Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grande Hostel de Coimbra

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
6.6

Dirty, old place. Guess they are not taking care of that old house.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall a very solid hostel. However, it could have been cleaner and some of the facilities and installations seemed to be somewhat run down and old. The Location is beautiful but quite a hike from the Center/the stations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.0

Great staff and atmosphere but the communal kitchen and bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. You get what you pay for

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, even if just for a night. Large well equipped kitchen and lots of bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcchristianpaje
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Toilet is a bit messy (just the tissue paper because it's all over the place). It's an old house so you can hear if someone is walking. Generally, I like my stay because I got upgraded to a 4-bed room and I don't have a roommate that time which is fine by me since I have to make a report (also they didn't charge me for the upgrade). Friendly and approachable staff. The location is a bit of a hike but it's Coimbra so you should expect that. Walking distance from the center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
6.6

Has great potential, but definitely needs a major clean up. Air quality in my room was terrible, and it was damp...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Easy to get to by bus from the stations to Praca Republica: just a couple of mins up the diagonal. Lots of quirky studenty bars round about. Andre at reception did his best with onward info. Comfy dorm bed. Reasonable facilities, though a pc would have been helpful. Signage isn't great, and the approach up steep steps in the unprepossessing 'garden' is Bates Motelesque. Spooky & creaky with a slightly House of Usher feel, but friendly enough, despite few guests in rainy February. Well priced.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
7.7

The social spaces would have been good if there had been other backpackers. The breakfast is very average, and at night the hostel gets very, very cold. The wifi was good and the staff were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Dec 2016
4.0

No lockers, the doors couldn't lock and the security was more than minimal. The guy was friendly but not more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
9.4

Actually quite nice. Woody, cozy hostel. I was there for a Sunday night in December and I think there were four other people in the hostel, so it was obviously quiet. I got in at about 10PM and someone came to the desk to greet me. Breakfast was basic but fine for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.