X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Globetrotters International Reviews

154 Lake st, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
535 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hostel was super clean, the rooms were vacuumed every day. If you appreciate getting some sleep before 2am you'll love it! A bit of a walk to the center but not too bad. Heaps of churches along the way to the center, I was constantly afraid of bursting out into flames or getting struck by lightning ;-)


94%

Best Hostel Ever. Really nice people. Talk, sit together, watching movies. Its an amazing atmosphere!!! I worked here for accomodation and it was really easy and relaxing. The owners are very kind people and help everyone. Had the greatest time of my trip here. Its just a little walk to go in the middle of the city were all the clubs and shops are located. The best thing: its not a party hostel. so you can relax the whole day go to bed early. Wanna stay there again!


66%

the room wasn't cleaned, rubbish under the beds, mens boxers left in the bathroom and toiletries. Pizza box left outside the entrance to the room. We weren't sure if someone was in our room with us because it looked like no one had cleaned in there with clothes eveywhere and toiletries and rubbish. The front desk told us to hurry us to leave in the morning because she had to change all the beds.. not very nice thing to here from the host.. At least she came and put air con in the room.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us on this website, even though your comments are less than positive. You were in a dorm room which means you will be sharing the dorm with other people, this means that your fellow guests were the ones that had pizza boxes not the hostel. We have cleaners that clean the hostel 3 times a day and we are one of the cleanest hostels in Australia. Check out time is 10 am not 11.30am so instead of charging you a late check out fee we advised you

71%

Not too bad but a lot of stuff were broken especially in kitchens, . Also it's weird and we didn't know but you need to pay to use the fridge.


54%

The beds were incredibly uncomfortable, the mattresses dipped so much in the centre that you are basically lying on the wooden slats. A deposit was needed for using lockers. No bag storage in the rooms. Our room was never locked with people wandering in and out. We had to leave before reception opened on departure day, and despite my best efforts I did not get my $10 key deposit back. Very upsetting. Not impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, your stay at our hostel was along time ago so we had to look at our notes. You extended your stay with us in the same room so our beds were not that bad. Most hostels in Australia if not the world charge for using lockers. Bag storage was under your bed as advised at reception, not in the middle of the room. We tried emailing x 3 times for your bank account details which you never gave us. Please take this review with caution i think she must be having a bad day :)

97%

Love this hostel! Thick comfortable beds, good sized kitchens,pretty good wifi. Relaxing and fun hostel not a party hostel. Party at clubs orwhere ever and then come back chill out maxin relaxin.


71%

Hostel is divided into different areas, each with their own kitchen etc, which was nice. Good little pool and sitting area out back. Not so good were the number of things which were broken and not fixed e.g. one toaster, kettle, tap, washroom in our block. Staff walkthroughs to check for problems would be a good idea esp as reception is not open at all times to report things - a blocked sink was not dealt with for best part of 24 hours.


83%

Cheapest hostel we e stayed in along the east coast yet one of the best. Good internet, clean, well organised re food storage etc


91%

I enjoy Globetrotters i have spent a couple weeks here over Christmas and again through out January. It's not a party Hostel if that's what you're looking for. However it can get pretty fun and its relaxing and a great many people travelling through. Met many cultures from Japanese to Korean to Germany to Netherlands to Brazil and so many more.


86%

Staff were wonderful. I saw one walking around late which made me feel safe.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

A relaxed and quiet place. We had a big room (for four) with a fan, free AC from 6 pm to 9 am and free wi-fi, The staff was also very helpful and nice! -The kitchen was rather dirty, beacouse some people just left everything ...


100%

Had a really good time here, good location and well priced.


83%

Can't believe how nice it is for just $14 a night. Clean showers, nice lounge with really decent sofas, clean kitchen area, solid wifi in the lounge & dorm. It's just a bit quiet though, but ok for chilling and relaxing. The rooms get hot at night (10 bed form did anyway). Some extra fans or aircon would be good.


83%

The small office hours were a bit inconvenient.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly staff, you have to pay for the air-condition...WTF?!


66%

A tad run down especially some of the Kitchen and Bathroom facilities but generally a nice , quiet and affordable hostel. close enough to the city centre (but not too close :) ) was about a 10 minute walk along the Esplanade wich was lovely. We spent a few days on and off there and were able to leave the luggage locked in a cupboard which saved us from having to carry it around all the time

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback