Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2017
8.3

Good set up and sweet staff. The free coffee and tea and toast was a life saver. It was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay at Gongkaew the rooms and bathrooms were really clean. They had lockers outside the dorm which you could fit your whole bag in if you wanted. My favorite part was they make you breakfast in the morning and can't complain about eggs on toast. Yummy. Plus you get free tea, coffee and toast all day. Added bonus that one when you get the afternoon munchies

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.9

Really great location--easy to get to the old city and a lot of major sites. It's pretty bare bones, but it's clean and the staff is excellent. The free breakfast is also great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
10.0

very nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
10.0

This place was great. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The breakfast was also fantastic. The place in general was so amazing, the lush backdrop made you feel that you were in the jungle. The location was great too! All good things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay. Quiet neighborhood, but if it's the bar scene you want it's just a tuk-tuk ride away. Staff is helpful in arranging tours and treks. Rooms are clean, complimentary breakfast. The staff go above and beyond to assist guests. We've been there 2 times now and will return if our travels take us back to Chiang Mai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Gongkaew was a wonderful retreat in the large city of Chiang Mai. It has a nice sitting area and they've always got toast and tea available, as well as great free breakfast. They do laundry for a small fee, and have super helpful staff always willing to help you. It's a nice little place to relax at the end of a busy day. There's a neat little waterfall with frogs too. Definitely recommend, and would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.1

We loved this place except for the beds. The beds are as if you are sleeping on a rock, and I know beds in Thailand are typically harder than I am used to, but there was no cushion in the bed. Other than that this place was great; good wifi, nice hot showers, nice common area, air con worked well, quiet (minus the frogs, but you get used to them), good breakfast for a hostel, and free coffee, tea, and toast all day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice ambient outside the rooms, inside not much. The worse thing is that lacks good infos about what to do.They booked a taxi that wanted to limite my time of touring, they send me to eat in a hookers place (night bazar) and didn't knew anything about to go to Laos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

Had a nice stay. A little disappointed in the accommodations. Didn't feel the pictures online showed the place we actually stayed in. But the area is nice and outdoorsy. The staff is amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.