Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
Gojo Guest House Located at 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto.
Gojo Guest House
Japan
Kyoto 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku
94% 690
34.9953133 135.7721328
Gojo Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel is a nice change of pace from the usual 'bunk bed' scenario. The rooms are basically open plan but it's cool, the pictures are basically as is... The guys at the front desk are really easy going and good to help out! The cooking facilities aren't much so if you're planning on cooking your own food it'll be a stretch. That being said, location is pretty decent, especially for some of the key places in Kyoto! Would recommend to a friend - solid hostel/ guest house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved this place. The atmosphere is authentically Japan. The staff was really friendly and helpful whenever we asked questions. Although it was a little more expensive than we planned, we got a huge room to ourselves (private double bed) which consisted of two Japanese style mattresses. The hallways were a little narrow but I think that was part of the charm. You had to pay 300 yen for breakfast but it included a huge piece of toast with jam or honey and your choice of drink. I love it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Gojo guest house was a great place to stay while in Kyoto. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (and all spoke English well). They even helped me extend my stay by 3 nights! The breakfast they provide for 300 yen is a great deal (especially if you're tired of 7-11 for breakfast), and the cafe is an excellent place to grab a beer and plan your adventures for the next day. The decor provides an authentic Japanese feel to the house, which adds to the magic of Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michelelo6275
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.6

My stay at Gojo Guesthouse was good. The beds were confortable and the common area was big and nice! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the Men Toilet on the top floor was a bit annoying as it started to stink... and the kitchen is just there. Besides of that it is clean and i would stay there as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.4

A wonderful friendly place with helpful staff. Great location and easy to find. Definitely recommend staying at Gojo Guest House.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
10.0

The Gojo Guest House was an excellent choice for exploring Kyoto. The dormitory room I stayed in felt clean and safe, while the cafe downstairs was an excellent way to get a quick breakfast in the morning (toast and a drink for 300 yen). I would highly recommend this property to young people who want to spend a couple days in Kyoto on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Very friendly and cosy environment :) thanks so much to the team at Gojo Guesthouse!! Thank You!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • brorbs
  • Denmark, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Best place we've stayed so far! Super friendly staff, cheap an delicious food and very neat japanese interior with spartan but sufficient and nice facilities. Would definately recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Had a great time at Gojo guesthouse. I loved staying in the classic japanese style dorm. I would note however it is not a party place and could be a bit challenging to meet people if your a solo traveller. I was lucky to meet some girls in my room so it depends who's staying there at the time. Otherwise wonderful experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff was awesome. I would come back solely for them! They had a great restaurant recommendation, were very nice and super laid back! I met a few people at the hostel and ended up having a great time with them around Kyoto. I don't want to ruin the surprise but you get a free drink coupon when you arrive, which I used for a refreshing beer :D I would have stayed for all 3 nights I was in Kyoto but they were all booked :( a few others were in the same boat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.