X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
344 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The staff is very friendly and it is very good that there are lockers and CCTV. There is not enough space in the kitchen to cook and eat. The TV and sofas are good for homeless people but are not good for working people. Also they do not accept any mails which is a bad thing if you need to open a bank account or anything that requires receiving letters.


46%

This hostel is overrated . Hard to breathe at night , problem with ventilation . Many people live there , and location is bad .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Overrated? You gave us 97% in May. The highest rating you gave any hostel in your other reviews. You also lived here for a while so not sure what you're complaining about? Good luck to the next London hostel you stay with, as you seem to fall out with all of us. It’s time to get yourself a room in house share my friend, as you’re clearly burnt out on living in hostels. Take care.

100%

Great hostel . Good wifi . Helpful staff . If you want to go outside the city centre and live among the real Londoners , this is a good choice . Located close to train station and shops .

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was great having you stay again with us. See you next year :)

83%

Really nice hostel. The atmosphere is excellent and the staff is really kind and helpfull. We had a wonderfull time during our stay at this hostel. The toilets are clean enough. We had the opportunity to meet new people around the world and have fun together. The hostel is quiet far from city centre, but the tube station is really close and in front of the hostel there's a bus station too. The only problem that we could mention is that there is only one common room for such a big hostel.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review and the nice comments about staff. It really is appreciated. Bye

80%

nice and clean room. easy to find. transport is good to central London definitely would go again


77%

It was quite simplistic when it comes to the furniture, but they had everything I needed to stay over. Friendly staff, airy and warm (but not too much) room, clean shower. I stayed in a female dorm and felt safe there.

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very frienly atmosphere

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Mold on the restroom ceilings and dust in the bedrooms made me sick. The beds wobbled when we tried to climb up so it woke everybody in the room. Beds spring were very uncomfortable and it dug into our shoulders/ back when we slept too long on one side.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in a lot of hostels in London, but let me tell you, if you want the best, cleanest, cheapest place in London you should book here. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they have a good attitude especially Josh. If your English is not good, don`t worry, they are patient as well. The showers are good and clean. The whole place gets cleaned daily, even the cleaners are friendly. In other hostels you can`t drink alcohol, here they don`t mind, they`ll even drink with you. Remember GTI

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow this review just brough a tear to our eyes. We work so hard around here its great when it gets recognised like this. Beers on us when you return. Take care my friend.

100%

Great stay! Great workers josh is very helpfull and even gives a free oily one if you stay till Sunday! Many choices of ointments and a good selection of background grooves, 10/10

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes is quickly building a reputation as the master of a good rub n tug. We are currently the busiest hostel in London and have had to start a waiting list just to get in the door.

60%

Staff was friendly, but they should do something with terrible smell in the corridors! Please paint walls more often than once in ten years, change carpets and make general cleanings more often, when you to the place your nose wants to leave asap! But rooms were clean and with keys. Mattrasses should be changed, impossible to sleep comfortably. Anyway, its cheap!

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Like our description states we are a bit rough around the edges. But we are improving all the time and the hostel was painted only two years ago. We have been trying to fit in other minor work but the hostel is still fully booked on a weekly basis as guests just love it here, so it makes it hard. Hopefully for your next visit we will have the red carpet ready and out for you. Take care.

77%

was good enough for the money


94%

Having stayed in numerous hostels all over the world and three in London this place really stands out. I was a bit apprehensive at first because the price seemed too good to be true but I haven't felt more relaxed or welcomed since I came to London. The hostel has a relaxed vibe and the area has so many transport possibilities it would be foolish to stay in the overpriced city alternatives. If you want a slice of real London I couldn't recommend a better place to stay.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Thanks for the review, it means a lot.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
26%

The hostel is REALLY dirty... There were empty bottles in the room, cans of tomatoes, stains in the carpet and panties hanging on the bunk bed stairs!!! There were also spider webs behind the toilet in the bathroom. Very bad located!!! It takes more than 1h to get from the airport and it's far away from everything London offers. We couldn't spend one night in the hostel because of how bad it was!! And I dont think it was a one time event...

Owner Comment (Hide)
This hostel is not dirty. We were expecting this review but luckily for us people are intelligent enough to spot a disgruntled customer. We do not give refunds for no valid reason, as hard as you tried to find one while here. Our location is CLEARLY described in our description and all of London’s airports are located an hour outside of London. Had you been as pedantic reading our decription as you are in your reviews you wouldn't have booked here and saved us all the hassle.

74%

Lets be honest, this place is well out of the way and best for those looking for work, staying longer term etc. lots of cheap food in the area and shops etc. close to tube and buses everywhere. Common room is very busy at night leaving nowhere to go and unfortunately some of the longer term people trash the kitchen on multiple occasions and in the morning it is filthy. Also the kitchen is microwave and portable hot plate.


66%

It was the cheapest hostel I can find. The internet is stable most of the time but it is almost IMPOSSIBLE to shower/use the basin at anytime....shower room and toilets are just not enough considering the number of guests. The neighborhood first seem to be unsafe, but after communting several days after work at midnight, I found it okay.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

the hostel is really nice ,people of the staff inside are very kind and polite . the position it s quiete good you can get the underground that is 3 minutes to walk . the bathroom and the rooms are really clean thanks to the members staff cristian and barbara . I have been here the last year and now and I think that I will came back for sure .

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Poor services from poor staff....


77%

fine hostel, beds are really crappy

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great hostel, great vibe, lots of fun & right on the Victoria line so can easily get to london center without having to change trains, for this price you cant go wrong!


(178 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback