X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
527 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Dirty, and no cookingstation, bathrooms are Dirty and everywhere is Mold

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Günstig, aber laut durch Straßenlärm und die wenigen Bäder/Toiletten dreckig. Für ein günstiges Dach über dem Kopf allemal ok.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

La ubicación no es muy próxima al centro de la ciudad, aunque esta excelentemente comunicado, a dos minutos del metro. La primera impresión fue nefasta, debido a que la entrada da miedo, aunque según íbamos descubriendo nos fue gustando más. La habitación era pequeña ya que habíamos 10 personas en ella, y la limpieza no era excelente. Debo decir que respecto a calidad-precio cumplió nuestros objetivos. Los compañeros fueron geniales y no tuvimos ningún problema con el staff. Volveremos a repetir

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff were excellent. The wifi was lightning fast. The hostel is a bit run down and dirty, and the neighborhood felt dodgy at night, but it was cheap during the day. Also, Upton is 30 minutes by public transport from the closest famous sites (Tower Bridge, the Tower of London), and it is 45 minutes + from the Southbank and other more centrally located sites. If that bothers you, stay elsewhere. The hostel is priced about the same as others closer to the city, in better condition.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Awful. Staff hardly even spoke when spoken to. Miles from city, but knew that going in. Couldn't get money back for key deposit because no one was ever in reception. Wifi rubbish. No blind on whole dorm so everyone woke up around 5am. "Kitchen" has no cutlery, crockery or cooktop. Absolutely no vibe in the hostel and no common area.


40%

I understand that hostels aren't supposed to be palaces; we had stayed at 3 different hostels in the UK that week. However, we paid about the same price for other places that had much more decency. Bathrooms were filthy and the showers out of order. Also, on the door for the toilets was a picture of the female restroom logo in a stall with the male restroom logo peeking over the wall. How is that supposed to make anyone comfortable? They wouldn't refund us for the 2 nights we didn't stay either.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Głównym powodem wyboru hostelu była niska cena i oferta pościeli i ręczników na miejscu (podróżując jedynie z bagażem podręcznym to spory plus). Niestety tego ostatniego nie otrzymaliśmy, słysząc jedynie "że po prostu zabrakło". Sądziłem, że po to się robi rezerwacje by takich sytuacji nie było. Pokój pomimo zapewnień o utrzymywaniu czystości - był w strasznym nieładzie. Rozumiem, że inni mieszkańcy mogą bałaganić - ale personel powinien wtedy przypominać im o zasadach. Obsługa bardzo miła!! :)

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A very nice hostal, I stayed in 3 other hostal near hyde park but I didn't like those, this one was the best one, the only incovenient was the distance from downtown but it´s a nice place if you manage your times to be at the main places on time


34%

Smelly hostel, no lockers available during first night, "free towels" was hand towels (first night again), only 3 bathrooms available in the building for those who opted for dorm without bathroom, no area for socialising, no curtains in the dorm, old bunkbeds, bad neighbourhood.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's depending on the cost 1st or the quality 1st. If you're looking for a cheap hostel just for a night sleep then globe trott inns is the best choice with a lowest cost. Don't expect the hostel to be a palace!

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Muy simpáticos y hospitalarios. Elegirlo sin duda si no te importa un rato de autobús para llegar. El único problemilla es que no tienen datáfono, lo que te puede pillar por sorpresa, sobre todo si acabas de llegar a Inglaterra y no dispones de libras

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

I'm not one to complain about a hostel. A bed is all you can really expect. However, this one was pretty sketchy. There were no available lockers to lock up my valuables and the staff were hardly around to ask questions. The room was claustrophic and had no air flow. The doors are reinforced and it is safe from the street I suppose but I never felt okay. I left after one night and spent that evening in the airport without a refund. It was very expensive and the location is far for the price.


43%

I booked for 7 nites and was not informed of any age restriction until I returned from the bank to pay..was then informed it was for 18-25 age only which was not spelled out on the web page..I was then informed that I could stay one nite..only to be told an hour later I could not..after complaining..it was after 4 in the afternoon i was permitted to stay one nitght..this was shabby treatment..and Globe Trott need s to state any age restrictions clearly..I am a retired senior who continues to


71%

The hostel was very cheap, and it was ok for that price. The room i was staying in was very hot, and there wasnt much space for anyones bag. If you like to take your time in the bathroom, this is absolutely not a hostel for you! One bathroom for each floor, and my floor had 5 rooms with 8 bed in each. Imagine that in the morning! The staff is very friendly and nice and the athmosphere was nice and easygoing.


86%

Juan y nacer son muy buenos! Nos ayudaron con las mejores recomendaciones :) estuvimos en un carto lleno pero muy buenos compañeros

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

On a main road so very noisy. They should have mentioned that it was 'No over 35's' before I booked.


66%

Das Globe Trott Inns ist ein durchschnittliches Hostel.Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis ist gut. Eigentlich sehr gut, wenn der Schimmel ins unserem Zimmer nicht gewesen wäre. Mal von unseren Mitbewohnern abgesehen,die es in jedem Hostel geben kann, ist es für das Geld völig i.O. Man darf halt kein Schloss erwarten. Solange man da nur schläft und nicht den ganzen Tag verbringt, ist es eine gute günstige Alternative um in London unterzukommen.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel is really nice and the guys that are working here are super cool, friendly and very helpful. The other persons in here are quite friendly and they make you feel welcome and at home. You will sure meet a lot of new friends here.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The wifi was secure, but there were not enough bathrooms for the volume of people that stay there. As advertised, there's only stairs, no lift. The hostel is fairly noisy, very dirty/dusty/smelly despite the once-a-day cleaning. The kitchen is fully stocked, but crowded since its the common room. Finding the entrance initially is weird (especially at night). The hostel's address is on the main road, but the entrance is around the corner, after the bar, underneath the hostel's sign.


97%

one of the best hostels in London, easy to travel to Central London. Bank and Tesco are 2 min away, nice choice of cafes near by. Great stuff - attentive and helpfull, they let me leave my heavy luggage for some time after check out. Clean bathrooms, also felt very secure with locks

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(119 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback