Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Gorge View

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Sep 2017
8.0

Great place for USA part But the Canadian part of Niagara falls are better with much more things to do

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
8.6

Employee I met was good humored and informative. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Loud sounds while trying to sleep (Sounded like people were playing tennis in the basement or something) Roommates were loud & disrespectful. (Makes sense though because this is a huge tourist spot and it happens)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
9.1

I had an overwhelmingly positive experience in this Hostel. It's a 10 min walk away from the Rainbow Bridge and about 15-20 mins from most of the attractions in the area. The free Niagara falls shuttle stops not too far from there. Prices were very reasonable, Wifi worked well and the hostel was clean. The hostel owner was more than helpful and knowledgeable about the area. I can't really fault this place for anything, so if you're looking for a bargain, this hostel is where its at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
10.0

Great people. Great location, an easy walk to the falls down the gorge path. No streets to worry about between the hostel and the falls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.4

The location is amazing, short walk to American falls, and not too far to cross the Canadian border. Rooms were clean and spacious, with plenty of storage for everyone. The best thing about this hostel though, was Jeff! He was amazing, gave us lots of knowledge about the place and tips on what to see, and was so friendly about everything. He sorted us out a late check in and also let us leave our bags in the hostel for 8 hours after check out due to a late bus to our next destination.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Great guests make it easy for us to do well. We are happy to accommodate luggage storage till 7pm for departing guests with late departures just as we're happy to accommodate luggage storage for early arrivals after 9am.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

I had a very pleasant stay at Gorge View hostel. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean and had ample lockers to store your stuff. The hostel was only a 15 minute leisurly walk to the Niagara Falls. I highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and all our special details. I hope all your travels are equally pleasant or better.

  • Anonymous
  • Myanmar, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
10.0

Good place family

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
2.6

The owner and only person here is very adamant. I reached here earlier and shocked to notice that there isn't any restroom,Mr.Jeff bluntly told me to use public toilet available at Niagara Falls. Hence having no option left I went to saw Niagara Falls by keeping my luggage there and after completing sight seeing when I reached for check in he without informing me charged me 10 dollars more on the pretext of let check in.I strongly condemn for the.Restroom in the dorms have even no liquid soap.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well, you can't win them all and it's not possible to win against unreasonable expectations. This guest arrived before we even open in the morning (9am, it's no secret). This guest was given our awesome information like all guests are (see other reviews). This guest requested to take a shower (sorry Gorge View has en suite bathrooms and no facilities to offer guests before check-in time as we will not admit today's arrivals into dorms to intrude on last nights guests until check-in time or the room is prepared for arrivals which ever comes first and arriving before check-out time guarantees we have nothing to offer you). Being rude and having an attitude about it doesn't change the situation, last night's guests have priority with everything until 3pm. We offer information, free luggage storage and free parking nothing more before check-in. We can not check guests in early as we need last night's guests to check out first to have the keys returned and the rooms prepared. The second complaint exemplifies the main reason we have a late check-in policy. We are a small hostel with a small staff. Our hours are designed to accommodate the majority of guests travel schedules and facilitate a smooth daily operation and prepare each room to our higher standards each day. Guests whose travel plans are outside our operational hours can coordinate with us and the extra staff time required is compensated only by the guests who require it allowing us to keep everyone's costs lower. This guest however was within 20 minutes walking distance of Gorge View all day. Was in a hurry to get into the hostel before opening to use the hostel before check in time and then decided not to actually check-in till after check-in hours requiring staff to give up family time return to the hostel. We make no secret about our hours and policies and we make no apologies. As we increase our capacity through the restoration of this building and can afford more staffing hours we will but until then please read our hours and understand our constraints and do not think for one moment that being unreasonable is going to get you special exceptions. We have learned that bad guests in a hostel are bad for the good guests. We will gladly take a bad review from a bad guests in order to ensure the rest of our guests have a good stay and our staff is taken care of too.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
8.9

The staff were really friendly and helpful. They accommodated me checking in late after I arranged it with them. The beds were nice and comfortable. The hostel was only a short walk from the main attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Friendly guests make it easy. Thank you for staying at Gorge View while visiting the Falls.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Brilliant staff, very kind and friendly and welcoming. Good location, conveniently placed to access the falls. Overall a little home from home with a very friendly, trusting atmosphere. Highly recommend for someone on a budget looking for great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Brilliant review. Thanks for taking the time write it.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×