Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Globe Backpackers Exeter

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Mar 2017
4.0

Stayed there for one night, I have to admit it was the worst night I had in a hostel so far (>200). The matress was laid out totally, so I could feel every spring just like I laid straight on them. The male dorm was smelly and loud. Additionally I felt like I was the only traveller there, all the others (older men with, lets say not the highest social background) seemed to stay there for longer and I was "afraid" of beeing robbed by them. No soap to wash your hands. At least staff was friendly

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

I just needed somewhere to stay one night. The male dormitory was quiet so I slept fine. There were friendly signs around to encourage polite and good behaviour. The member of staff was fine to deal with. There were good new washing facilities. And I had a nice chat to one of the others staying. I tuned the guitar sitting in the second lounge and had a set of keys to the main door and room door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Great, central hostel with excellent facilities. Best night's sleep I've had in a hostel. Wet rooms are excellent and everything was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joshstephen883827
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Dec 2016
8.6

While a little run down the hostel overall was very good. Clean, tidy and busy despite it being mid week in December. The dorms bed while a standard bunk was small for me ( im 6'5 ) i rarely fit into most but it was still comfortable with clean linens. The showers and bathrooms have been recently refurnished and the water pressure was high and hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
5.4

Kitchen is clean. Place is warm and centrally located. Staff are friendly, caring and helpful. Floors e.g. carpets are not particularly clean. Furniture and furnishings aren't great. You have to bring your own padlock if you want to have security. Some people are staying there longer-term.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
7.4

This hostel is what you want for a hostel: cheap but has got a good athmosphere. The facilities are not the best since the rooms are made of bits and pieces and the showers are not always clean. But the friendliness of the other travellers made up for it. It has a kitchen with all the ustenciles you need which comes in handy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.9

I stayed two nights with a group of friends and had a good experience overall. The hostel is situated in a very convenient location for the city center and the University. The facilities were clean and the staff were friendly. We stayed in the dormitory rooms and while I slept very well both nights, my friends had a little trouble sleeping due to another guest's snoring, but that is sort of par for the course with hostels. In spite of this we had a good stay and would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.7

Staff very friendly, centrally located and one of the best hostel showers I've ever had. But it seemed as though people were living long-term in the hostel and even had their own furniture in the dorm room. Lots of older people, including one man who told me about how his criminal history was restricting him from travelling internationally. Would still stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Nov 2016
7.1

I was really concerned about security since a young man arrived with no id and left a rucksack behind the desk while heleft to go andget cash as he decided not to use a credit card so not secure but he still was allowed in. Also i stayed in room g2 And the woman who lives there called herself delia insisted on leaving the door unlocked all night despite my atempts to lock it especially since she said strangers came in who should not have come in. ln the morning she pitched a stool at me!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
4.9

For experienced travellers like me with low expectations regarding security cleanliness and customer service it's an OK place... you won't find cheaper in Exeter. However anyone new to backpacking or people with high standards and expecations then this isnt the place for you. You be disappointed and as seen regularly frustrated here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.