Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grafton House Accommodation

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Grafton House Accommodation Located at 6 Glenside Cresent, grafton, Auckland.
Grafton House Accommodation
New Zealand
Auckland auckland 6 Glenside Cresent, grafton
74% 337
-36.8617104 174.7627132
Grafton House Accommodation
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Sep 2016
7.4

We stayed here for 3 nights & it was ok. The prices are good & the facilities are sufficient. The walls are pretty thin, but it's fairly quiet overall. While the bathrooms were never terrible, it didn't seem like they had a set cleaning schedule. One morning they were being cleaned at 10am and the next day 7:30am. The kitchen is a little small & can get cramped at peak meal times. The staff are very polite, but not overly friendly. The atmosphere itself is very good & travelers are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.1

The value for this hostel was great! They were remodeling, and sometimes it was a pain to get into the bathroom for a shower. But the location was great for walking. I met some amazing people and had a great time! Sometimes the wifi could be slow but it was free!!!! In the end I would stay here again in a second.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Aug 2016
6.6

Location is great and staff were nice. They are renovating at the moment so I appreciate that writing this, but there weren't enough showers and toilets for the amount of people staying on each floor. 2 of the 4 days I was there I had to go without a shower in the morning which wasn't great. There was also nothing in the ways of hand soaps and sometimes toilet paper which was pretty gross. I would stay again if I knew there'd be more bathroom facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.3

The hostel seemed to have a pretty quite atmosphere (especially in my dorm), but this didn't bother me as I was just laying over for the night. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Just note this hostel is located a 10/15 min walk outside of the main city, however this didn't really bother me personally.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for choosing Grafton House, im glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope to see you back again, have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

Very good hostel. The wifi is okay, eventhough it hardly works on the third floor. The staff is friendly and competent. The kitchen is big enough and gets cleaned regulary - the only thing missing may be another toaster. There is enough "charging space" for everyone - everywhere. The free lockers are great. But... The rooms could be cleaned more often and there's a defintite need for more showers. Anyways I would surely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the great review, i will pass on your friendly comments to our staff, our new shower block is to completed by the end of September adding another 6 showers along with hair dryers and hand basins, have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2016
7.1

Good kitchen, good and free wifi. Nice lounge area. Reasonable value for money. Good transport links. Pretty cold in rooms for winter, bedding quite thin. Limited bathrooms as described but they were cleaned regularly. Staff not familiar with area eg no idea where Britomart was! Issues with checking in and booking system as mentioned with previous comments. Would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
3.7

Awful establishment. Strongly advise people to stay away! On arrival we were advised the rooms we had booked were not available. This was only changed when we said we would then stay somewhere else. The common area was ok but rooms were disgusting. Multiple large stains on the floor. Windows don't open. Sheets were very old and not completely clean. To top it off one of the rooms stunk strongly of urine. The floor we were put on was also under construction. Oh and Wi-Fi was terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • cassieestewart1
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
6.0

We booked this hostel because it was the cheapest and we liked the sound of the 'two bed mixed dorm' as we are two girls travelling together and liked the low cost instead of a more expensive private room. The hostel is in a good location. Staff weren't pleasant, not helpful, made us feel like we were bothering them. No atmosphere and very cliquey! The best bit is the kitchen because it's new. Only two toilets on the floor we were on, never could go when needed to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.0

Last minute plan to stay at Granton and were able to park on the street outside (apparently free 8pm-8am). Hostel had a good atmosphere with plenty people gathered in the common areas - decent sized kitchen and really cool wooden tables and the sofas in front of the tv. The floor we stayed in was undergoing rennovations, was probably needed as the windows in our room was coming away from the wall! Nevertheless it was warm enough, unisex bathroom was clean and had a powerful enough shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for choosing us. We are now building more shower blocks up and they are nearly done. We hope you are having a wonderful time in New Zealand and we hope to see you again in the future! :)

4th Jun 2016
8.3

Good, free wifi. Lockers available outside rooms ($5 deposit). Room doors don't automatically lock (must be locked with key from outside). 20 min walk to CBD and Newmarket. Communal area closes at midnight. Friendly staff and clean facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are currently looking for a night porter so we keep our new common areas open through the night. I will pass your comments onto our staff. Have a great trip

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.