Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ryanmar3339506
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

I was a little skeptical at first as they had no reviews, but as they explain it was because they had just opened a month ago. Its located very close to kyobashi station which has a decent night light and close to Osaka castle and about 20 minutes to dontonburi station. The staff are nice and helpful, its quiet and the beds are nice, the hostel has a ninja/samurai theme. You can also try on some samurai armor and try a traditional Japanese bath.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.7

This hostel was great! It's traditional Japanese style - mats on the floor, not a lot of privacy, etc, but the environment is one of the cutest out of any hostel I've stayed in. Clean good showers, normal toilets downstairs and squat toilets upstairs, very cute common area with delicious matcha tea. Offers a laundry area and kitchen area. No free breakfast; paid for breakfast is very simple.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel, staff was super friendly and made us feel welcomed. The hostel itself was really nice and beautiful. Will stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.7

It's the best hostel that I've ever been, it's clean and the little house is comfortable, the staff is amazing, super friendly and helpful. The location is very good, just 10 minutes walking and you're in Gion or Kiyomizudera templeI, also you've a lot of transport stations near . When you arrive the staff gives you a map and they help you to find the best spots. The little Japanese style house is a plus and they make you feel at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
9.7

Most relaxing atmosphere. Staff was very accommodating. Mattress not the most comfortable but loved waking up and going downstairs and ordering a cup of coffee and a slice of toast for 300 yen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing place! If you are thinking about staying in Kyoto but not sure where yet, this is the place! Fantastic staff, great places to cook your own food, beautiful rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
10.0

My stay at Gojo was absolutely amazing! It's close to the bus stops and the subway station, walking distance to the kiyomizu temple. The common area is so nice and clean. They have a bar/cafe where you get a drink coupon for free when you first arrive. The japanese style rooms were comfortable to stay in. The staff was very helpful and kind. I would definitely stay there again if I come back to Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ekblack1910
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th May 2017
10.0

An excellent stay in a cute machiya. Staff are friendly and helpful, location is quite convenient, and the value was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 71 reviews
17th May 2017
9.4

Staff are the nicest. All of them are really considerate and caring. The hostel is incredibly beautiful and simple, I felt at home. The common area downstairs with the coffee place is nice to meet people or just to work and chill. The beds are japanese style, which I loved. Wifi works great and it's close to stores and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
8.3

Very good hostel, very well located and with a good astmosphere and a great staff. :-) The facilities could be in a better state but it is still fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.