Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Globetrotters International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.9

An ok hostel. Bit far out which I didn't realise when booking! Needs a bit of an update and could do with more bathrooms. Wifi didn't work in the room but the common areas are nice to chill in so not a huge problem. Nice kitchen facilities and pool. Free breakfast was a bonus. We booked a tour through the hostel and it turned out to be totally different to what we had been told which was disappointing. One of the windows in our hostel had no curtain so the sunlight streamed in at 6am!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
10.0

Had a great stay, clean accommodation, great night life, friendly staff. Defo recommend!! They offer work for accommodation also which is good if your planning on staying longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
8.0

Great place at the end of the Esplande (easy walk into town). Glad to not be on bunk beds! Chill atmosphere and accommodating shuttle service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.4

My Favourite hostel on the east coast! Great atmosphere, lovely staff especially Nick who was very welcoming and more than happy to help! Stayed for 5 nights and didn't want to leave! Stayed in a private room which was great and a female dorm which was really nice too, loved the fact we had our own kitchen area! Comfy beds!My only criticism would be not enough bathrooms especially for an 8 bed female dorm. Thanks for an amazing stay guys! Have recommended you to lots of friends visiting soon :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Unlimited Wifi a bonus. Great location Cheap airport transfers And you're able to book all of your tours through them which is great! Well recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.3

Stayed for a week and had an enjoyable time, knowledgable staff, always there to help and advise. Great beds and nice chill out lounge area. Advised to do the Passions Great Barrier Reef day out and it was well worth it. Overall very happy with our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.0

Lovely hostel that made us feel at home. All the basics are there for what you need and the centre of Cairns is only a short walk away. We liked that it wasn't a party hostel and you could chill in the evenings without it being rowdy. Free shuttles into town were also helpful- thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.4

The hostel was nice, and within walking distance of the centre, but it wasn't like we expected it. Everyone that was staying in the hostel besides us seemed to be working there which meant that the atmosphere was good if you stayed for a while I think but our two nights in the hostel wasn't enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.7

I needed a quiet night after 5 weeks of intense travelling and Globetrotters was perfect for that. Comfortable bed, clean showers and functioning wifi, as well as lovely communal areas and a clean kitchen. Staff were really kind and welcoming also. Shame I couldn't stay longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
6.9

The one thing that bothered me was putting in $4 to run the aircon through the night (because otherwise it was going to be 30C in the full dorm) and then some guy next to the aircon wants to turn it off and open the windows to 'help him sleep.' The room is advertised as an aircon room; the hostel should control the situation in the form of: aircon off during the day to save power, but turn it on in the evening and nobody should be paying anything. $27+$4 = $31 I could almost get a hotel room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for staying 2 nights with us and very very sorry about the air conditioner in your dorm room. Just a note that we do put in 12hrs free aircon at night in all dorms . If you do want air-conditioning during the day thats when you will need to put your own coins in. So $27 gets u free breakfast everyday including pancakes twice a week,free wifi,free bbq twice a week and a safe, friendly place to launch your Cairns adventure. PS a motel with free breakfast will cost u over $100 a night. Next time let our night managers know of your problem and we will solve it for u. Night managers and on 24 hrs per day.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.