Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Global on the Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
Global on the Waterfront Located at 67 The Esplanade, , Cairns.
Global on the Waterfront
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 67 The Esplanade
75% 393
-16.9202767 145.7774162
Global on the Waterfront
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
6.0

I arrived at 6am due to an early Greyhound. Check in was easy but I'd purposely bought two nights in a single room so that I could go straight to bed without disturbing anyone and continue sleeping without having to check out at 10am. This was a waste of money because come ten o'clock music blared through the halls and people sang at the top of voices. Not what I wanted given I needed a lie in. Housekeeping also came in The single room was worse than a prison cell. A bed,grey walls, no window.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.4

Did the job

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Its location was very convenient. As I had a dive trip the next day and it was an easy 5 minute walk to the Reef Fleet Terminal. The 3 bedder room I was in had baby cockroaches in it which was bad. However, I stayed here again from the 20 to 21 July in a single bed private room and the room was clean and in very good condition as well as bug free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • betopegler627
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.4

Very good location and price, nothing besides that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.3

Couldn't have asked for a better location! The kitchen and bathrooms could use a deep clean, but were acceptable. The night manager needs to be reminded to maybe take his headphones out and keep a better ear out for the phone - I had to get a guest to let me in so I could track him down and check in. But he and all staff were very helpful and friendly after that. Don't pay for the wifi, there's free wifi at the Lagoon which you can connect to in the first floor lounge or across the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
6.9

Good hostel for backpackers but i had a single room it was so loud during the night woke up about 7 times from people screaming and using Skype at 2 Am. The single room was not great for the money i paid and i went there to actually sleep so had to move hostels after the first night. Overall good hostel just not for me :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
7.1

Great location in Cairns centre and near Greyhound stop. Staff were very friendly and it was a good price. However, it wasn't particularly clean and it was very noisy with music playing until around 10pm, then you could hear people coming and going constantly throughout the night so not ideal if you're a light sleeper. But overall it was fine for one night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
8.6

Kevin the manager rocks! I've been all over New Zealand and Australia and Kevin has been the only manager who has been so kind. There was an incident regarding my food in the kitchen and he was quick to right the wrong being calm and cool. Customer service is a main priority here. Cheap nights and great service? What more could you want. I will definitely be staying here again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
7.1

Good hostel but too noisy (music all day, people sing late, walk loud) Room not very clean Air con dusty Good situation, close to the lagoon, the city. Good price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Staff were super friendly and helpful, location is excellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.