Hostelworld.com

Grand Hostel Budapest

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 303 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Grand Hostel Budapest Located at Huvosvolgyi ut 69, , Budapest.
Grand Hostel Budapest
Hungary
Budapest +36 302221577 1021 Huvosvolgyi ut 69
78% 303
47.5233738 18.9881300
Grand Hostel Budapest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Sep 2015
9.1

Please clean the cobwebs from top bedrooms! Very scary for someone who is scared of spiders! So many cobwebs!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2015
7.1

Songs till 4 am at Hostel cafe were not helpful for good rest during the night. It was though Chocolate festival time when even several main streets in Budapest were closed for cars. So I hope it is not usual situation for this Hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Denham
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Sep 2015
8.9

Really lovely staff, wasnt to happy when i came back at 4am to let me in. But who would be. Not the best location but good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Aug 2015
7.7

The bar and garden are that what makes it a nice place to stay and chill out with inspiring guests, mostly backpackers and nice and very helpful staff. The location is not perfect, but still close enough to the main sights. If you are not searching for luxury but informal chill out, this is the place to stay. Btw, the coffee and beer served is really good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2015
9.4

I had a really good time in this place. It's the easy going and helpful staff that make it. It's a little out of town but is in a nice a green and quiet area. Would recommend it for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dannytheperlman
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2015
9.4

The service was incredible, staff very friendly and helpful, very relaxed too! Location is not in the city center, but it's still pretty quick and easy to get to the city center from the hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2015
6.0

Rooms were small but comfortable, staff was very helpful and they all spoke fluent English. For the price it was a good hostel, BUT, the location is absolute garbage. It is a half hour tram+subway ride into the city and the night service back if you go out at night is once every hour. Although I like the hostel I would NOT recommend due to this. Also the atmosphere was disappointing, not a lot of other travellers (especially for August). Laundry was also bad. If it rained then no laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2015
9.4

Great place! not in the Center but not so far, nice atmosphere and crew, very homy :) will come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2015
7.1

If possible, update your directions how to get to the hostel, if you know there is a longer term construction going on on the route you recommend. Especially in peak times like Sziget, when a lot of ppl come. I managed fairly well, even it was late night, but others it might help. There was a problem with the overloaded WiFi, but the staff solved it quickly. Was incredibly hot. In my room one could feel the smell of cigarettes from from the terrace underneath.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
7th Aug 2015
8.3

It is a long way out, transport in Budapest is pretty good, but do bear in mind it does take some forty minutes to get into the city centre. It was a pleasant enough place, staff were helpful although I found it strange that they had neither a kitchen for guests nor a bar that sold food. All in all it was a pleasant stay but because of the location I would only recommend to those who actively don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of Budapest proper.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.