Hostelworld.com

Grande Hostel de Coimbra

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Grande Hostel de Coimbra Located at Rua Antero Quental n196, , Coimbra.
Grande Hostel de Coimbra
Portugal
Coimbra Coimbra 3000-031Coimbra Rua Antero Quental n�196
83% 933
40.2114575 -8.4212565
Grande Hostel de Coimbra
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.6

it was ok. The building. The place. The rooms. The only negative thing is that before leaving the hostel, I asked the guy in charge, how to reach the train station. He was so shocked at my question, as if I had asked about relativism theorem. He looked for the answer in internet, for 10 minutes, and he couldn t give me the right answer. I said it was ok. and I started to walk and could manege myself, asking in the street. But I wondered.....Am I the first traveller going to train station??

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.6

This is very much a traditional hostel. It's an old building with limited retrofits. Bunks packed into a room with a few plugs and basic lockers. Dormitory-style mixed gender bathrooms. A functional kitchen. So there's nothing explicitly wrong with the place, but it certainly isn't glampacking either. Definitely a good option if you're visiting Coimbra. Go see some Fado?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
8.3

A bit far from the city center but right next to the botanical garden and university. AWESOME KITCHEN, so much space to cook! Breakfast is ok. Dorms are comfirtable, bathrooms are mzrgr, spacious and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.3

nice kitchen with free coffee/tea, cold in the night but there were extra blankets in the room, would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2016
6.3

Staff was quite nice and helpful, there is no public computer but they let you use the one from the reception. Kitchen was great, breakfast what you can expect from a cheap hostel, location was good too. The big downside was that I was in the room in the attic and it was FREEZING, and not only in the evening. The little portable heater really did not do it, and it was very humid up there. Not much atmosphere, no activities organized byu the hostel so you can meet other people, as far as I know.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
8.9

Nice hostel with a nice atmosphere. The dorm room I was in had a door doesn't lock automatically when the door shuts, which means a lot of the time it's unlocked (I never had to actually use my key to get in the room).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. awesome staff, super relaxed atmosphere and a great location. I came for a night and ended up staying 4. The place to stay in coimbra

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Feb 2016
6.0

It was a really bad smell in the air, like molded. The staff was really nice. The breakfast was good and the kitchen was well prepared. Just the smell was annoying.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2016
6.3

Staffwas ver y friendly but most ofthe time missing. Breackfast really poor

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
8.6

Lovely, comfortable hostel in a very central but quiet location (near the Uni and the Praça where the students go out at night). The atmosphere was amazing and I can totally recommend this place to people who travel alone and like to socialize. The staff as well was amazing, very friendly and always willing to help out with even the smallest worries even if that just consisted in making tea at midnight ;) The heater and blankets were also helpful on the cold winternights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.