Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grafton House Accommodation

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • javier_vip2605
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Feb 2017
3.7

Facilities are absolutely disgusting. Nobody came into the room to clean it during my four nights stay. Besides, somebody entered the room and stole my roommate's money. Just, stay away from there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
6.0

The stay was overall ok. The wifi didn't work quite a bit of the time. The reception desk was usually empty with no one around, even when we rang the bell. The rooms are very, very standard. the overall atmosphere is average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.3

Hostel wasn't bad nor great. Liked how the dorm I was in had those pod like beds, had good mattress and pillow- best thing about the hostel. Was about 10/15min walk to K'road and upper queens st. 5 min walk to airport shuttle bus. Shower was terrible, created a mist of water so don't expect to have a quick shower. Had just 2 showers for floor 2 so had to wait in the morning or go to the next floor. Nothing to dry your hands with after washing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.0

I stayed at Grafton House twice. The first time I stayed in an 8 person dorm. The bunks were very rickety and when I tried climbing up to the top bunk it would wobble precariously. The second time, however, I stayed in a 10 person dorm and the room was much nicer with curtained bed areas and outlets. The bathrooms were a bit small and messy. If they had bath mats for the showers and some hand towels it would make a big difference. The biggest problem was cockroaches in the kitchen cabinets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
4.3

Only one shower works in the building, rest are a drizzle. They clean the kitchen on a Tuesday throughout breakfast and lunch time so cannot make breaky or lunch. Toilets often get closed and cleaned at 9am which is prime bathroom time when check out is 10pm. Some bunk beds are timing so you hurt yoir head when sit up, and also get hair stuck. Fridge leaks and makes food wet, dryers dont always work and one microwave is broken. Always dirty dishes but not staff fault as they always say to clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.3

The Wifi was good, the staff were really friendly and helpful, overall there was a good atmosphere in the hostel and the beds were really comfortable, however, the kitchen could have been bigger as it got quite crazy in there in the evenings and seemed to close at a silly time in the morning (10.30-12ish) which was quite frustrating. The toilets and showers were probably the biggest issue, no where near enough and they are more like a mist of water than a shower. Location could be better too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
4.0

A strange environment that's too expensive for what it is. The downstairs always has TVs on and isn't arranged properly for people to actually meet and chat. The staff weren't very friendly but rather snobby. I wouldn't recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
7.4

Very spartan. Was one of the only places with a spare room over the NRL 9s weekend, so I was forced into a 2 person room. A fine hostel for one night, but not long term.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

Bedsheets were thin and piling, beds are shakey/creaky making it hard to sleep. Lights off on the patio @ 11pm? really? People stay social on the patio door hours afterwards. Kitchen was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.0

The staff seemed annoyed at everything we were asking them. There was a cat coming into our dorm all the time, and two of us were allergic. The kitchen was not clean, even though they have surveillance cameras to make sure people clean up after themselves. The location was ok, not too far to walk to the city center. But a bit far away. We met a few nice people there, but overall the atmosphere wasn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.