Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Globetrotters International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
Globetrotters International Located at 154 Lake st, , Cairns.
Globetrotters International
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 154 Lake st
87% 706
-16.9148981 145.7700347
Globetrotters International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.7

Easily one of the best hostels I’ve stayed in, definitely the best in Cairns. Globetrotters has a great atmosphere, friendly staff, and is always kept clean. It has everything you might need if you are visiting town (pool, hammock area, free BBQ, breakfast). They also offer a free shuttle bus to places in town. If you decide to stay longer they offer a great work for accommodation policy and it soon feels like a home. I’ve stayed in this hostel on two occasions now and you can't beat the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
10.0

This is absolutely a top-class hostel. Super clean, very friendly, social but not exhausting, quiet at night, close to the esplanade, great WiFi, free breakfast, and just such a nice vibe. Wanna meet people and socialise? Too easy. Wanna be on your own for a bit? No problem. The fact that all dorms are real beds, not bunk beds, is just amazing. Keep it up globetrotters. You're on fire.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving such an awesome review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to Globetrotters soon! - Globetrotters Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.4

Had an amazing stay at this hostel. If you're looking for a chilled out hostel in great location, then this is the place for you. It gets cleaned three times a day, the WiFi is great, the staff are really friendly, and it has the single greatest fridge system I have ever used. Free breakfast and a free BBQ, twice a week, only sweeten staying here. In the time I was here, it felt more like a home than a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such a fantastic review! We work hard here to make our guests' stay as secure, comfortable and affordable as possible! Please spread the word about your stay to other travellers so that more international visitors can find us too! We look forward to welcoming you back to Globetrotters in the future! - Globetrotters Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.4

This hostel was great! Showers, toilets and kitchens were clean. We stayed in a lot of rooms while staying at the hostel, and all the rooms were nice and the beds comfy. The atmosphere was good, easy to meet fellow travelers. The staff is really nice and helpful. I loved the fridge system with your own key to your own fridge locker! Great experience, would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel! Feels like staying in a Hotel! Staff is really nice, helpful and caring. Facilities are really great! Modern bathrooms, cool bedrooms, heaps of space to hang out :):) definitely recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Globetrotters in the future! - Globetrotters Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.3

The staff behind the desks were very helpful and friendly! I have NEVER seen a busier staff during the day - the bathrooms and kitchens were cleaned regularly nod when something was out of order (i.e. Sink) it was repaired within a day. Great place to stay, a bit outside the major tourist part of the CBD so quieter but still walkable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
4.3

There was only one bathroom for multiple bedrooms upstairs. The sink was broken. The toilet barely flushed. We did not have blankets on our beds and when we asked about getting a blanket we were told they were all being used. We ended up checking out of our private room two nights early. The only positive aspect was the friendly staff!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We do have 2 fully equipped bathrooms that service our upstairs rooms, with a shower, sink and toilet each which have since been renovated. During particularly busy periods we unfortunately do not have enough blankets for every guest, but are in the process of fixing this and making more available. We hope you would come back to stay with us again in the future. - Globetrotters Staff Team

1st Aug 2016
8.6

My stay was short but great. I arrived late and there was someone to meet me for my key. The breakfast was nice and the beds were amazing. So nice not to have squeaky beds for a change. I would recommend this hostel for those looking for a nice quiet place and don't mind to walk a bit to the city center. The esplanade was fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us! Guests will be welcomed to our hostel by a member of staff regardless of whether their arrival is the middle of the day or night! Please continue to tell others about your stay with us for future travellers to Cairns! We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time! - Globetrotters Staff Team

  • everthine22
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2016
10.0

One of our absolute favourite hostels from our 1.5 year trip in Aussie, Globetrotters has an awesome vibe, great staff, a friendly atmosphere, and ample space to chill and relax with a poolside garden, sofa's and outdoor seating. Plenty of regularly cleaned kitchens/bathrooms for all the guests, we loved the homely feel of the place. Literal 5 minute walk to the Esplanade and 15 to the main city drag, its well-placed but not too in the hub that you can't get a good nights sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! We couldn't have said anything better ourselves! Please continue to spread the word of our hostel so other travellers can find us too! We look forward to welcoming you back to Globetrotters in the future! - Globetrotters Staff Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
7.7

Chill place just a short walk from the waterfront. It definitely has a backpacker vibe, lots of tours advertised, places to lounge, group barbecues, etc. I really appreciated their efforts to keep the noise level down after 11.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our reception staff are always more than happy to talk to travellers about the tours and excursions on offer in and around Cairns - and book them for you at a discounted rate!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Globetrotters in the future! - Globetrotters Staff Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.