X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Goodnight Vondelpark Reviews

Overtoom 515, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
115 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Sebastiaan was really nice, and greeted us right on time. The hostel was clean and had coffee, so we were happy. Not too far of a walk from the city centre. Overall 8/10, would recommend.


94%

Very cozy place, the staff is nice and the location couldn't be better if you want to be away form the downton. 15 minutes from the main train station and right next to a tram station.


89%

A slightly unusual set up for a hotel/hostel, we stayed in a room in a shared apartment. Having said that, everything about it was excellent, the room was large, clean and comfortable, and the fruit left for us in the room was a lovely touch. The location was slightly outside of the city centre, which was an advantage for us, as it was quiet and there were lots of lovely cafes and restaurants very close by. It was also an easy tram ride or a pleasant walk through the park to the city centre.


94%

Really lovely people! I would like come back :)

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Goodnight Vondelpark is totally informal. First of all, the main and unique entrance is a small door which I only recognized because of the number and the tripadvisor stick. After knocking and ringing the bell, one man opened the door and introduced to us as the owner of the hostel, the recepcionist, the cleaner and everything else. Yes, one man is responsible for everything in this hostel. So, you can imagine the quality of the service. Besides a neighbor's cat in our room.


20%

Firstly we paid and had no receipt or any confirmation that we had paid. Secondly the place we were meant to be staying at we couldn't so we stayed at some lady's house and one night she had random men in her house. We had no lock ok our door. Something ate our food looked like a mouse. There was no ensuite like we were ment to have. Had to leave and book into a hotel after all of this. Very poor. Don't recommend it and hoping to get our money back asap.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Only bad thing is I only stayed one night! Excellent scenery, staff, room and breakfast!


91%

We had a very pleasant stay! Clean rooms, nice view, nice staff. We like to recommend your hostel and to come back!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was a nice place to stay in Amsterdam, but would not be suitable for a family with small baby / kid. We expected to see a functional kitchen but were disappointed. Sebastian was nice and we had a nice time there with the hostel right in front of a tram station.


71%

the hostel is not that near to the centre, but with the tram you get there in 10 minutes..the Vondelpark is near and really lovely, one of my favourite spots in Amsterdam :) the room was cosy as we where 3 people but slept in a room with 6 beds..we had our own balcony which was cool..the shower didnt have doors so it was wet on the floors but it dried quickly..wifi works excellent..the tv had 30 chanels in different languages..the linen and towels were clean and the bathroom as well..

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Great place to stay for a weekend in Amsterdam. Right next to the huge park, with a bike its just 15mins into the centre. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Really clean and quiet at night. Free wifi was nice too.


80%

Sebastian was the perfect host! Very friendly and flexible with the check in and out times! Room was comfortable and the other facilities clean and functional.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your kind words!! When i come to visit my father in Helsinki i will invite you for a drink in Lux.

91%

Pleasant stat at nice location 10 meters from tram.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

The room was too small for the number of people in it. Besides nobody cleaned the room while we were there. I think the price for this structure should be lower.


80%

Staff was very receptive. Didn't make it to check in and left before reception opened, but they were kind enough to arrange an alternative check out via email. Just make sure to bring your own toilet paper.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Pretty far away from town, you have to get a tram in, the rooms were alright, the shower was terrible, and there was no wi-fi which is pretty crucial, this morrocan guy staying in our room was nice, so was the owner, this place was a cheap option for the weekend in a town were there very expensive, you get what you pay for


100%

I was there with my family for the one night on the weekend and it was great. Nice and big rooms, friendly and funny roommates, and for the last excellent atmosphere!! must go there.


46%

Stay cancelled by the property owner due to his mistake in booking rates. Paid fee not refunded yet, despite promises from both Hostelworld and property owner. Lenghty communication with owner, no reply since mid October 2013. Hostelworld complaint ID number: 143201

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

It took us ages to find the place no directions or even a sign when you do get there!Then a rude lady sent us on a wild goose chase saying we we're in the wrong place only to find out an hour later that we were in the right place after a local man and postman confirmed this! we couldn't get in touch with the people who owned it so waited around for a further 2hrs! We stayed in a hostel in the end!We got an email asking wen were arriving at gone midnight the next day! WANT A REFUND NOT IMPRESSED!

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We stayed at the "new" site on Overtoom 515. The very friendly and laid-back guys are in the process of refurnishing and opening it, but our room (private dorm with up to 7 beds) was fully equipped and they even offered to put some chairs and tables up there. The tram 1 stops right in front of the building, but walking downtown takes more than half an hour. Things to be improved: put hooks in the bathroom for towels. Add a shower screen. Clean up the balcony :-)


(55 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback