X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
483 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good ...;-)

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff were extremely unorganized; not only did they accidentally cancel our reservation and have to rebook it, they also rebooked us in a room we didn't request, with more beds, and charged us the same. Building is hard to find and hidden in a corner. Room was pretty clean, but there was only one outlet. Proceed with caution - it's $20 a night, so that's the quality you will get.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. We are extremely sorry about the confusion with your booking. We had an internal error with a new booking system that was no fault of ours. Not sure how you found the building difficult to find as it is a 4 story building that towers over all others on the corner of two very busy roads. All rooms have a power outlet for each bed ... have you reviewed the right hostel? Take care

46%

This little hole-in-the-wall hostel was much poorer than we'd expected. Not only was in far out of the way of central London (which we figured was worth it if the place was nice), but it was quite run down. Many of the restrooms had issues--doesn't lock, lights aren't working, etc etc. We also found the rooms quite dirty. To top it off, there was an issue between HostelWorld and the Globe Trotts Inn, which in itself is understandable, but the staff were simply unhelpful in helping us deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. I am very sorry to read about the poor experience you had here. Lots of changes were going on internally when you stayed and unfortunately this had a knock on effect to our usually high customer service standards. I hope you give us a second chance someday. We make secret that we are a work in progress and try and highlight this as much as we can in our description i.e. "A budget backpackers suitable for the laid back non fussy traveller." Take care

43%

We booked this hostel about a month before we went to London, as well as another pair of our friends. The morning we were supposed to leave, they called our friends telling them they had overbooked and couldn't stay at the hostel. We tried to ask them if we could go around the 48-hour cancellation policy in order to stay with our friends, but they said no. Then when we finally arrived, they didn't even have two beds for us and people who had also been overbooked were sleeping on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking time to write this review. Again we are very sorry about the mess surrounding your booking. I hope our £100 compensation helped you to enjoy London better after the poor start caused by us. We hope you give us a second chance someday. Take care.

83%

Pretty good option especially given the price. All rooms had key card access plus plenty of lockers to keep belongings. Unfortunately there were always long waits for the showers and bathrooms during the mornings. The common room was also a bit small and run down.


100%

Top marks for effort. If you're expecting a palace book else where! Its an old building but its a great hostel and i had a great time here and stayed an extra few nights. They do free walking tours and pub crawls. Not enough showers so book an ensuite.Go for it

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Not one of the flashiest places I've stayed at but the atmosphere and the staff defiantly make up for anything that it may be lacking! and the view from the roof!! is just amazing!! i will defiantly be back if the need a hostel to stay at again!


49%

No free parking .. Super lazy

Owner Comment (Hide)
We actually do have free parking, all around the hostel. I am very sorry that 'Super Lazy' did not inform you of this. His forehead is very big so we decided to move him on. Thanks for the review and we hope it did not spoil your stay too much.

69%

I loved Globe Trotts solely because of the staff. Everything else was kind of not pleasant but the staff and the other hostel-mates were the best! It was in uptown Park, which is a sketch area, but I really found people to be friendly there. The rooms can get really cheap so if cheap is where you're aiming for, this might be it.


54%

The bathroom situation is frustrating. Also the bathroom on the second floor needs lighting. The kitchen is too cramped and the breakfast ran out super early. The staff were helpful but more information about London would be great. Having maps available etc. Cleanliness could be greatly improved, there were flies everywhere.


83%

Definitely worth the price, it's a cheap hostel for a not so bad place, even staying in a room for 10 people. It's clean, the location is not bad, zone 3 in London with subway is ok. Staff were nice and happy. Two things: maybe it needs more bathroom for the number of rooms, is a little crowded in the morning. And, it has to be a better way to organize the kitchen, maybe put some cabinets or something. If you're a looking for a cheap place, for sure recommend.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Steffania
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel wasn't so bad it was the location. Its was extremely loud all night the whole time due to sirens going off and shouting at all hours. Don't expect to get a good nights sleep.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not so clean but very cheap, a little far from the most important places of London (except Olympic village and city airport). There's a nice pub very close to this hostel. Ideal for very-low-cost journeys


100%

Probably not worth 100% but it's the only place in London (and I've been in a few cause I wanted some work there) that can properly put the name "hostel". To the owner, I'd recommend a bigger common area and smaller TV (doesn't make for good atmosphere I reckon) and a reception closer to that common room, though staff were quite nice so it makes up for it. Definitely my crashing place in London anyways for next times. Oh and sunsets views are pretty awesome too.


43%

I would recommend this hostel for people who wanna party every night because I had all 7 sleepless nights. There are no rules in this hostel. The shower didn't work properly, water stopped running during showering. Stairs are very narrow so you can hardly move with your luggage.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Only one shower per floor, which has probably 20-30 guests on it. Makes for a long wait in the morning and not good if you're on a time limit. Comfortable beds and clean. Can only pay in cash but a credit card was given to book the room in advance- just makes me nervous about getting double charged. There wasn't anything to do in the area and lots of fights happening outside at night, but fairly close to the underground.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Cool hostel and good value. Some of the 'long-term' guests had gotten a little out of hand and seemed to try to dominate the common areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to read about some of our guests. We don't have any long term guest’s stay here anymore, but I am aware of who you are speaking about and if you were to return to the hostel again you will notice that they are no longer here. We hope it didn’t spoil your stay too much.

46%

Its not a hostel, is a residence where the vast majority live there. This creates problems and fights among the guests, which we have disgust. You do not have spaces for relax, only the kitchen, which is quite precarious. They didnt wanted to accept credit cards (on Hostelworld said it did), we could finally pay. Housekeeping is 1 time per day, which is not so much for the amount of people there. So be carefull and make your own conclusions...

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are a hostel, a proper backapckers. The people you are speaking about are the staff, eight live on site. We are a 106 bed hostel. The fight you mention was between guests who are no longer here, sorry about that. Blame Holland beating Spain 5-1! Yes housekeeping in our dorms is once a day just like a hotel. But toilets, shower and common areas are twice a day and checked every two hours in between. You can relax on our roof top area, several other snugs within the hostel & the bar downstair.

89%

the diamond is"nt retreating

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thats great news, brilliant! Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again!

100%

Was great value for money. Good atmosphere too

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. Its really appreciated! Take care and we hope to see you again.

(250 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback