Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 809 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 809 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ekblack1910
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th May 2017
10.0

An excellent stay in a cute machiya. Staff are friendly and helpful, location is quite convenient, and the value was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 71 reviews
17th May 2017
9.4

Staff are the nicest. All of them are really considerate and caring. The hostel is incredibly beautiful and simple, I felt at home. The common area downstairs with the coffee place is nice to meet people or just to work and chill. The beds are japanese style, which I loved. Wifi works great and it's close to stores and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
8.3

Very good hostel, very well located and with a good astmosphere and a great staff. :-) The facilities could be in a better state but it is still fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.7

Great location- within walking distance of the river and Gion while not being crazy touristy. The building itself is really cool and there's a cafe downstairs where you can get discounts on drinks. Staff is v friendly. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel. The traditional japanese home was a great touch to add the right atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was easy to meet new people. The facilities weren't as modern as other great hostels, but it was an old house. Everything was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • akakoussian
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2017
10.0

I had a great experience staying in this traditional guest house. Facilities were kept clean, staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions, and you're a 15 minute walk away from some of the nearby attractions. They have a cafe downstairs you can chill at, and it's easy to meet other travelers as well. I would definitely stay here next time I am in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • akitsuji8916
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
9.4

The best for Gojo Guest house is the staff who make travelers very comfortable and make us feel at home. It was a very interesting experience for me to stay at the very old Japanese house converted to a youth hostel. The location was very good, very close to the center of Kyoto. I stayed for 5 days at a dormitory room this time. When I have a chance to go back to Kyoto with my wife, I'll reserve a private room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2017
10.0

This is the one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Japanese style beds were very comfortable. The cafe/bar downstairs was a cozy and a great space for meet other guests. Great location, the area is within walking distance of Gion. I would definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

Staff are very good at their jobs, clean, for me bed situation was not good at all. Sleeping on hard floor, not my thing, especially for my back and only privacy was a ultra thin half curtain... location not the greatest for the main attractions. 1.5 hr bike ride uphill for the most part to the golden house for example. Pray for good weather.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
3.1

Not a clean hostel. The building is old and the owner doesn't care to renovate at all. The kitchen is not clean at all, and generally appliances are not usable. The staff were generally fine but when we described the condition they turned into very rude people. We stayed at another hostel the day after and it was much better, so technically this is not a good hostel in Kyoto.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.