Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gonow Family Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
6.0

Staff at front desk weren't the nicest and didn't have much patience for us. Enjoyed paying $16 per bed to sleep indoors and have a great hot shower and functioning and clean toilets. Not anything too fancy, would definitely improve customer service, but overall worth the money just to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
4.9

Sorry to leave a bad review but this is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff were very nice but apart from this the place isn't a nice place to be. The whole place is dirty. The bed sheets really didn't feel or smell clean, the mattress certainly wasn't. The room was cramped and dirty. It smelt of feet everywhere. It's dark and dingy and has a very unfriendly vibe. Lots of long termers which makes you feel like youre their visitor. Needs a good clean! Only $20 though so.....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
5.1

Staff were extremely helpful but that's it. The state of the mattress was literally disgusting. The bathroom and kitchen need a deep clean before it should be open to guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd May 2017
7.4

Quite typical backpacker accommodation. Four bed dorm, with three others - a couple of guys in the room seemed to have taken over most of the room with their stuff, but I've been in worse dorms. The girl at the desk was very helpful and friendly - there was initially no blanket on my bed, but she fixed this up right away. The breakfast is basic, but for free! Facilities are far from modern, but there's a nice atmosphere. I'd stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
8.3

Not a bad hostel. Good fast wifi, clean kitchen, toilets, and rooms. The atmosphere was very laid back and quiet, which is good if you're an early riser, but not great if you want to make friends. Seemed a bit antisocial. However, free breakfast and not a bad location at all. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
8.3

We came here as part of a trip around the world, and found that overall the hostel was pretty good. The facilites are a bit run down, but usually clean. You get the feeling that the staff try to keep things clean and organized, but some people that stay here can be messy and careless. Other people here were awesome, though--we got great roommates. Staff were always friendly and provided a good introduction when we arrived. Security was also great, with keys for both the dorm door and the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.1

I loved the location of this hostel. Its not the fanciest, nicest, cleanest hostel I've been too but for the price and location it was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.3

We both enjoyed our stay here. Location is great, West End area is good and it's only a short walk to the CBD. Wifi is great and unlimited, airconditioning and lots of fans keep the rooms nice and cool. Plenty of plug sockets. Staff are lovely and always willing to help regarding your stay or for information about Brisbane. The rooms get cleaned daily and the kitchen twice a day, showers and toilets a bit scruffy and lots of flies in kitchen area. Haven't stayed in a place as good or as cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.0

Wifi and air-conditioning work. Kitchen is good but you need to ask every dish from reception. Location is ok because boundary street is near and there are many shops, cafes and bars. South bank parklands is also quite near.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
3.4

My friend and I arrived and were shocked - we already stayed in multiple hostel along the East Coast and this one has been the worst by far. Once we got to our room we decided to leave immediately - the floors and rooms were dirty, hardly furnished and a prison cell would have been a lovelier place to stay. We were charged an entire night plus didn't get the hostelworld deposit back so my 10min stay there cost me like A$80.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.