X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gongkaew Chiangmai Home Reviews

5/2 Singharath Soi 3 Tumbol Sriphoom, Muang District, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
974 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

We left the hostel in the very early morning. As the staff was not able to speak or understand any English, it was not possible to receive our deposit for the key back.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a wonderful stay, the staff were extremely helpful and kind, I stayed in a private en-suite room and it was very nice and very clean. The first few nights were quite quiet but then more people arrived and had more fun! Would defo recommend!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Good enough!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Has a really nice covered outdoors social area with free tea, coffee and toast on offer. Bathrooms and dorm rooms are clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.


80%

I was a bit disappointed when i saw my room. Unfortunately there were ants in the bathroom, hiding between the tiles. These ants we walking in the sink and the shower. Nothing too crazy but i did not expect that in a 91% rated hostel. Very nice is the bar and and hangout area in front of the main building, where you can have beers and meet other travelers. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This place was amazing! It is set in beautiful gardens with lots of comfy seating and tables to relax in the sun. The staff were friendly, though not all spoke English. The bungalows are cosy and well maintained. We stayed in a bungalow one night and then in a large studio apartment for 4 nights as the bungalows were fully booked. We extended our stay here several times as we enjoyed it so much! Excellent value for money and would definitely recommend!


97%

Amazing!! Homey and great location. Great tour booking

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely hostel. A green space to relax and meet new people would definitely stay there again!


97%

The atmosphere was great! Really chill place surrounded by green in the middle of the old city. The owner was lovely and took time to explain a lot about the city and recommend tours that he thought would please me according to what I wanted. They provide free bread, tea and coffee 24/7, which is great and convenient for the guests. Laundry service is also offered! Lovely place!! Definitely staying there again and recommending to all my friends!


94%

The hostel is very well run, they offer free coffee and tea, and did an excellent job allowing us to rent a motorbike for the two days we were in the city. They even offer transport to the airport to make your stay more comfortable. The hostel was relatively quiet and peaceful and is surrounded by a nice water display in the center of their rooms. If we come to Chiang Mai again we would book here again.


100%

Amazing! Well decorated, perfect location, friendly staff and very easy to rent a motorcycle and discover the town! Best hostel ever!


97%

If you want a more chill experience in a quiet place of town, but still very close to the center of town, it's the perfect spot to stay. Really enjoyed my time there

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall it was nice. It was a bit far from many useful places, but the city itself is quite spread out so you can't really blame them. Staff were friendly and the facilities were very clean.


91%

Great place with friendly and helpful staff. The new rooms are very spacious and clean. Good location too. The place has a good atmosphere. Everything was great and excellent value for money - thank you Gongkaew staff!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the best hostel I have been. Everything is great. If I come back, I will live here again


97%

Very nice place to stay. The only problem was that the water pressure in our ensuite was awful. However, the communal bathrooms and showers were very good.


100%

Perfect hostel. Really nice laid back feel and free toast and tea!!! Would definitely stay again or recommend. Thank you. Bike rental was useful also


83%

Great friendly atmosphere. We booked a few extra nights as we liked it here so much! Dorms and bathrooms were clean, staff were very helpful at arranging trips. Breakfast wasn't included but they have toast and tea all day everyday which was perfect for us! Met a lot of cool people. Market and bars are a bit far but taxis are cheap if you barter or don't mind walking


100%

We stayed here for 3 nights and tried both standard private and deluxe private. Facilities in the deluxe room were superior except for the bed which were the hardest we hard in our whole trip and had unsufficient bedding (kids blanket too short for any adult) Best value with the standard rooms, excellent location in the old town, would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Chiang Mai.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a great hostel! I stay in a twin bed private room and my stay was perfect! They cleaned the room everyday, so it looked more like a hotel instead of a hostel, and they provided us with all the help we need, such as offering us a very cheap car/driver to take us to many places outside the city, and a cheap cab (who was actually the very same driver) who took us to the airport at 4 am on a very cheap price. Great experience!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback