Hostelworld.com

Grafton House Accommodation

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
Grafton House Accommodation Located at 6 Glenside Cresent, grafton, Auckland.
Grafton House Accommodation
New Zealand
Auckland auckland 6 Glenside Cresent, grafton
71% 294
-36.8617104 174.7627132
Grafton House Accommodation
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th May 2016
7.7

My first night was in a 6 bed dorm, unfortunately my room had no windows, which sucks but that happens quite often in Auckland. 2nd night was in a 4 bed dorm which did have windows. Atmosphere was great, good kitchen and unlimited free fast Wifi. Compared to the other 3 hostels I've stayed in Auckland this one is definitely the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2016
5.7

Not really a bad hostel but not really good either. Location ok for me, far enough out of town yet close enough to most things. Facilities were OK and clean but cleaning happened at silly times meaning bathrooms were unavailable in a morning. Rooms were very basic with paper thin wall partitions so very noisy, very old mattresses and pillows/quilts resembling half empty bags of cotton wool balls. Staff were friendly enough but had no knowledge or advice about the city or bus services etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, im sorry you didnt find our hostel up to standard, our cleaning starts at 7am is done a floor at a time, this means other floors toilets and showers are available at this time, we are currently upgrading our beds / pillows over the winter months, i will cover the staff knowledge in our staff meeting and get everyone up to date. Thanks and have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
7.4

Overall a good place to stay! It's close to the city and right next to the bus stop. There are also a couple of little shops just up the road. The security could be better. No body seems to lock their doors and there is a limited number of small lockers for use. The free wifi is usually good but slow at peak times. Hostel is very helpful for new arrivals in to New Zealand as they will provide you with a proof of address. Overall, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jordanwaring7763
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.9

This was the most beautiful place I've stayed in in regards to a hostel. The kitchen was great, all new and very pristine. Honestly was like being in a real kitchen appose to your generic hostel ones. The only slight downfall was the location but I feel this is a small price to pay. I'd go back as it was a lot nicer than the one I'd stayed in the previous night nearer to city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great comment, we are happy you enjoyed our new kitchen it really makes it more homely for cooking, we are slightly out of the center but this puts us closer to the amazing suburbs of Ponsonby, Mt Eden and Newmarket, we hope you have a great trip and see you back soon

  • lavelletta
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
5.7

I spend one week in this hostel. Nobody told I can stay in a private room and nobody change my blanquette.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for staying with us, yes we do have some great private rooms which can be booked on Hostel World or at Reception. Our room types and prices along with our weekly discounts are advertised around the hostel, im sorry you missed this and i will look into more advertising. We change our bedding for staying guests every 3 days and upon checkout, guests can also request a bedding change anytime they like. Thanks, and have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.0

Great hostel with good vibes, easy to meet people as kitchen/living room area is really social. Rooms are absolutely fine, and toilet/showers are great. Mix of people passing through as well as more permanent residents either working at the hostel or looking for/working in Auckland. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for the comment, we designed our new common / dining area in this way so like minded backpackers can meet easily, i will pass your good comments onto our cleaning staff, our weekly rates make staying at our hostel over the winter months a great choice

  • anniewelby
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.0

Booked a two bed shared dorm and arrived to find we were both in different dorms with other guests, were able to pay $6 extra to have a basic double so wasn't too much of an issue but just be aware that if you book two beds in a two bed dorm you may not be put together. Was very frustrating to be told when we arrived that we had to pre book parking (could have mentioned that on the information section here!)..ended up paying $23 on private parking. Reception staff were totally clueless.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for staying with us a second time, our 2 bed dorms are mixed and not a twin private so it is not always possible on our last beds to allocate you in the same room, im glad we were able to solve the issue to an upgrade to a private room with double bed for a discounted price of just $6 :) Our parking must be booked in advance and i will make sure this is clear on Hostel World, as i do not own the other car parks and being a city prices can be high, i hope you have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2016
10.0

It was a pleasure staying at this Hostel. Met a lot of great people.Staff was nice and helpful.If you want a mixture of relax/quiet time and/or party ... this is the place . This is one of these places were people actually speak to each other! It was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, our staff try and make all our guests feel at home, Have a great trip :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Great place to stay, kitchen really clean and good facilities. Staff friendly and helpful. TV and sofa area good. About twenty minute walk into city centre but local shops just at end of road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Nice, clean Hostel in a good location. Chilled out vibe with good, large common areas for socializing. Would recommend to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for the great comment, have a great trip and we hope to see you back soon :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.