Hostelworld.com

Golden Gobi

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Golden Gobi Located at Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, , Ulaanbaatar.
Golden Gobi
Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar 976-11 Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building
89% 651
47.9175212 106.9079375
Golden Gobi
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
7.4

I chose this place because of the price, plus i wanted somekind luggage storing place since i was away most of the time. Pros: Location, price, security in the neighbourhood, hygene was ok. early checkin (8AM) Cons: Sheets were never changed, everytime drivers and guides asked about me they told them i was not staying at the hostel (almost missed my Gobi trip because of that). The owner was even rude to the guide that cam to pick me up. Noisy sometimes. Confusion about the last day/night date

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
9.7

The best of budget hostel.Great location and very Helpful staff especially Jugi,we took 3 days and 2 nights tour with her.she was so helpful,gentle and knowledge.Ulaanbaatar not much thing to see you have to go out if this town we just take trip with this hostel they can arrange with reasonable price (cheaper than other agency that we have seen) this make my trip easy and wonderful.We deffinately come back again.Thanks everybody.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
10.0

Me sentí como en casa en este hostel, el staff es muy amable y existe un ambiente familiar. Recien hicieron modificaciones, más duchas y baños, chill out room, por lo que está muy comodo. La mamá de Ogi es un encanto. El wifi a veces no funciona muy bien. Recomiendo los tour con ellos, yo hice 8 dias Gobi, con la mejor guía y chofer... Boggi y Baggi!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
10.0

An absolutely amazing hostel. I would definitely recommend this spot to others. Staff can get you anywhere in Mongolia. Recently renovated, the bathrooms and hang out area are top notch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.3

Stayed as a couple late April, Golden Gobi collected us from the station and took us to the hostel where although our room wasn't vacated yet (8am) they gave us breakfast and offered use of communal showers. Room was good size and a king bed was very welcome. Location is right in the centre and they also organised a tour for us. Staff are exceedingly good here - from giving tips to organising a massage to booking taxi's back to the train station. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Apr 2016
6.3

Golden Gobi were refurbishing when we stayed, which meant deafening noise from 8am - 10pm. They didn't bother to tell us before arrival, or else we certainly wouldn't have stayed. Some staff were excellent and beds were comfortable but the bathroom (singular - due to refurb) was particularly bad, the shower was terrible. Not what you want when you're going on/coming back from an excursion! They also advertise washing facilities... Which is actually an expensive laundry nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Right in the center of Ulaanbataar, the GOlden Gobi's staff are really helpful, and its one of the nicest single rooms I've stayed at. Like a hotel, but more much affordable. It was too cold to take a gobi desert tour, but I'll strongly consider it when I return, as well as staying at the golden gobi again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2016
10.0

Super cool place, extremely helpful staff. Can't recommend it enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
10.0

Staff were really friendly and will organise trips and tours for you if you ask. The private rooms are in apartments with 2 or 3 rooms and a shared kitchen and bathroom so they're really comfortable. Hostel is right next to state department store so is pretty much in the centre of town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
6th Feb 2016
7.1

Good hostel located in the city center close to everything. They offer free taxi service to pick you up from the train station. When you don`t book a tour with the hostel, the staff can become a bit unfriendly. Nice common room and kitchen. Breakfast is inclusive. No lockers in the dorm, beds were quiet hard. Bathroom was ok, the shower seems in need of renovation. I stayed during New Year`s Celebration and the staff provided great homemade food all the time! A HUGE thanks for that!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.