Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 788 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 788 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Apr 2017
3.1

Not a clean hostel. The building is old and the owner doesn't care to renovate at all. The kitchen is not clean at all, and generally appliances are not usable. The staff were generally fine but when we described the condition they turned into very rude people. We stayed at another hostel the day after and it was much better, so technically this is not a good hostel in Kyoto.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.0

Enjoyable stay, close to the Gion district so was great to walk around and see that part of Tokyo. Staff helpful and very lovely

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel is set in a traditional style, with wooden floors and sliding doors. The staff were very nice to help travelers get to know Kyoto. The location is convenient, as train stations are 5-10 minutes away by walking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.0

Great style and atmosphere but the dorms leave very little intimacy. Futons in the same room with small curtains to divide them

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

This place was so warm and nice! The staff is so gracious and helpful! There are many interesting people to meet and I really felt at home, even though I only had one night! it's very close to buses and gion district! Also, they make great coffee;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful little gem. Very old Japanese house in a great location of Kyoto. They've kept it rustic, but it's certainly clean and well maintained. Lovely cafe downstairs that does a nice breakfast (didn't get to try lunch or dinner, but the menu looked good). Most of all, the staff are wonderful, warm and friendly. Overall, a very charming experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Super lively atmosphere! Mets lots of fantastic people from all over the world. The staff working there were very helpful and friendly. The sleeping arrangements were very comfortable and the room style was very unique! Showers were hot, beer was good, great location, breakfast cheap and excellent, what more could you ask for! I will definitely be staying here on my next visit to Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katharbord
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved it here! One of the best places I stayed during my whole time in Japan. Stayed for 3 nights and was genuinely sad to leave! Such a homely feel with amazing friendly staff who felt just like friends. Overall a great hostel for socialising & with a fab little bar. Beautiful traditional house that is fab for getting into the Kyoto vibe (can get cold at night but to be expected with an old building). V.clean & with everything you could need, & close to trains & buses. Perfect!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.4

The staff were so lovely, the lounge was super relaxed, and there were loads of great restaurants within walking distance. I stayed in the twin room for three nights and found the whole place to be clean and comfortable. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Pros: the best hostel or Inn I've stayed in. We had a blast! Traditional lodging mixed with a great atmosphere. All the staff were so so friendly!! LOVED IT! Cons: The kitchen was a bit small, and oven difficult to use....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.