X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Backpackers Plymouth Reviews

172 Citadel Road, The Hoe, Plymouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
374 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I had a great time here. The location was great, it was clean and the staff were lovely. I would definitely recommend staying here for a cheap nights stay.


49%

The Deputy Manager stated strongly that the deposit paid was not given to him-hostel, and so the payment was short. This was mentioned on more than one occasion. He was however helpful with regard to local amenities. The inside - unclean and shabby looking. The bedding was worn and unpressed in appearance. The toilet was dirty and the shower was dark and dirty looking. I booked a double bedroom in a 'hostel' that clearly was not as it suggested for 'global back packers'. Very poor.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Because there was an adjustment as they were shortening their original booking,I amended their payment but explained it did not take their third party deposit into account and therefore they gained. The couple were here for no more than 10 minutes and so I cannot see how they judge atmosphere or facilities in that time The shower they looked at had darkened glass sides.

60%

Location was good close to city center and the seafront! Facilities were very poor, only 3 showers and 2 toilets in the Hostel and It was not very clean.. problem with the flush, lot of water on the floor.. Staff very nice.


26%

This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in, the facilities and the showers are disgusting. As I am a woman, I felt terrified of some drunken men in the evening. I would like to ask for a refund, I only spent one night there because it was just horrible.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

As with Globe Exeter, difficult to tell staff from guests. Staff here hassled with Bulgarian group larger than expected. I was in room of 6 with 5 Bulgarians. They had no idea of hostel etiquette . Can't say this was hostel's fault, but perhaps their group leader should have briefed them on how to make up beds, stash luggage or behave quietly.


100%

Very welcoming and you feel like you are part of their family. Pity it was only for one night but as we will be living in Plymouth for 7 months, been invited back for coffee, catchup, dinner etc. Really made us feel welcome in Plymouth.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Need more plug points in the rooms..

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • mohitoman08
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It was a bit of a walk from the main bus station but it's so close to the Hoe! There was a TV in the common room and lots of DVDs to watch if you fancied it. The kitchen was large, as was the dining area. The rooms were okay, there was a bit of a line up for the bathrooms in the morning but it wasn't too bad


74%

Recption hours shuld increase during peak hours. Lack mobile charging points (essential) near by bed. Heater was out of order.Poor wifi signas in rooms. Apart from these its a nice place to sleep.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Such a perfect little hostel. Loveliest staff I've ever come across in a hostel, and makes for a very home-y stay. Not a loud or party atmosphere so look elsewhere if you are looking for that, but a wonderful place in Plymouth literally minutes away from the city centre and Hoe Sea Front. Very recommended.


29%

It needs knocking down

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel! Staff was very helpful. Location is great! It was not the cleanest place, but it was bearable.


66%

Stayed 1 night while in Plymouth for work. Nice comfortable bed, but no lockers to lock belongings away within dorms. Fully equipped kitchen. Shower room was fully flooded in the morning, which was not ideal.


89%

Our host was really compliant and helpful. Thanks a lot.




View all Plymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback