Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Tram 242 Lisbon Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
7.7

Fantastic location, comfy, clean beds, great breakfast and good WiFi. Not much of an atmosphere and reception weren't particularly friendly or offered any info.. Showers could have been designed differently. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • carloscarabelli9406
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.1

The hostel is well located and comfortable. The staff is nice but definetely the owner should learn to behave better with his employees and with customers if not there won't be good vibe in this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gianna_mh6337
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
3.1

In this hostel there are a few things that are not as one expects. The bathrooms and showers are not clean, the sockets in the room are not working and the security is bad mainly because of the bad organisation of the hostel. Above all, the very impolite manager and reception staff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • lulirp9503
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2017
7.1

The location is excellent. The rooms and facilities are fine. The hostel is good. Upon my arrival they said that the bed that I had booked was not available and that they couldn't offer me another bed in another room because the hostel was full. After discussing for a while they gave me a bed in a different room and did not consider the payment I made previously

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
4.6

The duvets absolutely reeked of the sweat from previous guests. I asked the staff if it was possible to change the duvet and they refused claiming it smelled "fresh". There was only one toilet for men and one for women and there was no window or ventilation for the toilets, so it was stuffy and smelled horrible. The showers were ok, but most shower head fixutres were broken and you had to told the shower heads. They definitely need to work on the cleanliness.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
6.6

The hostel is well located, right n from of the San Justa Elevator in the heart of Lisbon. Too big for my taste though, as a solo traveler I didn't feel so comfortable. No atmosphere at all and chaotic organization, in my dorm it happened not ony once in 4 days that someone came and her room was alrady taken by someone else because of the wrong bed assignment and she had to take whichever bed available at the moment. When it comes to the cleanliness neither this was perfect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • alha03824834
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
7.1

The night staff was quite friendly, but the receptionist during the day was very unhelpful and standoffish. Dorms were hot and crowded, and boys were brought into the female dorm rooms. Bathrooms could use some ventilation. The atmosphere was not as lively and inviting as other hostels in the area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jun 2017
6.3

This hostel is very dingy, the stairwell is very tight and dark and the bedrooms are small. I'd booked two beds for myself and my friend and when we arrived they had us in different rooms. When I asked why the lady at reception said that the booking guantees the bed not the room, so my friend and I were in separate rooms. The breakfast, kitchen and dining room are nice but that's about it. I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
9.7

Fabulous location. Close to pingo dock supermarket if you want to cook your own meals. If not there are lots of little spots for food close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.