X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
448 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Only one shower per floor, which has probably 20-30 guests on it. Makes for a long wait in the morning and not good if you're on a time limit. Comfortable beds and clean. Can only pay in cash but a credit card was given to book the room in advance- just makes me nervous about getting double charged. There wasn't anything to do in the area and lots of fights happening outside at night, but fairly close to the underground.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Cool hostel and good value. Some of the 'long-term' guests had gotten a little out of hand and seemed to try to dominate the common areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to read about some of our guests. We don't have any long term guest’s stay here anymore, but I am aware of who you are speaking about and if you were to return to the hostel again you will notice that they are no longer here. We hope it didn’t spoil your stay too much.

46%

Its not a hostel, is a residence where the vast majority live there. This creates problems and fights among the guests, which we have disgust. You do not have spaces for relax, only the kitchen, which is quite precarious. They didnt wanted to accept credit cards (on Hostelworld said it did), we could finally pay. Housekeeping is 1 time per day, which is not so much for the amount of people there. So be carefull and make your own conclusions...

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are a hostel, a proper backapckers. The people you are speaking about are the staff, eight live on site. We are a 106 bed hostel. The fight you mention was between guests who are no longer here, sorry about that. Blame Holland beating Spain 5-1! Yes housekeeping in our dorms is once a day just like a hotel. But toilets, shower and common areas are twice a day and checked every two hours in between. You can relax on our roof top area, several other snugs within the hostel & the bar downstair.

89%

the diamond is"nt retreating

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thats great news, brilliant! Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again!

100%

Was great value for money. Good atmosphere too

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. Its really appreciated! Take care and we hope to see you again.

60%

There was no air conditioning in our dorm, so it was really hot and inpossible to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. Your stay was during unusually high temperatures for England and you would not normally find air conditioning in a hostel in the UK. We hope your stay was not spoiled too much by the heat. However your comments have been noted and we will invest in some fans if the weather gets crazy again! Take care

71%

The hostel was far from the city, so tickets for public transport were more expensive. Yet, it was in an area with cheap takeaway food and lots of supermarkets. Staff were extremely helpful and really cool. They had made a mistake with our booking, we didn't have a place to stay for the night as a result, but they offered the rest of our nights for free because of this mishap. The atmosphere was really good and made a few friends out of this experience. Good place to stay to stay budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. Transport is expensive in London if you do not purchase a Visitor Oyster Card. We strongly recommend that everyone visiting London buy one immediately when they arrive. Again we are very sorry about the first night, I hope the refund made up for the expensive travel costs! Take care and we hope to see you again sometime

91%

Very friendly staff and the atmospher of the hostel was very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers pal for the great review! Thanks.

54%

Four dirty bathrooms to the dozens of people in the hostel was not okay with me.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Points noted about our bathrooms. We just wish you told us about your issue during your seven night stay with us! I personally asked you several times as I could tell something was up. We do have en-suite rooms and we would have upgraded you. We have more cleaners on board and all bathrooms are currently being painted and look brand new again. Take care

80%

Did the job for me personally. Nice cheap and great amenities. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

Globe Trotts is such a great place. Chilled during the day then goes mad at night! It's really clean and the staff very nice.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mad at night? Well sometimes :) We hope to see you again and thanks for the great review.

100%

This was my first experience in a hostel and I enjoyed it. I stayed in an all - female ensuite dorm which was really nice.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

100%

Great place Showers could use a little bit of maintenance but they are working on this and they whole place looks good. The lounge was very social and the bar below was a bit crazy! Anyways, had a great time, would go back :)

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay more happy people! Brilliant, we are very happy you had good time. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

I stayed at the Globe Trotts for 3 nights and had a great time. The hostel staff are super friendly and helpful and gave us tips for fun things to do. The location is okay with easy access to tube and multiple bus lines. They do weekly events and I went on a trip to Hyde park which was fun!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the excellent review! We hope to see you again someday

69%

Was good value for money. Needs to be more maintenance done on toilets etc... But overall was a good couple of nights.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Points noted about our tolilets and it is something we are currently working on to improve. Take care

63%

Females and Males use same toilet and this is not on... You get up to use the toilet as a female and the toilet seat is wet or up, and every time you want to use the toilet you have to do cleaning first. Sharing shower with men is not normal, and I don't know if this Hostel had no other option but to mix everyone together in showers and toilets. The toilet and shower can be really dirty, for my whole stay I could hardly score a trip to the shower and find the bathroom clean.


46%

Unfortunately, the only thing I didn't like about my trip to London. It is located in a not very safe area of London, but not far from a tube station, so that was ok. The worst part was the inside: very dirty, the rooms had a disgusting carpet, the linen was dirty, the kitchen was even worse. The room was way too small for 10 people, and there were no courtains or any other mean of blocking the light, so it was impossible to sleep after 6am. Also, no way your luggage is gonna fit in the lockers!


100%

Most London hostels are a bit on the dive side. This one is no exception. However, between the staff and atmosphere it is a great place and is an excellent value for the money. And lovely brand new mattresses!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the great review Adam. Glad that you had a good time here. Take care and we hope to see you again someday.

49%

They have good security and friendly staff, but the location is terrible. The staff didn't have much info on any tours and directed us to google. It's in a sketchy part of London and it's a long ways away from the city center. The place is relatively clean, but it was nearly impossible for a hot shower. It would either be ice cold and as soon as the water was warm enough it would only be a minute before turning cold again. It wasn't worth the money at all.


46%

One of the scariest nights of our lives! The hostel was gross and the guests were dirty and sketchy. It seemed like the guests live in the hostel. There were no curtains on the windows, and the building was so hot the windows needed to be opened all night. This became a large problem because the area was so bad that police sirens ran constantly all night. The bathroom did not have lights in it, nor did it have a finished ceiling. The main lounge had dirty dishes and broken couches.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Come on pal, this review is ridiculous. You were here for only one night, checked in at 8pm and gone before 6am. "We are budget backpackers suitable for the laid back non fussy traveller.” I'm guessing you didn't read this in our description before booking. The couches have now been replaced with nice new benches. Enjoy the rest of your travels, and we hope you give us a second chance someday. I'm certain after you get more travel experience you'll come to appreciate what we do here.

(235 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback