Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Golden Gobi Reviews

Chingeltei district, 40000 Microdistrict building, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


506 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We stayed here twice - before and after a ger to ger trip. The hostel and its location are good and the pick-up from the train station was really nice. It's a good place to meet fellow travellers and socialise - but the social spaces were often too crowded and showers always busy. Nice brekkie. The main quibble I have with this hostel is that when my companion's camera was stolen from our dorm room, the receptionist was in denial this could happen in his hostel and showed poor social skills.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Julia, Many thanks for staying with us. We have two common rooms for our guests to enjoy and it could get crowded due to peak season of August when you stayed. We try our best to remain clean and provide an excellent service to all of our guests. The FREE lockers are available during your stay and recommend to use it for your own security while staying in dorms. We might have given you such impression as we don't face such problems and sorry for any convenience. All the best! GG guesthouse


Really clean hostel, could not have wished for anything more. I got the impression that the staff (= the family) is cleaning constantly). Though toilet paper was missing a bit quite too often ;) Anyway, the only negative experiences I made were with other travelleres who for some unknown reason were always complaining about the hostel. I could not understand why; we were more than satisfied. It's also a great place to find other travellers for tours (hence sharing the costs).


As soon as we arrived at Golden Gobi hostel, a member of the staff offered us a cup of tea and a seat while we waited to be kindly assisted at the reception. We had a really nice room, a kitchen almost only for us and good advice on what to visit in Mongolia. Amazing hostel with amazing staff!


We stayed two nights at GG, before and after our 8days Khuvsgal lake tour. The hostel itself felt really busy, had to wait long before we could ask something from the staff. This is mostly because the tours they arrange, and I really think you should choose this hostel only if you are going to some tour yourself (and you really should). Tour itself was absolutely great, we had the best driver Bimba (with his amazing car) and two great young guides who made our week fun and easy. Would go again!


A place of reference in Ulanbataar; itis definetly crowded in August, but it gets much more "homey" in September. The facilies were more than good, with an excellent "lounge" with kitchen; though the common computers with access to the internet worked precariously. The staff are a bit eccentric, but on the good sense. They arranged us an excellent ger-to-ger; that indeed I recommend over the regular tours around Mongolia: The one I did was long, overprized and surprisingly monotonous.


We stayed at Golden Gobi for one night only, because we missed our train in Irkutsk. There was a pick up service at the train station for our arrival time, which was quite nice and also for free. Because of our early arrival (7 am) we had to wait for our room. During our waiting period the staff was really nice. They provided us with coffee, tea and breakfast. They had also a guide for getting around on several tours. It is definitely a good place to stay in Ulaanbaatar! We will come back.


When I walked in, the power was out but I did not know it. The staff was running around the dark building with candles and incense. It was the strangest entrance I've ever had into a hostel. Anyway, this hostel is great and is in an amazing central location. The showers are incredible and the rooms have a communal feeling. While the tours are slightly more expensive than a couple other places I found, the staff and efficiency still makes it worth it. This is a great place to stay.


Great hostel! Really nice staff, they can arrange almost everything for you. 5-10min walk to all the important spots in UB. I did the tour to the gobi desert (8nights) and loved it, the driver and the guide were awesome (and the guide also cooked very well). I am traveling alone, so was a bit afraid of not finding anyone to do the tours with, but that was really easy cause they have new people joining tours almost everyday. I recommend it!


Good place to stay till you arranged your trips around the country. Can be very busy during morning hours and in the afternoon! A simple and in general a clean place. Bathrooms could be checked more often so toilet paper wouldn't run out all the time!


I have nothing but good things to say about this place! The saff is so friendly and they know their Mongolia. If you are uncertain about what to do while you're in Mongolia head to this place and they will hook you up with a tour of your liking. A friendly super place, highly recommend it!


Fair and open "price politics" for the tours would be a plus.


I enjoyed my one-night stay at the Golden Gobi. The room was clean and spacious, just what I wanted. Oh, yes! Thank you for the great breakfast!


A good adress but in my opinion the hostel sounds like a factory in summer ! A lot of people paying for tours every minute !!!


The hostel location, staff and atmosphere are excellent, but there aren't enough bathroom for the people and the hour-limit to internet access make us difficult because we're 12 hours difference with our country.


good travelling atmosphere, nice trip with driver, good breakfast

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


very nice hostel, with a rich breakfast. I made a tour and was excellente, with a very good guide! The rules of the hostel are clear, but the guests did a lot of noise after 11 pm and this is a problem, mainly for the rooms near to the reception... but in general its a very good place to stay

1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)

View all Ulaanbaatar Hostels

Please give us your feedback