Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Gobi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Golden Gobi Located at Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, , Ulaanbaatar.
Golden Gobi
Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar 976-11 Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building
84% 738
47.9175212 106.9079375
Golden Gobi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel. The staff is super friendly. Facilities are clean. We also went on a tour for 12 days around Mongolia. Absolutely spectacular. Bogie was the guide and made is very special for us. Of u can ask for Ogie as the driver. He is the best. Totally recommended the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Oct 2016
8.9

It was a very nice place to stay, comfortable, great location, and we had beakfast included every day (eggs, bread, marmelade, coffee, tea). They offer a variety of organized tours as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
7.4

I have really mixed feelings about my stay at Golden Gobi. On the hand it was an absolutely amazing hostel with friendly staff, free breakfast served according to what you wish, and free pickup and drop-off service from the train station. On the hand, however the facilities were not especially impressive - one day the toilet didn't work, the other day it was the shower and hot water was a rarity. I would however wholeheartedly recommend their travel/tour-services as the were impeccable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.9

Great location can walk everywhere easily. We went on the tour to the national park and gengis khan statue and it was really great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
5th Oct 2016
9.1

The hostel overall was great. We hired a driver through the hostel and did the Gobi and had an amazing time. The thing I did not like about the hostel was that the showers and toilets downstairs have frosted glass for windows and doors. This makes going to the bathroom downstairs a bit awkward if someone is right next to you doing the same thing. There is a private shower/toilet upstairs though. Also there was no handsoap at the downstairs sinks most of the time we were there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
8.6

I really like this hostel. The staff helped set up cheap tours because they put guests together to save money on drivers. Wifi worked half the time. Showers were gross and you could basically see through them to the other person in the shower next to you. Beds were okay. Chill room is great and the guests and staff were awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
10.0

Stayed here for a few nights either side of taking a 18 day tour through Golden Gobi. The hostel had everything you needed and the staff were really helpful throughout. Beds were comfortable and clean and the showers were brand new and although needed 5 minutes to warm up were really good afterwards. Wi-fi was a bit patchy if that's important. Would definitely recommend staying here. Also as mentioned above we took an 18 day tour through Golden Gobi which was excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
8.9

Location is excellent near the center of town and the State Department Store. Staff were very helpful in arranging tours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Plus side is, it is in the heart of the city. Down side of it: there is no hunger in the bathrooms. If you want to have a shower, you have to leave all your clothes outside and enter the bathroom naked! No soups or shampoo provided. Now towels either! Guests are not allowed to wash their cloths and hang them in their rooms. But a few German men can bring their alcoholic drinks to the hostel and drink them until they are drunk and talk loudly in the middle of the night. Breakfast is repetitive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.7

Highly recommended, the best hostel in Ulan-bator! Central location, free pick up in train station, friendly people, clean and cosy. The hostel organizes short and long tours that are nice and genuine. If I come back here, I will choose this hostel for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.