Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gold Coast Calm Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1883 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1883 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Gold Coast is in a great location in Old Town Lagos, walking distance from essentially everything. The staff is nice and accommodating, but they do not operate the desk 24 hours. Rooms are very basic and do not have outlets next to each bed. Bathrooms are nice and individual but could be a bit cleaner. Great free breakfast. It's fun to hang out at the terrace upstairs; great place to meet people and socialize before going out at night, but it closes at 12. Really small lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.9

Lovely staff and clean facilities. There are plenty of showers, and you actually have the whole bathroom to get ready (not like some hostels where you try to dry in a cubicle). Breakfast was awesome with boiled eggs, hummus and toast. The communal areas are open until 12am, so there was always a lot of socialising before that (which makes sleeping before midnight difficult) - but after this time it is quiet. Rooms are air conditioned which was a life saver!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Nice atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it. I would love to come back there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
9.1

I stayed in Gold Coast for my time in Lagos and it was a pleasant experience. All of the staff was very nice and welcoming. One of the ladies wasn't as warm, but I just minimized my interaction with her. Great Location to walk quickly to various restaurants and shops. The wifi was GREAT, strong, and available on each floor. I really liked the bathrooms and the upkeep. Adrianna was very sweet :) There are lockers for your stuff, but they are small, so only good for storing documents!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Great Hostel! Safe and clean, great staff. Close to bars but very quiet! Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.4

Great location, great staff. Got a welcome shot from El Capitano (nice dude, owner). Met some very cool people and did some awesome stuff around Town. Overall one of the best hostels I've stayed. Oh, they have free breakfast too, with eggs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Emma-Josh
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jun 2017
8.9

Such a great place with the most friendly and helpful staff! Simple rooms and no big storage lockers, but there are small safes for valuables which is just fine. We met some awesome people while staying here, and it's really close walking distance to everything. I would recommend! Loved the sangria in the evening!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • oscarwright
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Great place for any type of traveller. Staff work hard to accommodate your needs, big thanks to manuela!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Been to a lot of hostels and this was the best. Felt like being at home and sad to leave. Atmosphere was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kasia333
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th May 2017
8.0

Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms decent sized, lots of bathrooms throughout the place as well. It's located in the historic district of Lagos, super close to the beaches. Breakfast was nothing special but there was lots of it. The lockers are tiny and not located in the rooms, and the beds had no privacy screens, and lacked a plug and lamp for each bed so that was frustrating. Kitchen and rooftop closes at midnight which is also annoying. Overall a nice spot, don't think I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.