Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glow Worm Accommodation

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.7

Don't let the pictures fool you, this hostel is really cool, friendly staff and the best view from the kitchen of the glacier and mountains

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Great spot to stay while checking out the glaciers. I stayed two nights and really enjoyed my stay and don't have anything negative from my experience. Dorms were big and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
10.0

I stayed at 4 Hostels during my 2 week holiday and Glow worm was by far my favorite. One of the best atmospheres throughout the country. The staff was absolutely charming and they have a phone for making FREE calls to any landline in the world. Loved this place and hope to visit again soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
8.0

Agree that it could use a face lift but it's a lovely hostel that has homey atmosphere. The staff are friendly and the free soup and breakfast everyday gives value for your money. We stayed in the 4 room dorm which we all found rather cozy for space but managed to survive without squeezing anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.4

I would stay here again. Relaxing, free soup at 6, and breakfast in the morning. Nice staff - informative of hikes in the area. Comfortable beds, and just okay wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Really great and helpful staff who were really driven to please. Beautiful place kept well clean with good facilities and shop just around the corner. Easygoing and sweet as great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • willcaspari5337
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Brilliant hostel, location, hot tub, WiFi, fully equipped kitchen with games etc. Definitely best in area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel! I was greeted by name when I got there, offered gummy worms and lots of free things! Free popcorn, free soup at 6pm, free breakfast and free wifi. I will say though that the wifi was pretty awful and rarely worked as I think so many people were on it, but with the rest of the things to do, I'd definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Pipearaya
  • Chile, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

best hostel, great staff they have, i am so happy to found that place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.7

Genuinely my favourite hostel in nz, such a lovely chilled atmosphere there and the staff (benjamin and primrose) who were working when i was there were so friendly!! The free breakfast and soup are a godsend as well! Definitely would recommend a night or two there!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.