Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Goodnight Vondelpark Reviews

Overtoom 515, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


150 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Sebastian was extremely nice and gave great advice on things to do around Amsterdam. Also, the tram stop was right outside the front door and just an easy 10 minute ride to major attractions. I definitely recommend staying here!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Sebastian was great, very friendly and helpful! Very nice hostel on a good quiet street but also very close to the city center. Amazing bathroom upstairs, the best one we have seen so far. I would definitely recommend it.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


This was the best hostel my friend and I stayed in on our entire 3 month trip, we would defiantly recommend staying here. It was so clean, in a great location and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They left Kit-Kats and bananas and Hot chocolate sachets upon our arrival. They were the friendliest of people, we were super pleased :) Thank you so much for having us!!

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Sebastian is such a nice guy and he was really helpful. The room we stayed was really nice and the hostel is right next to tram stop. The price was good too considering the fact that accommodation in Amsterdam is quite expensive.


The owner, Sebastian, was the gem of the place.


everything was ok, we knew it was really really a basic hostel and so it was, so this is a positive comment.


They were building the facilities, so we only had a room without wi-fi and that was that. Price is good for amsterdam, room is ok, but there is nothing else, not even a reception or somebody to ask information.


The hostel was awful!!! The WiFi has been not workable for two weeks before I came, but no one tried to fix it. What is more, there was no lock on the door of the bathroom. There was a lock on the door of the bedroom, but it couldn't be locked. And the front door of the hostel has been never locked. So it is possible for anybody to go in your room when you are sleeping. How 'safe' it is!!!!!!!!


This place needs a LOT of work! Rooms were dirty, no garbage can (not in bathroom either for girls) mixed room bathroom was awful and so messy

Owner Comment (Hide)
In a shared room where you've only payed 15 euro on a saturdaynight in Amsterdam you sometimes have messy roommates. Sorry about that but it's not true there are no garbage cans. Just look around or ask for it maybe....


It is a quiet place to stay in Amsterdam which was great as I went there with my boyfriend but far from the center. Facilities are nice although there is no kitchen and no common area. We enjoyed our stay but we ran out of toilet paper for a day and couldnt find anyone to help us so we ended up buying it ourselves. It got busy over the weekend and we saw a guy who had been staying there over a week come back at night to find his bed taken so he ended up in the couch.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Sebastian was very helpful and accommodating. Definitely didn't feel like a hostel but as a house guest which was awesome. Tram stop right out the front door and very easy to get to the city centre and all the major attractions


No indoor common space to sit. The rooms have places to sit, but with six people in one room, that space is sparse: you're tripping over everyone's stuff. Outlets are hidden/awkward to get to. Outdoor space was inaccessible, only one shower for the entire hostel was available. Internet was down for days, and was only turned on after several requests to get it turned on. This needs some serious modifications to be a comparable hostel. It is instead someone's home with a bunch of beds in it.


It's a nice place generally, but not like most other hostels as it has no common area to meet other guests, just your bunk rooms so maybe not the best for solo travelers. Sebastian was really friendly and helpful and the place is nice enough, just don't expect a traditional style hostel. The area it is in is quite nice, although some distance from the centre (there's a tram outside so not too much of a problem) but pretty much backs onto the Vondelpark so it depends what you're looking for.


The host are very kind, and they can help you with any question! Shawer room is big and clean.


The owner was really nice to us and the place was clean so we felt really comfy there!!!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


No sign outside, better look for the address. No staff on site when I arrived, had to go to the hotel next door and have them phone the hostel staff. Still waited outside for half an hour after the phone call before somebody let me in. No common room, no ventilation in room during hot summer (probably okay in the winter). Hallway smelled like pot. No reception desk so no idea how to contact onsite staff (if there is any).


I've never felt so welcomed in a hostel before; the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is clean. The staff is amazing

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Said on confirmation email that check in was between 2pm and 8pm, we arrived around 4pm and had to wait about 20 mins for him to arrive after calling him to tell him we were there and the front door bell doesn't work!


The front door always locked, no bell. the only way is call the owner to get in.


I went there for the check-in, the door was locked and nobody was there! The owner (Sebastiaan) also did not answer my calls, although I informed him in advance that I was arriving that night. So I looked for & booked another hotel for a very high price. I strongly recommend that you do not trust this guy.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I was there all night because i also live there and my telephone is available 24hours. In case of me or my associate being absent, the restaurant downstairs takes care of welcoming our guests. So i REALLY DOUBT you were even at the correct adress. But thanks for your kind words:)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)

View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback