Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.3

Location is pretty good as it is inside the old city however it may have been better if it was towards the other side of the square. Staff were fantastic and helped us to organise and activities that we wanted to do. I marked it down slightly for atmosphere but this was only down to us being the only guests staying at the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
8.0

Good facilities, good air conditioning, good part of town. I was the only person in my 8 bed dorm which was kind of weird. Not a good social scene for English e"speakers, many of the people here seemed to be Chinese I was the only westerner which is fine but hard for making friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.3

Good set up and sweet staff. The free coffee and tea and toast was a life saver. It was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay at Gongkaew the rooms and bathrooms were really clean. They had lockers outside the dorm which you could fit your whole bag in if you wanted. My favorite part was they make you breakfast in the morning and can't complain about eggs on toast. Yummy. Plus you get free tea, coffee and toast all day. Added bonus that one when you get the afternoon munchies

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.9

Really great location--easy to get to the old city and a lot of major sites. It's pretty bare bones, but it's clean and the staff is excellent. The free breakfast is also great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
10.0

very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
10.0

This place was great. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The breakfast was also fantastic. The place in general was so amazing, the lush backdrop made you feel that you were in the jungle. The location was great too! All good things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay. Quiet neighborhood, but if it's the bar scene you want it's just a tuk-tuk ride away. Staff is helpful in arranging tours and treks. Rooms are clean, complimentary breakfast. The staff go above and beyond to assist guests. We've been there 2 times now and will return if our travels take us back to Chiang Mai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.