Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Gongkaew was a wonderful retreat in the large city of Chiang Mai. It has a nice sitting area and they've always got toast and tea available, as well as great free breakfast. They do laundry for a small fee, and have super helpful staff always willing to help you. It's a nice little place to relax at the end of a busy day. There's a neat little waterfall with frogs too. Definitely recommend, and would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.1

We loved this place except for the beds. The beds are as if you are sleeping on a rock, and I know beds in Thailand are typically harder than I am used to, but there was no cushion in the bed. Other than that this place was great; good wifi, nice hot showers, nice common area, air con worked well, quiet (minus the frogs, but you get used to them), good breakfast for a hostel, and free coffee, tea, and toast all day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice ambient outside the rooms, inside not much. The worse thing is that lacks good infos about what to do.They booked a taxi that wanted to limite my time of touring, they send me to eat in a hookers place (night bazar) and didn't knew anything about to go to Laos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Had a nice stay. A little disappointed in the accommodations. Didn't feel the pictures online showed the place we actually stayed in. But the area is nice and outdoorsy. The staff is amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mayarataroco4532
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jan 2017
8.3

Location : although inside old city, hotel is located almost at border, thus a bit far from biggest temples. Its very clean and nice place! Ps :if you dont like the sound of the frogs, keep out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
4.3

it is not like the pics.Be careful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • fiodonnell6424
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

A great hostel with a beautiful garden...it doesn't feel like you're in the middle of a city...it's a little oasis with lovely staff and in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Dec 2016
7.7

Nice plase to stay. Staff where nice too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
7.4

On the Western edge of the old town so 25mins to the Eastern gate where most things are. Amazing gardens for chilling out or sunbathing, free toast, tea and coffee all day too. Room clean and with air con, but not cleaned in the 4 nights we spent there which considering the toilet paper situation wasn't great. Would recommend for those not wanting to stay in a loud or busy hostel. Not much meeting other travellers going on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.4

A very nice hostel, after travelling around Thailand this was definitely one of my favourite hotels for me. Firstly the location is very convenient, right in the old town of Chiang Mai. We stayed in a double room with en-suite bathroom. The room was very spacious, and modern feel to it. The rooms of the hostel are scattered in a few different small buildings, then surrouding the buildings is a lovely green area full of grass, trees, water and wildlife. Sit, drink and enjoy the peace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.