Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gonow Family Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.8
Gonow Family Backpacker Located at 145 vulture street westend, , Brisbane.
Gonow Family Backpacker
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4101 145 vulture street westend
69% 318
-27.4815808 153.0148905
Gonow Family Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
2.6

The worst hostel I ever been. Cannot understand how lonelyplanet guide suggest it. I already sent an email to them to revise this information.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Oct 2016
7.4

A train ride and a walk away from the bus station. Very basic. Free milk, bread and spreads in the morning. Plenty of plug sockets in the rooms which was really great compared to most hostels where you get 4 plug for 6 beds. WiFi worked most of the time. Kitchen and common areas are really small. Coles isn't too far away. Overall I thought it was great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Sep 2016
6.0

Go now family backpackers is a chilled hostel to stay. Everybody is quite respectful at night time, so you can have a nice night of sleep without that drunk backpacker that is always at every single party hostel. Saying that, a lot of the people living there are +30 years old, so if that doesn't bother you, you'll fit in. The facilities could be way more clean and the beds could be more comfy (I appreciate my back and I like to be able to walk in the morning). It wasn't bad but it wasn't great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
4.6

The place was filthy - toilets constantly stank of urine and you could see it dried on the walls. There was snot smeared over one wall in the loo and the toilet seats were not attached. My room was never cleaned and o was there a week. The kitchen was a state - no useful crockery and culterly. One toaster for their breakfast of literally just free bread. The matress was covered in stains before i put my sheets on and the bed was so squeeky me and my friend couldnt sleep. A literal hole.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
6.3

Not flash, but did the job for a two night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.1

Really nice place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Value for money especially for couple who wants a private room. Cleanness to be improve and people should take back theirs shoes into rooms instead of corridor which makes it smell like dead animal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
8.3

GoNow feels a bit sterile and uninviting when you arrive; within a day or two, though, the place starts to feel comfortable. Lots of people are here for long-term stays. Most of them are wonderful! However, some guests talk and complain a LOT about daily life...and this makes communal areas much less pleasant. Parking is free but first-come-first-serve. Booking online saved us each more than $5 per night. All in all, good deal for the money. We would come back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Such a lovely hostel, I had a great time on my visit there. Would recommend it to anyone wanting an economical and friendly place to stay while in Brisbane.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lvaneeden5141
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.3

Mostly I had a good time at Gonow but wouldn't stay there again. I was there for a conference, so I wasn't looking for a party hostel and this place is pretty quiet, which was good. Lots of people staying there are backpackers on working holiday visas so are mostly up early for work. On the downside, the hostel doesn't recycle AT ALL, but worst of all, while most of the staff are really lovely, but there was one guy there who was openly racist to Asian guests. It was pretty shocking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
5.4

Not a bad place despite the ranking number, only it was really dirty. Not that i mind much, the location was good. Also, the staff didn't speak english very well, but i guess the staff change all the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.