Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Hill Bungalows

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
2.9

Not worth it's price. Cockroaches, the room smelled like mould, the view was really not nice, the people who worked there weren't friendly either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.9

I enjoyed staying here for my 4 nights in Koh Phi Phi! The pool was a plus! The location is okay... it is nice being away from the busy streets and party area. Although, it is a lot of stairs to climb to get to the hotel. Overall, I had a good experience and enjoyed staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
4.6

Booked two separate (back to back) nights in different rooms at this spot. The first didn't have AC or hot water, but it was in the fine print. My bad. The second night, we booked a "deluxe" room . The AC worked well, but the hot water didn't work. At checkout, no compensation was given because "we should have asked security to come" (and fix it for the second time; it worked only once). We paid a lot extra for this (1800 baht) and it didn't work. Ripoff. Go somewhere else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Feb 2017
7.1

If you want to be close to the main beach but out of the noise and not paying a lot this is a good option. It's 15 minutes walk from the port and up a hill, so get a 'taxi' from the port if you don't want to carry your bags. The bungalows are on a hill above a reservoir. The surroundings are a bit dirty and messy, but the room was clean and perfectly adequate. The pool is nice to have. This is not a luxury option, but if you want somewhere relatively cheap to sleep near the action it is fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
4.9

The staff were fantastic and accommodating. Unfortunately we arrived in torrential rain and were completely drenched. Our room was really humid and damp which made our bed damp and had to sleep in our sleeping bags. We all woke up feeling stuff yesterday and I'll but felt better as soon as we left the room. I imagine in the summer and without rain and damp it would have been lovely. The sun came out the next day and it looked great!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
7.7

Pretty good walking distance from everything but it's not to bad. It's also right by a huge dam that pretty rough looking. You can also see the mountains though and that's great. Workers were all great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cameronpadilla73878
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
7.4

4 of my friends stayed here a couple weeks ago. They offer continental breakfast which means juice, coffee, and tea. I assumed it meant a full breakfast but it was still good! Very nice staff and extremely clean rooms with powerful AC. The place was hard to find but probably because none of us speak Thai. The location isn't terrible, but it also isn't the best. Its facing a dirty dam which kind of smells. It is about a 10 minute walk to town, maybe quicker if you go the back way.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

We booked this place as it was the only room left on the island it seemed, read some reviews complaining about the hill and whatnot. They must have been some lazy people. Its a 4 minute walk from the end of the main strip, and there are maybe 15 steps up to the place. its a breeze. Staff are great, pool is lovely, especially after the walk up and down from the viewpoint it is just next to. Good breakfast and we booked our sunset bat tour with them. Great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
6.3

I stayed at Bungalow room with fan. It is a basic non luxury room, there is a bed and one desk nothing more. Bathroom is divided by a wall. There is no housekeeping, it was not cleaned during 3 night stay. My room had the good view, you could see the bay. Location is ok, you need to walk uphill but Phi&Phi is a small island, you can walk everywhere easily. Overall for what you are paying (hostel bed price) you are getting it back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.6

Some staff were quite grumpy, but great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.