Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Gobi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 702 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 702 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
Golden Gobi Located at Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, , Ulaanbaatar.
Golden Gobi
Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar 976-11 Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building
88% 702
47.9175212 106.9079375
Golden Gobi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Great location just off Peace Avenue. It has a really friendly and homely feel and it's a great place to have a few drinks and meet people. The staff were great, shout out to Erika in particular! Really enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.0

Good for Mongolia. Probably need more staff, they were always so busy it was hard to ask them anything (very friendly and helpful though). Had a private room, was extremely hot, two little windows up high, even just a fan would have helped circulate the air

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2016
4.9

The staff are not so nice, they don't really reserve the room after your booking- they changed our room and had an attitude like they're doing us a favor.... the breakfast is just dry bread with egg and the service isn't good at all. Not worth your money, go to idre they're better

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You were booked one night only and when you wanted to extend the room of course we had to change your room to other room since your room was booked out for the next arrival. We offer fresh bread every morning with fried egg, butter, jam, chocolate spread and toasted bread. The bread isn't dry or old and we just offer toasted one since most people love it that way. The tea and coffee is available through out the day and breakfast is between 7am-9am in the morning. We hope to have you back again in the future and all the best to you travel.

31st Jul 2016
7.1

Good location. The staff for the tours are great, the staff that work in the hostel weren't very friendly. I little too big for my personal taste. The wifi was very temperamental, which was extremely frustrating as I was trying to book the next part of my trip. The wifi cannot support the amount of guests they have. They need to get more networks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel in great location. We arrived very early and were greeted with nice breakfast. Breakfast is very nice in comparison to other places with even some eggs. We also appreciated that they didn't pressure us into buying a tour, the staff was really cool. Definitely recommend this place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
9.1

Arrived in Ulaanbaatar with accommodation booked at Golden Gobi but no tour. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. The hotel was spotless and sociable. The staff organised a tour which fitted our criteria and time frame perfectly. Touring in smaller groups and avoiding large touristy places to stay meant that wwe had a fantastic experience. Definitely will use Golden Gobi next time we're in Mongolia. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Note: rating is for the hostel. We were not that happy with the tour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
7.7

PROS: location is perfect, staff was really sweet and helpful, you can def tell they invested money to make a nice place and they have really succeded in doing so. WiFi was ok CONS: they have an absurd rule of closing common areas during night time. I understand the one near the kitchen, but the basement??? There you don't bother any other guest!!! Therefore you need to go to the dorm around midnight maximum, and there is no reading light if you want to stay up. Very annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • justhappened6595
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.3

Very central location and helpful staff. Other than some squeaky beds, the facilities were also great. The tours arranged from the hostel were pretty inexpensive and well handled. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing place to meet new people. The hostel staff is very helpful, especially the owner. Awesome breakfast as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.