Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Goodtime Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • shianne11
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Aug 2017
8.6

Great location, super clean! The only problem is, is the rooms are right above Leo's bar and anyone could walk in especially if you haven't locked your room whilst you sleep! The noise is great if you want to party whilst at this hostel but don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep the music is loud until 3 am. They do offer great activities for you to do during the day, and you get discount on the food at the bar for staying in the hostel! Overall a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
10.0

My staying in goodtimes was short (1day) but it was totally worth it!! I'm looking forward to come back to this beautiful place ! The staff was so friendly and the reception people where amazing 👌🏼 Helping whit everything you need ! I really enjoyed this hostel it's clean en ride on the beatch probely one of my favourite hostels so far! 🤙🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2017
10.0

Have stayed at this hostel 3 different times. As a solo traveller, best social vibes and friendliest people. Rooms cleaned daily, sweet happy hour deals at the bar. Top location, right on beach with most gorgeous view as I eat breakfast. Loud music def a thing here, go with it and you'll have a blast. Val is the sweetest human I have ever met. There's nothing she won't do to provide the best experience for her guests! 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.4

Goodtime Beach Hostel was an awesome place to stay at in Koh Tao! The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere was great, we met lots of cool people during our stay. Location was also great, right next to lots of shops, bars, and restaurants. Awesome for diving and booking other outdoor excursions. Not the place to stay if you're looking for somewhere quiet, but if you're looking to meet people and go out this is the place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.0

It was really fun and lively and in a great location. Offered loads of activities to do. Rooms were big with nice beds. On top of a club so can be quite noisy but that didn't really bother us. Bathroom in the room had a constant leaking tap, which made the floor always wet. Also had to keep asking for toilet roll (goes quick in an 8 bed dorm). Wifi was mainly from the restaurants near by or hostel cafe but when they close there was no wifi until open again. Really enjoyed our stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2017
4.3

Only come here if you come to party every single night and you don't want to explore the beauties of koh tao. I came explore the island and socialize. When they say it can be loud, they mean it. Impossible to sleep until 3am. Social area of the hostel closes early, only way to socialize is to go to the club downstairs. Dirty, no toilet paper. Pictures make it look so much better than it is. Located on the only beach I don't like in koh tao. Stay at the Dearly hostel instead!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

My dear friend, thank you for your feedback. On behalf of Sairee beach allow me to apologise if it did not meet your high expectations. Sairee Beach is nice but indeed it is not the best beach on the island. It is, however, famous for its nightlife, best bars, clubs, shops and restaurants. Our hostel is located in the heart of the bustling life of Koh Tao, that’s why most of our dear guests find our location excellent and I am sorry that you have become an exception. Not that many people would prefer the hostel that you advertise in your review as it is located in the middle of nowhere, in 20 min drive from the main bar/restaurant area of Koh Tao, not everyone can afford to pay 500Baht every time to get to this area from the hostel. I would recommend you to do a little research before your travels and maybe (just maybe) to NOT book the #1 PARTY HOSTEL on the island, located in the MAIN PARTY AREA if you are not into partying. Simple logic. By the way, we do provide toilet paper, and in case if you have eaten something wrong and used it all up you can always come to reception and ask for more  Regarding your last complaint – well, as you can see from 800+ other reviews - most of our guests find it very easy to socialize here, in our hostel, so I’m afraid that if you failed to make any friends during your stay it is more reflection of you rather than us… Once again, I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and I am sincerely happy that you have found the perfect, quietest spot that suits your executive taste. All the best wishes, Valerie, the hostel manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.4

Goodtime hostel has great staff, especially Inma who are very helpful and friendly! However, we were unfortunately robbed of 7000 baht, sunglasses and some clothing items during our stay. This put a bit of a downer on our visit since we were told putting items in the lockers would be safe- but be careful with the lockers as multiple keys open multiple lockers!! Overall, a great location for partying and a good hostel for socialising(although can be a bit cliquey and quiet depending on when u go)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear friend, thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you appreciated our prime location and found it easy to socialise and I will pass on your lovely comments to Inma. I do, however, find it unfair that you mentioned in your review the fact that your money went missing but didn’t find it necessary to describe the whole situation. First of all, it was not even you who were robbed as I can remember, it was your boyfriend who’s money went missing and he personally would never write us such a review himself as he appreciated a lot how fast and professional we took care of the situation. We have never had any cases of theft in our hostel in the 3,5 years of our existence but yes, shit happens. It’s a horrible situation but, somehow, one of our guests appeared to be a professional lock picker, a few lockers in your dorm room were picked and after the lock is picked you can open with anything, even with a fork, I explained it to you, so your comments regarding multiple keys are nothing but lies. And this is very sad. What you missed in your review is how we acted in the following situation, as soon as your boyfriend informed us about it, in less than a minute we informed all the guests and asked them to bring all their valuables to reception so we could lock them in our safe. We immediately ordered new lockers that were delivered 2 hours later and you were personally there to watch it. I spent 2 hours with your boyfriend in a police station making an official report so he can get his money back from his travel insurance company and I covered all the expenses for paperwork. We spent the whole day checking all the CCTV records to make sure that there was no one but your roommates in the room but unfortunately we could not point fingers who was the thief as we do not have CCTV inside the dorm. We compensated all the loss to our guests and made sure we did our best to avoid this in the future. Your boyfriend was extremely grateful for everything we did in this situation and even presented us a cake, that was very sweet of him. He told me personally that he would never blame us for this situation, that’s why I am so surprised to see this review from you when you were just a witness to the situation and not even a close victim. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and my best regards to your lovely boyfriend. Valerie, the hostel manager

28th Jul 2017
4.0

This hostel is an absolute dump. They definitely don't clean the rooms. The floors and bathroom were disgusting and the bathroom smelled terrible. They never restocked toilet paper so plan on bringing your own. There is a bar right next door so if you want to sleep before 3am, stay somewhere else. It was also the most expensive hostel I stayed at during my trip and least favorite. Stay somewhere else cheaper and cleaner! Trust me

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dee_irwin10
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Went there for 2 nights... which turned into 10 nights and 3 scuba diving courses! Fell in love with Koh Tao and have Goodtime to thank for that. The people, the vibes, the activities -all amazing!! I want to shout out to everyone at GT for sucking me in and making it oh so hard to leave. Nothing but love to all of you! You can go to Koh Tao with no plans, and GT will make sure you're never bored! Moving to Koh Tao in a few months to do my DMT! :) Highly recommend GT, can't wait to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2017
8.6

Staff was lovely. Hostel is in a great party location directly at the beach. Lots of stuff to do around. Many drinking games and fun people to go out with. We stayed in the room on top of Leo club but even if you decide to go home earlier a pair of earplugs should help you sleep. Would definitely recommend if you're into a good party!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you my dear for your kind review! I am happy that you loved our prime location and all the activities. I feel extremely pleased that we played a part in making your holiday great :) We hope that you will return to Koh Tao in the future and stay with us again for more Goodtimes! All the best wishes, Val xxx

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.