Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Gojo Guest House Located at 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto.
Gojo Guest House
Japan
Kyoto 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku
94% 703
34.9953133 135.7721328
Gojo Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Shirley at the front who checked me in was so helpful and really made my stay. Really cool place to stay at in Kyoto and close to a lot of good shops and restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.9

Fantastic guesthouse! We loved it here. Very cosy and traditional. The location is very good, close to the tempel area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.9

Totally recommend this place! Staff is very helpful and friendly. It was amazing to sleep in a very japanese style room with the tatami on the floor. Very quiet environment too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

I had a very good time staying at the Gojo guesthouse. The staff was very nice and super helpful the hostel has a traditional feel to it that was very nice also! I recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Quaint hostel, well located. Staff were friendly and helpful. Clean, traditional style rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent guesthouse! I really enjoyed my stay. The building itself is very lovely, an old, wooden Japanese-style home. The rooms are very spacious and the downstairs cafe area is quite charming and comfortable. Everything is very clean. The staff is truly the highlight, though! So friendly and helpful. I only wish I could have stayed longer. Thanks Gojo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

I had a great time staying at Gojo Guest House and recommend staying here if you are in Kyoto. The staff are the most friendly and helpful you will ever meet. The location is really nice and the price more than reasonable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel is a nice change of pace from the usual 'bunk bed' scenario. The rooms are basically open plan but it's cool, the pictures are basically as is... The guys at the front desk are really easy going and good to help out! The cooking facilities aren't much so if you're planning on cooking your own food it'll be a stretch. That being said, location is pretty decent, especially for some of the key places in Kyoto! Would recommend to a friend - solid hostel/ guest house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved this place. The atmosphere is authentically Japan. The staff was really friendly and helpful whenever we asked questions. Although it was a little more expensive than we planned, we got a huge room to ourselves (private double bed) which consisted of two Japanese style mattresses. The hallways were a little narrow but I think that was part of the charm. You had to pay 300 yen for breakfast but it included a huge piece of toast with jam or honey and your choice of drink. I love it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Gojo guest house was a great place to stay while in Kyoto. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (and all spoke English well). They even helped me extend my stay by 3 nights! The breakfast they provide for 300 yen is a great deal (especially if you're tired of 7-11 for breakfast), and the cafe is an excellent place to grab a beer and plan your adventures for the next day. The decor provides an authentic Japanese feel to the house, which adds to the magic of Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.