Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Gobi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
4.0

The staff are the worst that I have ever seen and this makes everything else awful. they are rude and obnoxious, unwilling to help and all they want is your money and for you to a tour. DONT GO THERE!!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.4

Very good hostel and they offer fantastic tours of the country as well. Perfect place to stay in UB and a great company to travel round Mongolia with!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • susanylyoung8058
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
9.1

Staff is wonderfully responsive and helpful. They are very useful for organizing tours of all types. Well located. Showers and toilets very clean. Quiet relaxed common area lounge downstairs. Main floor seating and kitchen a little tight, but it's usable and working area. I highly recommend Golden Gobi!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
9.7

Stayed here going and coming from a trip to Olgii, and they accommodated for our late arrival and departure times. They organized taxis for us and with a few knocks on the door they were awake for us. They're great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel, if you want to explore and get the most out of Mongolia you will want to stay here. The staff are very knowledgable about Mongolia and the trips they provide will give you the experience you want to have, even though I was only there for three nights they found something for me to do outside of the city. The hostel is very well looked after with staff always cleaning and there is a great atmosphere with a good mix of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2017
8.9

The beds are creaking, so that was nog very nice but they made up for that by everything else!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
10.0

We absolutely loved this place. The staff is incredible, breakfast is great -egg cereal toast coffee. Very clean. Right across from state department store so great location. Their tour director Ogi is also amazing. Very knowledgeable gives you the best deal she can find and met all our requests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.7

Golden Gobi was a wonderful hostel and I wish I could have stayed longer. I hadn't intended to go on any of the tours they offer, but when I saw one I couldn't resist, it was arranged for the following morning with minimal fuss, at a very low cost, and it was totally unforgettable. No complaints whatsoever - but something to keep in mind is that the dorm rooms get quite stuffy in hot weather as they don't have air conditioning or much ventilation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
9.7

Super awesome hostel! The staff are great, friendly and nice. Good hostel set-up, I was in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Breakfast was really good. Super close to great museums. I didn't take a tour but everyone I talked to who did said it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
7.1

Recipe for frustration Clean, modern, good social vibe--all too bad given that the hostel exists to funnel travelers into tours. They don't make it easy though, expect to spend hours waiting around the hostel just trying to get ahold of someone who can book you on a tour. To be fair, our guide on the trip was lovely. On top of that, they didn't honor my (prepaid) reservation the night I returned from my tour, and turned me over without consulting me to a cramped and dirty hostel down the road.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.