Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gorge View

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Gorge View Located at 723 3rd. Street, , Niagara Falls.
Gorge View
USA
Niagara Falls New York 14301 723 3rd. Street
88% 386
43.0951280 -79.0592490
Gorge View
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Nov 2016
9.4

I spent just one night over Gorge View, I slept very well, the room was more than clean and what do you want me to say, just great! I would recommand this place to everyone who want to stay in Niagara Falls, NY.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. I hope you get a chance to visit us in high season.

16th Oct 2016
9.7

It was perfect. What else did you want to know? Clean. Bathroom facilities, which often are old and funky in hostels were new and spotless. Owner was informative and helpful, providing a map and helping us with the touristy things as well as steering us to more "local" things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • India, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
8.0

The front desk isn't open round the clock and that creates a bit of a problem when you're on a tight schedule to see the falls and catch transportation out. Surprisingly empty, but that might be because we didn't stay during peak season. Located really well. Friendly staff though we were given some wrong information but I'm sure that was an accident. Decent room. Slightly uncomfortable beds, but works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes, things are quiet during the off season. We're a small hostel so we can not afford 24 hour staff and provide the prices we do. During the off season guests often get entire dorms to themselves at very low rates but the trade off of such privacy and low rates is limited desk hours. Really sorry you got bad information though. That's not our standard.

4th Oct 2016
9.7

The hostel is very clean, well decorated and Jeff is really nice. It is not close to the touristic area, even if you can easily walk to the falls, that makes the trip more interesting and the atmosphere more authentic. Unfortunately there were not a lot of people so I could not really experience the atmosphere. People usually choose the Canadian side, but they should stay in the American side to get a fuller experience of the falls. It is easy to walk also the other side.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. While there are certainly closer (and costlier) hotels there is no Hostel closer to the falls or the tourist area on either side of the border so while we would like to be closer we're proud to provide such value and such easy access to the falls and Gorge Trails.

  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

Nice place to stay to enjoy Niagra Falls

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're happy you enjoyed your stay, hope you enjoy all your travels so well.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
2.0

We got late in arriving at the hostel and they cancelled the reservation without informing. Deducted amount for entire stay of 3 nights. When we showed up, we were literaly thrown out and Jeff told us if we won't leave he will call someone to thrown out. We were guests, first time to niagra, it was weekend, terrible fund different venue. But he won't listen. Worst behaviour I had ever seen from an American.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Worst behavior we have ever seen by a guest. The guest coordinated for a very late check-in we kept staff 2 hours past that time the guest never showed. The booking was cancelled as a no show and the next day they arrived and were very confrontational regarding the fact that no one was there to check them in 9 hours after our normal reception closing time or 5 hours before opening however one cares to look at it. At Gorge View we take the harmony and tranquility of all our guests seriously and guests that fail to meet their obligations fail to demonstrate courtesy and blame others for their choices do not fit well in the hostel dorms. We we're glad to have this poor review to communicate to those who may behave the same way, that behavior isn't tolerated at Gorge View and we'll let our other ratings speak for themselves. Obviously this guest didn't stay so they can not judge our cleanliness or other aspects of our amazing hostel.

16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great value for my money. Well located in relation to the Niagara River and the Niagara Falls tourist area (15 minute walk). I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Of course we wish we were even closer but we are really happy with our location, not only is the falls a short distance by walk but we give you such a scenic path to it and with the Discover Niagara Shuttle being free and picking up guests across the street and providing them access to all 14 miles of Gorge, and lower river between the water falls and Lake Ontario, and the Gorge Trails starting on our doorstep we have little to complain about with this location.

16th Sep 2016
10.0

I like stay there :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we liked having you. Thank you for the review.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Really nice !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, really nice of you to provide feedback. Hope the rest of your trip was at least really nice!!

10th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location, walking distance to the falls. Jeff was very helpful with his recommendations which came in very handy & saved me time on a busy weekend full of tourists! I only wish there was breakfast at the hostel, as the decent eateries are a bit of walk away which can be a pain on an empty stomach in the mornings!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I hear you on the breakfast. I often starve myself in the mornings too. Finally we have a breakfast place that opened 3 blocks away. Power City Eatery that is open all but Sunday and 3rd Street retreat is a long 4 blocks away. We are however inquiring with the health department on the standards required for us to provide a cooked breakfast. If not 2017 we will certainly meet those standards by 2018. While we have done well renovating the portion of the building we employ for the hostel we have a long way to go to full restoration but breakfast capability is rising on our priority list, one can easily cook their own breakfast here but when the hostel does it, the level of safety and standards and health code creates a new level of equipment and logistics and we pride ourselves on standards.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.