Hostelworld.com

Grafton House Accommodation

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
Grafton House Accommodation Located at 6 Glenside Cresent, grafton, Auckland.
Grafton House Accommodation
New Zealand
Auckland auckland 6 Glenside Cresent, grafton
72% 308
-36.8617104 174.7627132
Grafton House Accommodation
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cassieestewart1
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
6.0

We booked this hostel because it was the cheapest and we liked the sound of the 'two bed mixed dorm' as we are two girls travelling together and liked the low cost instead of a more expensive private room. The hostel is in a good location. Staff weren't pleasant, not helpful, made us feel like we were bothering them. No atmosphere and very cliquey! The best bit is the kitchen because it's new. Only two toilets on the floor we were on, never could go when needed to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.0

Last minute plan to stay at Granton and were able to park on the street outside (apparently free 8pm-8am). Hostel had a good atmosphere with plenty people gathered in the common areas - decent sized kitchen and really cool wooden tables and the sofas in front of the tv. The floor we stayed in was undergoing rennovations, was probably needed as the windows in our room was coming away from the wall! Nevertheless it was warm enough, unisex bathroom was clean and had a powerful enough shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
8.3

Good, free wifi. Lockers available outside rooms ($5 deposit). Room doors don't automatically lock (must be locked with key from outside). 20 min walk to CBD and Newmarket. Communal area closes at midnight. Friendly staff and clean facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are currently looking for a night porter so we keep our new common areas open through the night. I will pass your comments onto our staff. Have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

I met so many nice people here and i will come back again! The guy who runs this place is awesome and helpful as well as the other staff members!! They provided very good customer services and i always get what i want to know. They even had a open party for all the people staying in and provide free BBQ on the night i arrived! Overall, i loved it and i enjoyed my stay. I will come back after all works done guys!! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

I don't know why people are complaining about their stay, clearly its not the best to you but it is not the worst neither. I must say it is one of the best hostel in Auckland even some rooms windows can not open but there is air conditioning running 24 hours. I loved my stay and i have been coming back to here 5 times during my travel. Great atmosphere, location( as stated on main page 15mins walk to the central), FREE unlimited ultra fast wi-fi ( LOVE IT!)! Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.7

Had a great stay here, 6 bed dorm was a good size and looks new, showers and toilets on every floor was a bonus, nice kitchen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the comments im glad you enjoyed your stay, have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2016
6.6

I spend just 1 night the place was fine for the price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th May 2016
7.7

My first night was in a 6 bed dorm, unfortunately my room had no windows, which sucks but that happens quite often in Auckland. 2nd night was in a 4 bed dorm which did have windows. Atmosphere was great, good kitchen and unlimited free fast Wifi. Compared to the other 3 hostels I've stayed in Auckland this one is definitely the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2016
5.7

Not really a bad hostel but not really good either. Location ok for me, far enough out of town yet close enough to most things. Facilities were OK and clean but cleaning happened at silly times meaning bathrooms were unavailable in a morning. Rooms were very basic with paper thin wall partitions so very noisy, very old mattresses and pillows/quilts resembling half empty bags of cotton wool balls. Staff were friendly enough but had no knowledge or advice about the city or bus services etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, im sorry you didnt find our hostel up to standard, our cleaning starts at 7am is done a floor at a time, this means other floors toilets and showers are available at this time, we are currently upgrading our beds / pillows over the winter months, i will cover the staff knowledge in our staff meeting and get everyone up to date. Thanks and have a great trip

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
7.4

Overall a good place to stay! It's close to the city and right next to the bus stop. There are also a couple of little shops just up the road. The security could be better. No body seems to lock their doors and there is a limited number of small lockers for use. The free wifi is usually good but slow at peak times. Hostel is very helpful for new arrivals in to New Zealand as they will provide you with a proof of address. Overall, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.