X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
471 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I would say it is an OK hostel. However, keeping in mind the prices a good value for your money. Location is a bit far (in Zone 3 of London transportation zones) but easily accessible round the clock. Toilets need a bit more work but they worked for me. Please keep in mind it's a backpackers hostel so if you want luxury dun come to this place.


91%

+ The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned every day. + For few pounds you can use the laundry + They also have two irons that you can use + FOR THIS PRICE the hostel is excellent! (One advice. If you are not used to the city noise bring earplugs).


89%

professional, polite, friendly staff and everything was great. I will appreciate to go there back sometime when I will need to stay in London again.....


83%

I loved the family feel of the hostel. In no time I felt like I knew everyone there (staff and customers) for years! Great time.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

A pretty good place to stay at. It was cheap, and even if it wasn't a palace it was a decent place and definitely worth the money I paid. The area was a bit noisy at night with a lot of sirens but you got used to it after one day. They had everything you could need for a really cheap visit to London. They even had a tesco near by and a cooking facility so you could eat really cheap as well. Extra points for good Wi-Fi !

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The only downside of this hostel was that in my room there wasn't any fan or air conditioning so it made it very hard to sleep during the hot days in London. Besides that, the location is great because its only a 5 minute walk to the subway station and the staff are very kind! My room also had its own bathroom which was great.


69%

The receptionist was good, But the floor I was living on didn't have an available shower. Not very convenient


54%

It's cheap place, so it's ok. But if you can pay more, in my opinione you should choose other place. Atmosfer was avarage, and quality of beds, liner is poor. People who work there are also guests, so they don't care of quality. It's far away from central london, so you will spend more time and money in underground than when you let a room in centre. The worst thing is inside fridge,looks and smells badly.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We were really disappointed to realize that the hostel doesn't accept guests under 18 (though we should have known by reading the documents on the website) So we had to leave after one night only. But the staff were rally nice to us, letting us stay one night.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

OK except for the last night where a very loud party with a bunch of South Americans went on until 5 a.m. with no staff present to tell them to stop. So I got no sleep at all and paid £15 for the privilege. Would kind of like my money back really. Oh and the toilet on the third floor blocked - really foul - and not mended for the whole weekend. Oh and a couple of the staff were really unfriendly. Apart from that - wonderful.


69%

There are too few bathrooms.


91%

Globe Trott is great value for money. You won't find anywhere cheaper that is comfortable and has the facilities. This is a great place to meet people with something exciting going on most of the time, drinking games ect. Friendly staff and free beer some nights! 15 minutes on the Tube into central London, highly recommend.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

good value for the money


74%

This hostel is waaaaaaaaay out of the city center. Waaaaaaaay out. That being said, if you want to see an new area of London, this might be one way to do it, and it's not far from a tube stop. The people are friendly, the rooms are fairly nice. It's not the cleanest hostel in the world, but it's good if you just need a place to crash.


86%

It was good and facilities were reasonable and good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the great review, it was great having you here.

46%

The staff could really do something about the cleanliness of the place and add more toilet facilities because if the patrons wake up in the morning to have a shower, the waiting time to use the bathroom is pretty long.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you your review. We agree 100% that we do not have enough toilet facilities at peak times in the morning. However we do have ensuite dorms and for people on tight schedules we do suggest they book these rooms instead. We will be increasing extra toilet facilities in the future. Unclear why you gave the hostel such a low rating for location, this is clearly advised before booking. Take care

86%

Good ...;-)

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff were extremely unorganized; not only did they accidentally cancel our reservation and have to rebook it, they also rebooked us in a room we didn't request, with more beds, and charged us the same. Building is hard to find and hidden in a corner. Room was pretty clean, but there was only one outlet. Proceed with caution - it's $20 a night, so that's the quality you will get.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. We are extremely sorry about the confusion with your booking. We had an internal error with a new booking system that was no fault of ours. Not sure how you found the building difficult to find as it is a 4 story building that towers over all others on the corner of two very busy roads. All rooms have a power outlet for each bed ... have you reviewed the right hostel? Take care

46%

This little hole-in-the-wall hostel was much poorer than we'd expected. Not only was in far out of the way of central London (which we figured was worth it if the place was nice), but it was quite run down. Many of the restrooms had issues--doesn't lock, lights aren't working, etc etc. We also found the rooms quite dirty. To top it off, there was an issue between HostelWorld and the Globe Trotts Inn, which in itself is understandable, but the staff were simply unhelpful in helping us deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. I am very sorry to read about the poor experience you had here. Lots of changes were going on internally when you stayed and unfortunately this had a knock on effect to our usually high customer service standards. I hope you give us a second chance someday. We make secret that we are a work in progress and try and highlight this as much as we can in our description i.e. "A budget backpackers suitable for the laid back non fussy traveller." Take care

43%

We booked this hostel about a month before we went to London, as well as another pair of our friends. The morning we were supposed to leave, they called our friends telling them they had overbooked and couldn't stay at the hostel. We tried to ask them if we could go around the 48-hour cancellation policy in order to stay with our friends, but they said no. Then when we finally arrived, they didn't even have two beds for us and people who had also been overbooked were sleeping on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking time to write this review. Again we are very sorry about the mess surrounding your booking. I hope our £100 compensation helped you to enjoy London better after the poor start caused by us. We hope you give us a second chance someday. Take care.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback