Hostelworld.com

Gonow Family Backpacker

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
Gonow Family Backpacker Located at 145 vulture street westend, , Brisbane.
Gonow Family Backpacker
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4101 145 vulture street westend
68% 285
-27.4815808 153.0148905
Gonow Family Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Apr 2016
9.1

The staff was always very accomodating considering we didn't exactly make their jobs easy :) Over all it was a nice place and the room was always nice and cool and everything was decently clean! Thank you GoNow!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
5.7

for just everyday aussies that don't have an international passport a current queensland licence should be enough to check in. and hostelworld's website should definitely have a large front page warning about which hostels/backpackers that need a passport to check in as not everyone will read the details tab. i looked for price and location in my search and details like needing a passport to check in should be made clearer when booking through the website

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels i've been to. The people are very friendly, location is very good, rooms are cleaned daily and the price is cheap af! When You're in Brisbane and in look for a a good hostel with good values - GO THERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
5.1

Its cheap, dont expect much of an atmosphere. If you just need somewhere to crash it will do, cant lock showers but they're quite clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Feb 2016
5.7

Didn't like the atmosphere as I walked in. It looks very unwelcoming from the outside compared to the hostel across the street. Toilets were filthy. Value for money though, get what you pay for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I feel sorry for what you don't like about us and we will do out best to maintain the cleanliness to make sure customer feel more comfy to stay. Thanks for your kindly complaint.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2016
5.1

I was really unimpressed with this hostel. To begin, it was very unclean. The system of having to leave your key, or ID with the staff in exchange for pots and pans was inconvenient and there was rarely any cups in the kitchen. I found two of the staff members to be less than pleasant, one actually confronted me (non aggressively), which I found unprofessional and immature. I've stayed in a lot of hostels and tend to get along with the staff, but for me, this was wasn't a very good experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, when you checked in you refuse to let our staff show you around and explain things to make sure you can enjoy your staying more because you was in a hurry to leave that's why you didn't know the reason you have to leave your key or id for exchanges pots and pans, we sorry for the inconvenience. And you did sign the policy, if you did read the policy, you should know for the safety issues, visitors are not allowed in the hostel, if any one come for visit, you should report to receptionist but after you just checked in, there was a woman with you and you didn't even notice us. You mentioned about one of our staff confronted you, I'm really sorry to let you feel this way but we need to clarified for that, you rolled your eyes at our staff to borrowed the pans due to our staff didn't hear clearly what you said however our staff asked you was there anything wrong to make you feel unhappy and apologized to you, you also apologized to our staff in front of customers due to your rolled your eyes and unfriendly attitude. Anyway, thanks for your kindly complaint, we know we are not perfect, we will try our best to improve cleanliness in the kitchen and re training our staff become much professional, thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
8.0

This is a very nice hostel. The staff is very friendly, the bathrooms are clean and the kitchen relatively well equipped, althogh you have to leave your key for deposit to get a frying pan. For the first time while travelling I discovered an actual oven in the hostel kitchen so you can bake pizza or garlic bread! The location isn't optimal but I think the money for value outweighs this flaw. Also there's an Aldi in the vicinity!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your kindly reviews, hope you did enjoy your stayed with us. Thank you :)

25th Jan 2016
7.1

The only down pointd were the atmosphere is a bit lacking and during the night air con is turned off, could be left on until the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your kindly review, we will discuss about this matter and see is h we can improve more for the A/C matter, hope you did enjoy your stay with us, thank you :)

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2016
4.3

The room, bathrooms and the kitchen were dirty and untidy. I really wuold not recomment this hostel to anyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I'm really sorry for everything. We know we are not perfect,we will try our best to improve the cleanliness to make sure all of the customers they will comfort for their staying, thank you for your kindly complaint.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2016
7.1

Friendly people around! Friendly staff! Very quiet hostel!! Not very clean...but could be worse!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank your for your review. Hope you was enjoy your stay with us and we will try our best to improve and maintain the cleanliness. Thank you :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.