Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grafton House Accommodation

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
6.6

good: common areas are decent, wifi included, bedding clean, good pillows, and allowed to leave bags after check out time bad: bathrooms could be cleaner, they clean them at a bad hour of the morning. While I was brushing my teeth I was asked to leave the bathroom so they could continue cleaning it. Wifi is terrible and almost drove me insane as I couldn't contact friends to plan things, only place is works consistently is when standing directly under the router. No window in bedroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
6.0

I only stayed one night and it was really social and friendly! Great wifi, good drinking/ smoking area. Also great social area. But the room was incredibly cramped, had no windows and felt pretty enclosed. The bathroom was super grim and I had to wearing flip flops in there. Bed sheets weren't completely clean either, but okay for a quick stay which is just a bed for the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
3.1

Would not recommend this hostel to my worst enemy. Bathrooms dirty, shower just a mist, rooms so basic they don't even have a bin and the beds were so rickety you wake up every time the other person moves!! The two bed dorm was more like a prison cell. It also smells damp. The staff are rude and not very helpful for backpackers. They kept my $20 key deposit because I was 15mins late to check out at 10:15am, even though they don't clean the rooms until 12pm!!!! Really unnecessary! Awful place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2017
4.9

The staff are friendly and the location is OK, other then that the place is terrible. The rooms are tiny with no where to put your stuff. There is a constant bad smell in rooms,hallways and bathrooms. Shower can barely be called a shower, just a weak spray that I found usually cold and no shelves so I had to put my toiletries on the dirty floor, one didn't even have a hanger for my towel. People are squeezed in like a prison camp, didn't even have enough lockers. This place is less than basic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Feb 2017
6.0

No lockers in rooms and only tiny lockers available which you had to pay for. Kitchen was really small. Cleaners cleaning at peak bathroom time in the morning. Bedding quite clean. Small rooms for lots of people but for the price not too bad. Definitely nicer hostels available in Auckland though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments lockers we find work best in the hallways as guests are sleeping in rooms, cleaners start 6am we have showers toilets on all floors and this take time when done properly.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.0

Only stayed here for one night in a double room. The bed was very clean comfortable but the room was a little on the small side. The staff were very friendly and the facilities seemed good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
6.0

The stay was overall ok. The wifi didn't work quite a bit of the time. The reception desk was usually empty with no one around, even when we rang the bell. The rooms are very, very standard. the overall atmosphere is average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.6

Originally stayed in a 2 bed dorm. No lockers in room and huge brown stain on carpet. Bunk very squeaky. But on final night we had booked into the pod dorms which were much better! Individual pods with plug, shelf and curtain. Really good nights sleep in this room. Very far out of town, around 30 minute walk to main part of Queen Street which was an inconvenience for us. Staff were friendly enough. Wifi free but not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.3

Hostel wasn't bad nor great. Liked how the dorm I was in had those pod like beds, had good mattress and pillow- best thing about the hostel. Was about 10/15min walk to K'road and upper queens st. 5 min walk to airport shuttle bus. Shower was terrible, created a mist of water so don't expect to have a quick shower. Had just 2 showers for floor 2 so had to wait in the morning or go to the next floor. Nothing to dry your hands with after washing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.0

I stayed at Grafton House twice. The first time I stayed in an 8 person dorm. The bunks were very rickety and when I tried climbing up to the top bunk it would wobble precariously. The second time, however, I stayed in a 10 person dorm and the room was much nicer with curtained bed areas and outlets. The bathrooms were a bit small and messy. If they had bath mats for the showers and some hand towels it would make a big difference. The biggest problem was cockroaches in the kitchen cabinets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments the insects were removed using a special gel product and with the hot humidity in Nz it makes them breed very quickly seems to be working now changed on a weekly basis

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.