Hostelworld.com

Grande Hostel de Coimbra

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Grande Hostel de Coimbra Located at Rua Antero Quental n196, , Coimbra.
Grande Hostel de Coimbra
Portugal
Coimbra Coimbra 3000-031Coimbra Rua Antero Quental n�196
84% 949
40.2114575 -8.4212565
Grande Hostel de Coimbra
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th May 2016
7.4

Hostel was fine however was lacking in atmosphere however this could have just been because I was slightly out of season. Great location and free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2016
8.9

This is a great hostel, great facilities and organisations and staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2016
8.9

Close to the university and historic center. A bus-ride away from the train station (20-30 min walk). Basic breakfast. Nice & helpful staff. Quite tranquil - not a excessive party hostel. The taps were quite annoying because you had to keep pressing to get water to flow and you couldn't combine cold and hot water. Did not seem clean but not extremely dirty either. Maybe just an optical illusion from the colours and the worn-down look of the place. Very college student dorm like.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
7.1

I was in the 10 mix dorm which is in the attic. Freezing cold up there. Very few outlets for charging anywhere in the hostel. There was 6 lockers in my dorm...for 10... The bathrooms, kitchen, living rooms were nice. Staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything. Lots of stairs to climb getting to hostel and then in the hostel, but it's right next to the University. While I wasn't impressed with the 10 person dorm and wouldn't chose it again, the hostel and people were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd May 2016
10.0

Great hostel with really awesome guys working there. Big, bright rooms, hot showers and an excellent location from where you can start your day in Coimbra. I'd definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.6

it was ok. The building. The place. The rooms. The only negative thing is that before leaving the hostel, I asked the guy in charge, how to reach the train station. He was so shocked at my question, as if I had asked about relativism theorem. He looked for the answer in internet, for 10 minutes, and he couldn t give me the right answer. I said it was ok. and I started to walk and could manege myself, asking in the street. But I wondered.....Am I the first traveller going to train station??

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.6

This is very much a traditional hostel. It's an old building with limited retrofits. Bunks packed into a room with a few plugs and basic lockers. Dormitory-style mixed gender bathrooms. A functional kitchen. So there's nothing explicitly wrong with the place, but it certainly isn't glampacking either. Definitely a good option if you're visiting Coimbra. Go see some Fado?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
8.3

A bit far from the city center but right next to the botanical garden and university. AWESOME KITCHEN, so much space to cook! Breakfast is ok. Dorms are comfirtable, bathrooms are mzrgr, spacious and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2016
8.3

nice kitchen with free coffee/tea, cold in the night but there were extra blankets in the room, would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2016
6.3

Staff was quite nice and helpful, there is no public computer but they let you use the one from the reception. Kitchen was great, breakfast what you can expect from a cheap hostel, location was good too. The big downside was that I was in the room in the attic and it was FREEZING, and not only in the evening. The little portable heater really did not do it, and it was very humid up there. Not much atmosphere, no activities organized byu the hostel so you can meet other people, as far as I know.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.