X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Global on the Waterfront Reviews

67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
263 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 61%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 58%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Worst but cheapest

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

We stayed in a 4 bed female dorm for 2 night. The room was dirty. Especially the ground and the painting started to come off the walls.The ground was very dirty, because no one ever cleaned it. Housekeeping consists only of taking the waste out. This is not Housekeeping! We had a tap in the room but it was dripping and dirty. It was disgusting. There was just one Toilette and two shower for a whole floor. The kitchen was small and had just five chairs. The kitchen hours were unreasonable!


40%

Likely to be the worst hostel I' ve ever slept in while in Australia. Noisy and disrespectful people seem to be more than welcomed in this hostel as the "Night Managers"(two different ones in the two nights we spent there) don't care at all. People were allowed to scream senseless all night long with no one telling them off.


83%

Many Thanks to Kevin and the the rest of the staff at Global Backpackers for making my stay enjoyable, informative and worthwhile.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

rooms were smelly. some of staffs weren't friendly and kind.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

very loud and echoing ,other guest didn't seem to care about sleeping guests ,there was to mush light coming thru the window above door,,didnt sleep well at all.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location but definitely too noisy! The whole hostel is built around a small courtyard, which makes a lot of echo! You could hear absolutely everything, even people having a shower, although the facilities were actually quite far from my room! At night time, it gets worse, with people screaming, playing the guitar, etc. May be good if you want a party atmosphere but I would definitely not recommend it to people who are planning to wake up early and enjoy their day in Cairns...


66%

The Hostel is cheap and very nicely located. On the other hand it can be very noisy at night as dorms have windows in the walls that hardly reduce coversations of drunken people coming home late at night. So bring earplugs if you want to sleep well. The kitchen is very small and not very convenient. Ok if you want a cheap place to stay at, though.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

Very dirty and an unfriendly atmosphere, A lot of noise late at night. The first room we where allocated stank of Chlorine as it was right next to the lagoon filteration and the sink was blocked!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

the bed was so uncomfortable we had springs digging into our backs,not allowed extra pillows as the ones we were given were so flat we could feel the springs in the side of our head, asked 5 times for the air con to be switched on it never happened. Items were taken from our room after our bins were changed from 9pm-7am there are no staff so guests were free to run wild, both nights there was music playing full blast until 1-2am, having footballs smashing against our door at 4am!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is pretty clean and organized. good location but i liked the global central better (which is from the same company). The kitchen was not big, not enaugh space in the fridge (but thats always the same in the hostels) and communal area closes at 9 or 10 (kitchen as well). its nice for a short term but not if u want to stay there for longer. i did not like that u had to borrow cutlery before every meal, really annoying. just one toilet for ladies on my floor.


66%

The location of the hostel & the rooms were fine. the kitchen facilities were OK but needed more space for dining. The lounge/balcony area was nice enough but the fact that it closed at 9pm was absolutely ridiculous!!!! Particularly as there was nowhere else to hang out after that other than your room! The $6.50 meal deals at OJ Obriens were definitely the best think about staying at the hostel really!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The room was nice an clean, we even ha a little balcony. Unfortunately the kitchen was really small, and it didn't have a real table to sit on at all! So we always had to go upstairs to the really small communal area to eat, that was a bit annoying. I would recommend this hostel if you're looking for a quiet place to live, but not if you are looking to meet many people, because it's really hard to socialise there.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Would stay there again

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The beds have the springs under a very thin layer of material which makes it very difficult to get a good nights sleep!


34%

Lost my pair of Rayban sunglass and a Superdry Jacket which are cost almost 500 AUD, and the staff found nothing!!!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

A place to sleep, not much else. No atmosphere due to poor common areas that are closed at night. Good location but a bit of a walk from clubs.


80%

Good hostel, great location. Only stayed 1 night, so nothing bad to say :-)


54%

I was disappointed with the facilities provided here, even the rooms don't have any sockets, which was very bad. Staff was pretty ignorant and unfriendly.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Horrible, disgusting Booked four nights in advance. 10 min after check in I asked to leave after one night - first they lied, after insisting more they told me about the "no refund" Policy. facts: rooms are not even having floors, pure beton and metal bank beds is the only you'll find there. No energy sockets, closet, space for luggage etc. One wc, two shower per floor. Dirt in every corner, no free lockers for valuables... There is just sb earning money by cashing out naive Backpack

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback