Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Goodtime Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jujones905263
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
9.7

Great partay hostel! Great location and very nice staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jh1511994
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location, close to everything you need. Party boat is super fun and staff are all really friendly and help with anything you need. The sunset room is so beaut definitely never been in a dorm room in SE Asia that has a sunset view balcony!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
5.7

Good location and good view from room were the only decent aspects of this hostel. Staff were rude. American receptionist, when she finally acknowledged us, referred to us as 'bitches'. Bar staff also refused to give us change for notes. Wifi was pretty much unusable. Air con (which we paid extra for) was so weak it hardly made an impact in or 8 bed room. Bathroom had a gross smell to it and the shower did not heat up when used. Overall not good value for money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sure that the following guest was confused and took one of the other guests for a staff member, this is the only explanation I can see for this ridiculous review. First of all, we don’t have an “American receptionist”, second – there is no way that any of our staff members would allow themselves to treat guests in such a manner (as you can see from pervious 800+ reviews). Regarding other comments – bar is not a money exchange, they don’t have to change your notes if you don’t purchase anything at the bar (they would love to help you if they can, but if they don’t have enough change they will politely advise you to exchange your money next door at the bank). WiFi is “usable” at the common area as advertised. Aircon (that you didn’t pay extra for, all our dorms are equipped with ac) is working well, you just need to close the balcony door to feel it (2 of your roommates made a complaint that you always leave the balcony door widely open). Bathroom can have a gross smell, no arguments, but it mostly depends on the person who uses it. Regarding the shower hit – if you would ask for help I would be more than happy to explain to you how to use the water heater, you just need to turn it from “off” to “on” position. Overall, next time don’t be shy to ask for help if you are struggling with some simple things (try to ask real staff members who work at reception, not some other hostel guests), we are always here for you ready to help! All the best wishes, Valerie, the hostel manager

17th Jun 2017
8.3

Great hostel right in the middle of the party scene. And awesome staff!! Tip: if you don’t want to hear the loud music from the downstairs bar all night, grab a room on the jungle side :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you my dear for your lovely review and useful tips! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, we hope you will be back soon for more Goodtimes! :) All the best wishes, Valerie&Goodtime Crew

16th Jun 2017
9.7

Great place if you're looking for a party. If you aren't, look elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you darling for your feedback, I just loved your review - brief and clear, and I am more than agree with every word :) I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you again! All the best wishes, Val xxx

  • jessiemh
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.0

This place is right on the beach and is ideal for location! It's in the centre of everything and the people who work here are really good at organising activities for you. We had a private room and only a little problem which was that the air con wasn't great at all and the shower was boiling. It's so good for nightlife and if you love to drink. Only thing is we had a 5am start and the noise from the club Leo kept us up all night. Other than that strongly suggest the booz cruise, its classy!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel, awesome staff :) Literally on the beach front, dorms basic but great value for money. I was so happy with my stay here and would return in a heart beat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

Great location and staff was very helpful. Everything else was pretty mediocre for the amount of money you're spending per night. Would recommend looking into staying at a resort for almost the same price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you appreciated our location and I will pass on your lovely comments to our helpful staff. However, your statement regarding our prices and especially your confidence that you can stay at the resort for the same price (390THB per night? Good luck girls:) we found quite funny. I have a persistent feeling that the following opinion is caused by the lack of travel experience and knowledge of the area you have been traveling through. We charge no more than other decent hostels in Koh Tao (that are located in 15-20 minutes walking from the beach) and even less. We treat our guests as our own family, we provide an excellent customer service, we offer a wide choice of awesome activities and social events and, the most important, we have to offer our sea/sunset view 24/7 air-conditioning dorm rooms (that you won’t find anywhere else in Koh Tao). Hundreds of our lovely guests keep coming back every year and recommend us to their friends and I feel sad that you have become an exception… Hopefully you had a great stay at your (*mythical) resort for 390THB and all the best wishes :) Valerie, the hostel manager

2nd Jun 2017
8.6

Very well located hostel and with a very nice owner :) The only 2 things you must know is (the say it very clearly, but I think it's important to highlight): 1) It's a party hostel, so there's noise till 2 AM 2) There's not Wifi in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you my lovelies for your awesome feedback! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us (even for such a short period of time)! And thank you for your recommendations, I love when you mention the party atmosphere in your reviews, it is very important to make it as clear as possible for our dear guests (especially for those ones who don't read the description:) I hope that we will see you again for more parties and good times! Loads of love, Val x

2nd Jun 2017
8.9

Definitely the best party hostel on the island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.