inch of it.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location! Not bad rooms but there is nothing to do within the hostel. If you aren't going out to drink all the communal areas are closed early so you're forced to just sit in your room. Tour desk was a little too pushy for my likings


60%

booking online I got super over charged with my deposit. It was hard to notice till later and when I contacted them it was not helpful. The issue was very odd. money from my Ausie account was taken out in US dollar and then I was charged for two converting fees. $3 became $9. It was very F'ed

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

after checking out I did not receive my 20 dollar key deposit this was okay because they where going to transfer the money i then received an email sayting that it was gonna cost me 2 dollars because of a credit fee this was not my fault and don't see how this was fair yeah it's only 2 dollars but this is Beside The point

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely and very friendly staff, vouchers everyday with half price meal deal and a free drink, which is excellent..! Enjoyed our stay here!

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

It was horrible don't go there!!!it s look like a jail!there was no window in our room, the beds were in plastic, the room and the lavatory were so dirty and there are some cucarachas everywhere and specially in the kitchen...the staff was not nice and not helpful.the only advantage is its location.in conclusion i hate tous place!!!


86%

It was great being right across from the esplanade!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was clean enough, but the bathrooms were not. We only stayed one night, so it was fine, but I would not have liked to live there for longer. There are better hostels in Cairns, on the other hand - for only 15 dollars at night, you get good value for money


89%

Excellent location near to bus/coach terminal, ferries to the reef and islands, all the clubs and night activities, the night markets and of cause the lagoon is just accross the road. Great friendly crew working here.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback