Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Gojo Guest House Located at 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto.
Gojo Guest House
Japan
Kyoto 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku
94% 675
34.9953133 135.7721328
Gojo Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2016
10.0

The Gojo Guest House was an excellent choice for exploring Kyoto. The dormitory room I stayed in felt clean and safe, while the cafe downstairs was an excellent way to get a quick breakfast in the morning (toast and a drink for 300 yen). I would highly recommend this property to young people who want to spend a couple days in Kyoto on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Very friendly and cosy environment :) thanks so much to the team at Gojo Guesthouse!! Thank You!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • brorbs
  • Denmark, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Best place we've stayed so far! Super friendly staff, cheap an delicious food and very neat japanese interior with spartan but sufficient and nice facilities. Would definately recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Had a great time at Gojo guesthouse. I loved staying in the classic japanese style dorm. I would note however it is not a party place and could be a bit challenging to meet people if your a solo traveller. I was lucky to meet some girls in my room so it depends who's staying there at the time. Otherwise wonderful experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff was awesome. I would come back solely for them! They had a great restaurant recommendation, were very nice and super laid back! I met a few people at the hostel and ended up having a great time with them around Kyoto. I don't want to ruin the surprise but you get a free drink coupon when you arrive, which I used for a refreshing beer :D I would have stayed for all 3 nights I was in Kyoto but they were all booked :( a few others were in the same boat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

Staff was helpful and friendly. Hostel was flavorful with the decorations and interior. Close to main attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
9.7

My first time in Kyoto was a great one thanks to Gojo. I only stayed two nights, but when I return to Kyoto I will definitely look into staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.1

I loved my stay at Gojo. The hostel is in a great location to see the major temples and sites in Southern Higashiyama, and is convenient via public transport to other places in Kyoto. The staff are fantastic and super helpful, and I met lots of other travelers during my stay. Will definitely stay here when I'm back in Kyoto!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

I say this without exaggeration: You would be stupid not to spend your time at Gojo. The best accommodations I've had in Japan by far. All the staff are excellent, kind individuals and loads of fun. Conveniently located south of Gion, it's an easy walk to a lot of cool sites. Accommodations are affordable, clean, cozy and very welcoming. But really, what takes the cake are the staff and the atmosphere they've cultivated. No complaints, but tons of great memories. 10/10 Yabai

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.