X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Globe Trott Inns Reviews

1 Barking Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
569 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

Hostel w nieciekawej dzielnicy robotniczej, standard najniższy z możliwych, aby dostać się do środka trzeba było czekać 20 min- drzwi były zamknięte mimo punktualnego przyjazdu. Obsługa arogancka i zadufana. Brak ciepłej wody. Lepiej dopłacić i się nie denerwować.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place, with friendly people. Easy to find - and a nice breakfest cafe nearby :)


69%

Have stayed there before and it was much cleaner than it is now.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I love this hostel... Cheap - Young Peeps - Friendly Staff - Near to Tesco , Tube , Food - Have a Small Kitchen

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Ich War auf der Suche nach einem Schlafplatz für eine Nacht möglichst nah am City airport damit ich meinen Flug am nächsten Morgen bequem erreiche. Von daher bot sich das Globe Trott Inns an da man den Flughafen in knappen 20 min erreichen kann. Das Hostel ist ziemlich hellhörig, sowohl was Geräusche von innen als auch von außen betrifft. Und wem der Weg in die City zu weit ist versucht es mal mit dem Shoppincenter in Stratford. Da kann man schonmal einen Tag verbringen. ;)

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

El hostel no esta mal en si, la zona ubicada tiene la estación de Metro Upton Park, que esta muy cerca y es la linea verde, la cual tiene muy buena conexión. Pero la limpieza deja mucho que desear, esta todo muy sucio, te meten en la misma habitación que gente que esta viviendo allí desde hace tiempo, y huelen las habitaciones fatal. Pienso que es un hostel que se podría sacar mucho mas partido, con tan solo limpieza.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

MY ONLY complaint (i'm not complaining!) is the shower facilities could do with an complete overhaul! If i compared to Palmers Lodge (Swiss Cottage) then the Globe Trott's showers, often have wet floors (no floor drains) are occupied (not enough showers) and are a bit tired looking. I know Palmers Lodge had a refit 1-2 years ago, and the new showers are so much better to use, they are bright, many more cubicles, more toilets, mirrors, better ventilation (less damp).


83%

30 minutes to London city center on underground, is a nice and cheap place to sleep for a short trip to London, i would recommend it for sure, and i would go back next time.


63%

The hostel is outside the city centre, but nicely reachable with tube and night buses, a taxi from city centre costs around 40£ tho, so plan your nights out accordingly. The area it is situated in doesn't seem like the nicest neighbourhood, but all the most important shops and food shops are close What you get really matches the price, so don't expect much for such a cheap stay. It does the job for a few nights but if you are a hypochondriac or a notorious clean person it's probably not for you.


51%

it stinks. squeezed rooms. dirty everywhere. queue at the showers. lots of missing stuff. each service costs. crappy place. still want to go just because it's cheap?


43%

Atrocious hostel. Avoid if you can. Not very clean, currently under partial construction with the crappiest workers imaginable. Incredibly disappointed to stay here. Would prefer to sleep on a bench in downtown than this piece of garbage. Will never ever consider Globe Trotts again.


60%

The hostel is situated close to Upton Park tube station and if you take the district line in 30 minutes you'll be in the city center, but if you simply want to walk it will take a lot. The neighborhood is not so safe and it can be dangerous in the night. Clean room, friendly staff but i was a little dissapointed that in the hostel was no atmosphere (maybe a cause can be the fact that there are living a lot of imigrants that are looking for a job in London and not tourists).


57%

Hostel distante do centro e das atrações, em um subúrbio, bairro pouco seguro, porém pode compensar pelo preço em determinados dias, existe trasporte bem perto o que facilita, porém o transporte público de Londres é bem caro. Razoável


74%

I slept in a room with ensuit but if such was fully booked I wouldn't have stayed at Globt simple bcos I find sharing bathroom and toilets with men not nice at as a female. Also, the reason why I gave Staff average is that when I got there we were told to wait ten minutes before checking in, we arrived after 15:00, then we ended up waiting over an hour, no one updating us. Then when I finally checked in, I went upstairs and there was no bed linen. Had to go back downstairs and was told not ready

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The old adage "you get what you pay for" applies to this place. While it is the cheapest hostel in London, you end up spending the same amount in Tube fare alone to get into central London. It is not in a very safe neighbourhood. The washrooms are disgusting with mould everywhere and the lockers are small and not guaranteed The only upside is free towels and the common room is decent enough. It is mostly a EU workers place rather than backpackers. I will not stay here again.


77%

It was warm with plenty of hot water. Everyone there was friendly. All you want for the price!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

was at a conference at the Excel, it was really close and a fun place to stay

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Globe Trott Inns is one of only two budget hostels in London that I would stay in, and recommend. Over the course of my visits, I've witnessed a significant improvement in the standard of cleanliness, and the high speed internet means I could stay in bed all day and surf the web. Staff are always polite, welcoming and ready to help, and there is a general community atmosphere. I do wish there could be more power sockets in the rooms, but that's minor. Overall, I adore this little gem.


74%

Hostel in a far neighborhood with a strange entrance, when I arrived there was a guy from the staff of the hostel passed out on the sidewalk (probably drunk or drugged) but no problem I've been the same way hahaha. Simple hostel good showers, kitchen and wi-fi. Close to a metro station. Staff seemed very friendly.


94%

I love love LOVE this hostel! It's fantastic value for money, clean enough, incredibly comfortable, lovely staff, great location, excellent facilities, fun yet relaxing atmosphere...LOVE IT!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback