X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
444 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

My first day at the hostel one of my room mates stole my credit cards. During my week stay I also saw a domestic fight take place within my room.The area of upton park isn't very safe either, walking home one time at 8pm I saw a brawl which led into someone bag being stolen. There are very few showers for how many people there are. You have to cue outside and the toilets are often in the same bathroom. Bed was very uncomfortable. However, the people there were nice. Rather pay more and feel safe

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry to read about this. We take security at the hostel very seriously and provide lockers, CCTV and key card entry for all doors to all guests. You did not make us aware that you cards had been stolen and we really wish you had. Our mattresses are being replaced and your comments on our showers have been noted. Take care and we hope all the bad luck you had won’t spoil the rest of your travels.

60%

The hostel is alright.. beds were horrible though, very saggy, and if someone in the bunk bed moves, the other person wakes up.. if you have no shower in the room you have to try and get one of the other 3 in the hostel.. usually you have to queue and sometimes its cold.. it was never really hot. the kitchen is far to small and not very clean.. the location isn't great either but not too bad. so its alright but really not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the comments. We will continue to improve our hostel and increase our number of showers. We hope you still had a good time here.

60%

+ hostel is in zone 3 near Westham; there are lots of little shops and take aways and a Tesco just around the corner. + nice people, 24h access, no curfew, free wifi (poor connection in the rooms though) + CCTV - I had to pay cash on arrival as the credit card machine was not working. - No sinks in the rooms; only one Bathroom on my floor (Toilet, shower & Sink together in one room), but three 8 bed dorms - one bathroom for about 20 people! - shower was cold twice during my stay - no breakfast

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. Sorry about the WiFi during your stay, one of our routers was faulty and we were unaware for a few days. It has now been repaired and we again have fast WiFi throughout the hostel. Your comments about our showers have been noted and this is something that will be improved in the future. Take care.

54%

It´s too far...

Owner Comment (Hide)
.. from where? Our address is clearly shown on various maps and Hostelworld my friend. If you are talking about central London, 35 minutes from the hostel door to Big Ben is not bad at all. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels

63%

Pros: Lockers with CCTV // The toilets have tons of paper. Cons:Worst beds ever, you could feel the springs in your back, terrible // The kitchen and the living room are in the same place, so everything smells like food // Its in the zone 3 of the public transport system so you have to pay more for the oyster card. And they give free beer for reviews, so not all reviews are trustuble.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed our toilet paper! Correct we are in Zone 3 but it is only 50p more expensive to get here than a zone 1 or 2 hostel. Compare our rates with hostels within those zones and you still save a lot of money! If we were just giving free beer for reviews the hostel would be rated about 125% :) Our matteresses will be replaced very soon.

77%

Nice hostel if you don't mind it being a bit further from the city. Other than the all good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the great comments its really appreciated.

74%

You get what you paid for, the only complaint I have is that the showers weren't very good but apart from that I'm happy with what they offer. Would visit again anytime, there was a great atmosphere with a lot of other travellers to meet. Thanks Globe Trott :)

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thnak you for the review. Your comments about our showers have been noted. We are glad you still had a good time here. Take care.

91%

excellent

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the great review. Take care.

69%

The location is far, specially in the night when tube isn't in service, but the night bus from the center makes a stop next to the hostel. Poor facilities, sometimes no hot shower, but the place is clean, the stuff is good, the kitchen is equipped, rooms are warm. If I need hostel again, I will stay in Globe Trotts. Thanks! :)

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review and we hope you come back again. It was great having you stay with us. Take care.

94%

Overall great value for money. Staff are very helpful. Location is good enough, although maybe a bit difficult to locate the front door. Only small issue was the Kitchen and lounge being in one room, it was always crowded. Bathrooms were clean, beds were comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking time to write us a review. Your kind words about staff are really appreciated. Take care

83%

It's not a fantastic hostel, but its pretty good considering the cheap price you pay. Its not close to the center city but its close to a tube station, which makes moving around there easier. The place may look a little bit old, but its very clean. The staff is very friendly and always there to help and give informations.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review my friend. We foucs on giving our guests good value for money so you can travel further and for longer. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

94%

friendly and happy atmosphere. would definitely stay again. Thanks folks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was great having you here my friend and thanks for the great review. We hope to see again someday.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

This hostel is very clean for this price. I would return here, but you must consider the price for traveling to the centre. It's 3. zone, so the ticket it's more expensive. But if you prefer low price and also some comfort (clean bathroom, carpet, new beds...) and don't care about location, this should be your first choice!

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We hope you took our tip and purchased an Oyster Travel card. You can get around London quicker and cheaper with one. Thanks for the positive review. Take care.

91%

I personally love the large, light, spacious rooms - making for a very congenial shared living situation! Basic amenities are complimentary such as salt, sugar, oil, tea, coffee and cleaning is done daily. The staff are all friendly and very accommodating, making one feel very welcomed - Danny for example! I also noticed that the placement of long-term dorm guests is done rather conscientiously, creating a sense of familiarity and confidence between us in the same room. It's a great place!

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice, warm and friendly place. The common room is nice, but mostly a bit too crowded. The staff and management is very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms very nice with both soap and paper and always clean. Only complaint would be the neighbourhood - it's safe but it is very boring. One day we had free pizza, and they just put up a Wish Box, and actually asked us to use it, so they can improve the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the very positive review. We hope you come back to see the improvements we have made. We could also use your interior decoration knowledge again :) Take care

77%

The staff is very friendly and it is very good that there are lockers and CCTV. There is not enough space in the kitchen to cook and eat. The TV and sofas are good for homeless people but are not good for working people. Also they do not accept any mails which is a bad thing if you need to open a bank account or anything that requires receiving letters.


46%

This hostel is overrated . Hard to breathe at night , problem with ventilation . Many people live there , and location is bad .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Overrated? You gave us 97% in May. The highest rating you gave any hostel in your other reviews. You also lived here for a while so not sure what you're complaining about? Good luck to the next London hostel you stay with, as you seem to fall out with all of us. It’s time to get yourself a room in house share my friend, as you’re clearly burnt out on living in hostels. Take care.

100%

Great hostel . Good wifi . Helpful staff . If you want to go outside the city centre and live among the real Londoners , this is a good choice . Located close to train station and shops .

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was great having you stay again with us. See you next year :)

83%

Really nice hostel. The atmosphere is excellent and the staff is really kind and helpfull. We had a wonderfull time during our stay at this hostel. The toilets are clean enough. We had the opportunity to meet new people around the world and have fun together. The hostel is quiet far from city centre, but the tube station is really close and in front of the hostel there's a bus station too. The only problem that we could mention is that there is only one common room for such a big hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review and the nice comments about staff. It really is appreciated. Bye

80%

nice and clean room. easy to find. transport is good to central London definitely would go again


(234 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback