X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Backpackers Plymouth Reviews

172 Citadel Road, The Hoe, Plymouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
316 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

I had a very harsh welcome. Staff was not friendly at all. The good thing was that I get a room bymyself though I booked a mixed dorm.


57%

When introduced to the place the staff coule be slower for foreigners. It could be cleaner. The smoking area was just under my window so it was annoying.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Its cheap, if you want a bed for the night its okay beyond that not so great


83%

All quite basic, but the location was ideal (a stone's throw from the Hoe and some fantastic views). The kitchen area was well stocked and the kitchen facilities were plentiful. Easy to find and welcoming people.


74%

Hostel kichen is quite small and linen and other facilitys are bit shabby bit staff is ok. Atmoshire is nice and quite calm.


69%

Place was fine for a one nighter - bit dated though and nothing to compare with cheaper prices and facilities of hostels in Europe. Just spent 4 months of travelling doing the Camino and this was the most basic and 'tired' of the lot ! Shame as first introduction to the country when people come in. Staff great and bedding clean tho. Rooms pretty small.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We enjoyed staying there. Found it handy for the local shopping areas as well as for the attractions. Rooms were a good size. The place is well suited for hoildaiers who like a bit of peace and quiet in the evenings

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a thoroughly enjoyable time here where the staff were among the friendliest I've ever encountered and for the rainy days I've never seen so many books,dvds and board games to while the hours away. A very short stroll to the picturesque Plymouth Hoe and the city centre is also within walking distance. Comes highly recommended and would say it was one of the best hostels I've ever had the privilege of staying in. Respect!


100%

Never expected such a good facilities for such a good price. i would surely suggest people to trust this Globe Backpackers. i would say you will never get disappointed. i have stayed for 2days before i came to this place i stayed in "Fresh@the crown" London and i paid more than here and i had never seen such worst place. The most important thing that i liked is the way you provided us the maps of places indicating the shops.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Perfect location, easy access to city center and sea front. clean bedroom, however the first floor bathroom was out of order without any sign, and the 'ensuite' bedroom actually only means there is a sink in it. Overall, for a couple of nights, it was perfect


71%

Only a small hostel, was at full capacity when I stayed. The rooms are tiny with 8 beds squeezed in. My feet nearly reached the other persons bunk bed...Nowhere to really store your belongings. Room was fairly run down. The staff were friendly and helpful, which is important. Ok if you're just staying for a night. The tv room and dining room sadly don't make a good setting for meeting fellow travellers. It is in a very good location though, very easy and pleasant walk to the Hoe


80%

Value for money at its max

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff were exceptionally kind and friendly. This is a very pleasant place to stay if you are having a weekend break and just need a bed, kitchen and bathroom. If you are in Plymouth for business however, you may find that you need somewhere with slightly more sophisticated facilities. My overnight stay was such a bargain though, that I would definitely stay here again if I had more leisure time.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are extremely nice, rooms are good, excellent kitchen facilities, the only thing to complaint is the showers are too old.


77%

A decent place in a really convinient area of Plymouth. Not that cheap compared to some hostels, but not a rip off either. Would stay again.


74%

Enjoyed my time at this hostel, it's in a great spot. The kitchen facilities are really modern and fantastic the bathrooms however very old and needed a makeover but apparently we're getting renovated in coming weeks. There was a couple of common rooms but it was reasonably quiet and there was an odd clientele staying there... But all in all a good place


57%

The location is amazing and staff was friendly, but it wasn't quite clean, the rooms for 8 person are really crowded and toilets were always full. Not worth it for the price.


74%

Great location and value for your money.


100%

a really friendly and comfortable atmosphere created by excellent staff.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

really friendly staff, great location, really cute little hostel, definitely going back x

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Plymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback