Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Pros: the best hostel or Inn I've stayed in. We had a blast! Traditional lodging mixed with a great atmosphere. All the staff were so so friendly!! LOVED IT! Cons: The kitchen was a bit small, and oven difficult to use....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Amazing real local feeling!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
10.0

Gojo house made my trip in Kyoto! The staff are not only accommodating but genuinely kind and cool people you will want to hang out with. Other guests were also interesting and welcoming which made for a great overall vibe. While the facilities are nice, the main attraction of Gojo house is hands down the people. Cannot recommend enough, especially for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HannahMorag21
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

Such a lovely hostel! The Futons were so comfortable! And everyone was so friendly! Beautiful old house as well! Would definitely come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
10.0

A lovely cosy guesthouse! Great staff who are welcoming on arrival and helpful throughout your stay. Ask for their advice because they are well-informed and generous with their knowledge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.7

I ADORE this place. The staff is incredibly helpful, easily the best book exchange I've seen so far on my travels (a huge plus) and the cafe/bar is amazing, so atmospheric and so cozy. It's really fun to stay in a traditional Japanese dorm as well. Highly recommend, would love to come back here when I make it back to Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice traditional guesthouse with a backpacker feel to it. The staff are absolutely amazing (especially Shiori!). Common areas and bathrooms are very cold in the winter as they are not heated (but that seems to be the norm for guesthouses in Japan).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

Nice staff and nice atmosphere. Moreover, the room and toilets and bathrooms are clean. Near the convenience store. I recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
10.0

First of all, staff was super amazing! They were the first friends I made at this wonderful hostel. Very helpful, they helped facilitate meeting other travelers. The accommodation is really cool too, as it's in traditional Japanese style. Gojo is next to some blockbuster shrines and conveniently located next to public to transport. Really stands out as one of the best places I've stayed in my trips, and I think that is owed to the wonderful staff and environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Great place to stay. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and an overall solid guesthouse. I'd definitely recommend this place if your in Kyoto for a few nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.