Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Golden Gobi

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 676 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 676 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
Golden Gobi Located at Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, , Ulaanbaatar.
Golden Gobi
Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar 976-11 Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building
88% 676
47.9175212 106.9079375
Golden Gobi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • justhappened6595
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.3

Very central location and helpful staff. Other than some squeaky beds, the facilities were also great. The tours arranged from the hostel were pretty inexpensive and well handled. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing place to meet new people. The hostel staff is very helpful, especially the owner. Awesome breakfast as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.3

The hostel itself was ok, but that staff were very hit and miss and at times even bordering on rude. I know this was a busy time but this aspect needs to be better managed. The 8 day gobi tour was an incredible experience. Mongolia is a beautiful country, but the guide, Uunaa was disappointing. She spent A LOT of time talking in Mongolian to the driver. We were an afterthought. One guest told her this. Customer service NEEDS to be better if this hostel is to maintain its reputation

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
7.4

The Golden Gobi is in my opinion a bit too touristic and professional for a Mongolian hostel. The general feeling from senior staff is: we are in it for the money. The regular staff, showers and location are great. Good: - Tour itinery ticks all the boxes. Driver and guide are marvellous. Bad: - They canceled our confirmed booking. If insisting they help find another hostel - A taxi to the airport is T35000 instead of the regular T20000, which made me wonder about the tour

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Fabulous...one of the best hostels i have stayed. The best part mamma and the crew in the kitchen ...at reception...and in tour guide office. Well done you create good homely feel for Mongolian experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nioe
  • Switzerland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice guesthouse. All dorm entry doors are secured with a digital number lock. Also the toilets and showers seem to be quite new. In the public area you can get in touch with other backpackers easily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.1

First thing I noticed were the excellent showers downstairs, such a relief after flight delays etc.! Great atmosphere, breakfast is a good time to meet people in the little upstairs reception/kitchen area. Lockers are available to put valuables in while you're out in the city. The reviews are right however, when we chose to book our tour with another hostel (Sunpath) suddenly they no longer had any beds available for our final night in UB and we were glad to leave the next day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th May 2016
9.1

Clean hostel with helpful staff. Breakfast incl. one egg which is nice. The owner ogi also runs a tour agency from the hostel. Good place for meeting other travellers to do a joint tour with them across mongolia. Mongolia is not hugely touristy so might only be 1 or 2 more people on your tour of mongolia. People from different hostels even came here to book their tours. Common area is fairly decent. Can meet other travellers here but hostel could improve sociability by organising evening events.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sjtait3925
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th May 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. A very well organised guesthouse with plenty of staff who make you feel at ease. I met lots of interesting people there. Went on one of their tours with a very nice english speaking guide. I definitely want to go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2016
8.6

Good stay here in a dorm room. Shower facilities and common room were nice and rooms had all we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.