Hostelworld.com

Gojo Guest House

  • 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
Gojo Guest House Located at 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto.
Gojo Guest House
Japan
Kyoto 3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku
93% 657
34.9953133 135.7721328
Gojo Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.1

I loved my stay at Gojo. The hostel is in a great location to see the major temples and sites in Southern Higashiyama, and is convenient via public transport to other places in Kyoto. The staff are fantastic and super helpful, and I met lots of other travelers during my stay. Will definitely stay here when I'm back in Kyoto!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

I say this without exaggeration: You would be stupid not to spend your time at Gojo. The best accommodations I've had in Japan by far. All the staff are excellent, kind individuals and loads of fun. Conveniently located south of Gion, it's an easy walk to a lot of cool sites. Accommodations are affordable, clean, cozy and very welcoming. But really, what takes the cake are the staff and the atmosphere they've cultivated. No complaints, but tons of great memories. 10/10 Yabai

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
10.0

Clean rooms & showers, a few craft beers behind the bar, amazingly friendly & knowledgeable staff with good English. Had a great 6 night stay. We hired bikes for 500Y from reception to explore the city. Great location. Just be sure to get the right Gojo. They have two properties and sometimes google leads you to the annex rather than the cafe/hostel! Celebrated my 30th birthday here and one of the staff gave us some celebratory sake which was a lovely gesture. Recommend to anyone. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Favourite hostel in my time backpacking in Japan, awesome staff members stands out as the top reason - One of the guys makes incredibly good Matcha! Very nice aesthetic to the building and the futons are very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

Such a cool, authentic Japanese hostel. Met some cool people there and all the staff were really lovely and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

You must have a try this old style house. Staff very nice and helpful. Will go back next time~~

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is a hidden treasure. The decor is so nice and traditional! Our room was a ryokan type so we had futons as beds, very comfortable! The room was cozy and big! There is little nice details in the decor everywhere around this place. Staff is super helpful and friendly we had a free ice tea when we got there as we just looked so tired :) breakfast is not included but you can pay for it at a low price - tasty toast with coffe! Loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
10.0

Very clean and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly, a very quiet hostel were you can chill and read a book, defiantly recommend it to anyone travelling

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic guesthouse with a great atmosphere. All of the staff were really friendly, and the cafe area is great for getting to know the other guests. The futon was really comfortable, and the curtains provide a little privacy. The bike rental was a convenient way to get around town, and they just got new bikes! The location is convenient, you can walk to points of interest like Kiyomizudera and Gion, and there are also busses and trains nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.