Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Globetrotters International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.4

The hostel was nice, and within walking distance of the centre, but it wasn't like we expected it. Everyone that was staying in the hostel besides us seemed to be working there which meant that the atmosphere was good if you stayed for a while I think but our two nights in the hostel wasn't enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.7

I needed a quiet night after 5 weeks of intense travelling and Globetrotters was perfect for that. Comfortable bed, clean showers and functioning wifi, as well as lovely communal areas and a clean kitchen. Staff were really kind and welcoming also. Shame I couldn't stay longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
6.9

The one thing that bothered me was putting in $4 to run the aircon through the night (because otherwise it was going to be 30C in the full dorm) and then some guy next to the aircon wants to turn it off and open the windows to 'help him sleep.' The room is advertised as an aircon room; the hostel should control the situation in the form of: aircon off during the day to save power, but turn it on in the evening and nobody should be paying anything. $27+$4 = $31 I could almost get a hotel room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for staying 2 nights with us and very very sorry about the air conditioner in your dorm room. Just a note that we do put in 12hrs free aircon at night in all dorms . If you do want air-conditioning during the day thats when you will need to put your own coins in. So $27 gets u free breakfast everyday including pancakes twice a week,free wifi,free bbq twice a week and a safe, friendly place to launch your Cairns adventure. PS a motel with free breakfast will cost u over $100 a night. Next time let our night managers know of your problem and we will solve it for u. Night managers and on 24 hrs per day.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
8.0

Best hostel I stayed in so far. There are free BBQ's Wednesday and Sunday and free breakfast every morning. There's a big lounge with a PS4, a driving arcade game, and many bed-like couches to relax in. Staff is pretty helpful when booking trips--they give you discounts! Rooms are huge and pretty clean. Bathroom is okay, kind of dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Pleasant place to stay with nice location. Easy access to the beach, downtown, the marketplace

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.1

This place is was nice the environment is ok, not very fun place everyone seemed like zombies, didn't really see any activities like some of he other hostels I stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
7.4

Staff was nice. I was able to do late check in and early check out the night before. The atmosphere was not good. The other residents weren't welcoming at all. The room I was in was a mess. Not sure how long some of the stuff had been there. Seemed like a lot of it had been left behind cause it was still a mess as people checked out. Rooms are extremely hot & humid. The ac was not central and hidden behind another wall so it didn't really reach the other side of the room. Wouldnt stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.7

a good and quiet place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Very very nice staff. They always try to help you if you have any issue. The system with your own locker in the fridge is brilliant, no one could steal your food (I made this experience in other hostels and its horrible if you start cooking and some of your food is missing). The Hostel is clean, has big rooms and not only bunk beds, you feel much better in your own bed. The shuttle service is also very good, I arrived during heavy rain so it is very good that they offer it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
10.0

would definitely recommend globetrotters. will stay here again when next up in cairns

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.