X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Backpackers Plymouth Reviews

172 Citadel Road, The Hoe, Plymouth, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
332 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very friendly staff. Thank you!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice, old house with atmosphere near the waterfront! Dorms are a bit cramped but mattresses are okay. Well-kept and clean, but not too many bathrooms.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Fixtures and fittings in need of repair/replacement e.g. bedroom sink broken. No steps to top bunk

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The above questions will differ according to people's expectations. We had a lovely clean double room, in fact the guy was using the hoover as we were shown in! I did ask if I could keep him to do mine at home! The staff were wonderful. Helpful, kind, great sense of humour. Would definitely come back.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel was in an excellent location, 5 minutes from the city centre. The beds were comfy as hostel beds go and the communal areas were kept clean and tidy. A huge choice of DVD's to watch even though I did not watch any. My only slight gripe was the lack of electrical sockets in the male dorm, but that isn't something that can easily be solved by the hostel, so I have learned to bring multi-plugs with me for next time.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

toilet and shower were very awful..so dirty! and dry cloth in kitchen looks like tatter.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Room nr.1 was our favorite, but in a certain way it has the luxury of a simple bridal suite. No need for that. Just a small table, one or two chairs, and a mirror above the zink. After all it's a simple one/two dorm. Loved our stay here. Plymouth has a lot of history and many things to offer. C U next time. :-)

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I felt very comfortable staying at the Hostel. Staff were very good and I hope to make it back there when I am in Plymouth

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is in a great spot, but the bathroom situation let it down. There were only 2 bathrooms, and the one on our floor (when you could get into it) had a broken shower. The door had come off and had to be lifted into place, and the bracket for the shower rose was also broken so had to be held in your hand. Glad it was only one night.


83%

Nice place to stay, was kept clean and the showers are amazing!! The dorm room I stayed in was huge, which was also nice, just quite a lot of semi-perminant residents and not many travelers!


54%

I had a very harsh welcome. Staff was not friendly at all. The good thing was that I get a room bymyself though I booked a mixed dorm.


57%

When introduced to the place the staff coule be slower for foreigners. It could be cleaner. The smoking area was just under my window so it was annoying.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Its cheap, if you want a bed for the night its okay beyond that not so great


83%

All quite basic, but the location was ideal (a stone's throw from the Hoe and some fantastic views). The kitchen area was well stocked and the kitchen facilities were plentiful. Easy to find and welcoming people.


74%

Hostel kichen is quite small and linen and other facilitys are bit shabby bit staff is ok. Atmoshire is nice and quite calm.


69%

Place was fine for a one nighter - bit dated though and nothing to compare with cheaper prices and facilities of hostels in Europe. Just spent 4 months of travelling doing the Camino and this was the most basic and 'tired' of the lot ! Shame as first introduction to the country when people come in. Staff great and bedding clean tho. Rooms pretty small.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We enjoyed staying there. Found it handy for the local shopping areas as well as for the attractions. Rooms were a good size. The place is well suited for hoildaiers who like a bit of peace and quiet in the evenings

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a thoroughly enjoyable time here where the staff were among the friendliest I've ever encountered and for the rainy days I've never seen so many books,dvds and board games to while the hours away. A very short stroll to the picturesque Plymouth Hoe and the city centre is also within walking distance. Comes highly recommended and would say it was one of the best hostels I've ever had the privilege of staying in. Respect!


100%

Never expected such a good facilities for such a good price. i would surely suggest people to trust this Globe Backpackers. i would say you will never get disappointed. i have stayed for 2days before i came to this place i stayed in "Fresh@the crown" London and i paid more than here and i had never seen such worst place. The most important thing that i liked is the way you provided us the maps of places indicating the shops.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Perfect location, easy access to city center and sea front. clean bedroom, however the first floor bathroom was out of order without any sign, and the 'ensuite' bedroom actually only means there is a sink in it. Overall, for a couple of nights, it was perfect


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Plymouth Hostels

Please give us your feedback