Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grafton House Accommodation

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th May 2017
6.6

Nice stay and good to have a cheap double room! Quite far out of town compared to other hostels and grumpy staff, not enough bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
8.9

Having stayed in a lot of hostels in the city centre of Auckland I can safely say that this is one of the most clean. Even though you can find insects in the kitchen when there shoudn't, you can see that the staff keep it clean regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
6.6

Stinky rooms, too many people with no ventilation. Showers have no space to change in with no private are to change either. 10 min walk from city centre. 5 min walk off sky bus. Nice staff. Floors were so wet on bathroom / showers where they had cleaned them at busiest time 0830 ish, I fell over, luckily I didn't hurt myself :( I would stay again as cheapest place at time but even the price we paid was over priced in my opinion. Were not given keys to Lockers so had no safe place for our stuff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
7.1

Great wifi, modern clean bathrooms. Beds were very uncomfortable and the kitchen was full of bugs. Location is quite far from the city centre but not a major issue Had to pay for lockers ($5) Overall a good hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.9

Worst shower I've ever experienced, really smelly and dirty, pretty poorly equipped kitchen, friendly staff though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2017
6.9

Cool place if youre looking for a place for the night. Good value and easy going location. Cool decking area downstairs. I got to say to the guys who run the place. Please turn those televisions off in the lobby or at least put on something with no audio like skate or surf videos. It killed the atmosphere for me and gave me a headache. Especially when someone is trying to concentrate on their laptop or something similar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice hostel. Good staff. Showers are low. Not suitable for taller people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.0

A big hostel just south of the centre. Comfy beds and ok facilities (could do with updating and the showers aren't the best). Nice staff and good atmosphere in the common room. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
6.6

good: common areas are decent, wifi included, bedding clean, good pillows, and allowed to leave bags after check out time bad: bathrooms could be cleaner, they clean them at a bad hour of the morning. While I was brushing my teeth I was asked to leave the bathroom so they could continue cleaning it. Wifi is terrible and almost drove me insane as I couldn't contact friends to plan things, only place is works consistently is when standing directly under the router. No window in bedroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Mar 2017
6.0

I only stayed one night and it was really social and friendly! Great wifi, good drinking/ smoking area. Also great social area. But the room was incredibly cramped, had no windows and felt pretty enclosed. The bathroom was super grim and I had to wearing flip flops in there. Bed sheets weren't completely clean either, but okay for a quick stay which is just a bed for the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.