Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Gobi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Golden Gobi Located at Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, , Ulaanbaatar.
Golden Gobi
Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar 976-11 Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building
85% 723
47.9175212 106.9079375
Golden Gobi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Plus side is, it is in the heart of the city. Down side of it: there is no hunger in the bathrooms. If you want to have a shower, you have to leave all your clothes outside and enter the bathroom naked! No soups or shampoo provided. Now towels either! Guests are not allowed to wash their cloths and hang them in their rooms. But a few German men can bring their alcoholic drinks to the hostel and drink them until they are drunk and talk loudly in the middle of the night. Breakfast is repetitive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.7

Highly recommended, the best hostel in Ulan-bator! Central location, free pick up in train station, friendly people, clean and cosy. The hostel organizes short and long tours that are nice and genuine. If I come back here, I will choose this hostel for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Really great hostel! Staff are all brilliant and helpful. Tours are customisable and cheapest we found anywhere and we a great time with or guide and driver. Free beakfast on a morning is great eggs and toast, jams etc. Free tea and coffee is always a plus! Only criticism is the common area gets really busy morning and night because of tours and size and a few times there was no hot water in the showers. But loved it here!! wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thank you Ogie and Bob!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Only downside is really bad Wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Aug 2016
4.3

Golden Gobi has ok facilities, great location, very poor wifi, basic breakfast, no lockers and a awful staff. I would definitely not recommend staying there, there's a lot of better hostels in UB. Only good side is that you easily find other travellers to team up there. But you can achieve the same result by just hanging around the place... I've witnessed the staff being very rude with customers and pretending to be fully booked in order to drive customers that don't book tours with them out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel in good location. Good base for touring and meeting others who want to tour. Wifi is a big problem. Unreliable and slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel--the driver picked me up at the airport despite my late night flight being delayed several hours (he had to sleep in his car--I tipped extra but still feel bad about that). The greatest strength of this hostel is their ability to quickly set up customized tours at a good cost with a local guide/driver. Centrally located, walking distance to everything in UB. All of the staff spoke English.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Great location just off Peace Avenue. It has a really friendly and homely feel and it's a great place to have a few drinks and meet people. The staff were great, shout out to Erika in particular! Really enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.0

Good for Mongolia. Probably need more staff, they were always so busy it was hard to ask them anything (very friendly and helpful though). Had a private room, was extremely hot, two little windows up high, even just a fan would have helped circulate the air

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jul 2016
7.4

nice place to staying - clean, good location, lots of people so good to meet partners for the trip. the stuff wasn't so nice and got the feeling they just wanna to sell you their tours

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.