Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 757 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 757 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
Gojo Guest House Located at 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto.
Gojo Guest House
Japan
Kyoto 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku
94% 757
34.9953133 135.7721328
Gojo Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
10.0

A lovely cosy guesthouse! Great staff who are welcoming on arrival and helpful throughout your stay. Ask for their advice because they are well-informed and generous with their knowledge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice traditional guesthouse with a backpacker feel to it. The staff are absolutely amazing (especially Shiori!). Common areas and bathrooms are very cold in the winter as they are not heated (but that seems to be the norm for guesthouses in Japan).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.7

Nice staff and nice atmosphere. Moreover, the room and toilets and bathrooms are clean. Near the convenience store. I recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
10.0

First of all, staff was super amazing! They were the first friends I made at this wonderful hostel. Very helpful, they helped facilitate meeting other travelers. The accommodation is really cool too, as it's in traditional Japanese style. Gojo is next to some blockbuster shrines and conveniently located next to public to transport. Really stands out as one of the best places I've stayed in my trips, and I think that is owed to the wonderful staff and environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Great place to stay. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and an overall solid guesthouse. I'd definitely recommend this place if your in Kyoto for a few nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.7

Very friendly staff which helps to create a good atmosphere. The dorms are spacious, nice and relaxed common room area where you can get a drink and relax.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

The next time I go back to Kyoto I'm definitely staying at Gojo Guesthouse. The atmosphere was so warm and the staff so friendly and inviting. They even arranged a gathering at midnight on New Years at a nearby temple for the guests! Such chill vibes, good coffee and great food and all at an affordable price! They provided great food recommendations around the area and assisted in reservations in Japanese. Can't rave enough! Best guesthouse experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.7

I had the best time at Gojo. The staff were so lovely and went out of their way to make me feel at home. I was lucky enough to be there over New Years where they took us took the temple to ring the bell. The common area was a great place to meet other travelers and also share a drink or two. The rooms and facilities were always very spacious and clean. I really enjoyed my stay at Gojo and couldn't recommend it any higher!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
10.0

This was by far the most enjoyable stay I ever had in a guest house or youth hostel. The staff was amazing; they were welcoming, funny and insanely helpful. They really made me feel at home. I went there during the New Year festivities and was pleased to learn that they had planned some activities to acquaint visitors with Japanese traditions. I cannot recommend this place enough, it was simply wonderful. Thank you for making my visit to Kyoto so memorable :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
9.7

The hostel had several complimentary activities including a mochi making party and a trip to ring a temple bell for the new year. The common area on the first floor is really conducive to socializing and the atmosphere and staff are really friendly. I only spoke Japanese with the staff, but their English sounded very good. There is no central heating, which is not uncommon in Japan, but you should be prepared for very cold wood floors during the winter. Overall a fantastic experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.