Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grande Hostel de Coimbra

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Grande Hostel de Coimbra Located at Rua Antero Quental n196, , Coimbra.
Grande Hostel de Coimbra
Portugal
Coimbra Coimbra 3000-031Coimbra Rua Antero Quental n�196
87% 1074
40.2114575 -8.4212565
Grande Hostel de Coimbra
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Nov 2016
6.9

Wouldn't say I had the warmest welcome by the guy at reception. Spent well over an hour on the wrong bus as per the directions in the email and discussed that with him, but he didn't care. No early check in despite the hostel being empty, and room not requiring cleaning. Then others were welcomed and checked in before I was although I had been waiting there for 2 hours in the Tv room. Heater was a must in the cold weather which was provided when asked. Clean hostel, comfortable beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
9.7

I loved it here. The staff was really sweet & the atmosphere very laid back & comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.7

This was my second time in this hostel and it was just as wonderful as the first time! Again, thank you for everything. And I will definitely come back maybe not for a holiday but to study here ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2016
7.7

The location and staff are great, but the bathrooms need a serious makeover.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Oct 2016
6.9

Great environment. Met some good people. and good staff. But showers and facilities not clean (used Jimmy on the shower shelf) and the fridge probably hasn't been cleaned or cleared out in over a month. Also some of the cooking utensils have no handles rendering then unusable. If the place want so community based is be a much worse review. Thankfully the beds were clean and the sheets also. Also not sure if they every lock this place? Lucky the people staying there were so trustworthy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.3

Great environment, very nice open feel to the whole hostel. Friendly staff and travellers. Very comfy living room. Balcony area and garden (with hammock) are nice features. Breakfast is simple, cereal or toast but it's good to keep you going. Showers could do with a bit of love but work fine. One of the best hostels in Coimbra on a budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Sep 2016
8.0

great stay! chilled vibes! Lovely staff! Real Hostel flair! only bummer: we couldnt lock our room door & the gate to the hostel was kinda never closed?! but at night there would be a'house-door'which is locked, still anyone could leave another door open (from the kutchen which leads ya right outside) or the windows of the common room, anyone could get in outside area seems to be in 'renovation-status' but nothing is being done. eventhough it could easily be made usable within a day or so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Sep 2016
9.4

Loved being here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel with super friendly staff, very helpful as well. Ask them to recommend a tapas restaurant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
7.7

Nice hostel, friendly, sociable staff. Good atmosphere in total. Normal breakfast, furniture is a little older, but ok if you just plan to stay a few nights. Location is good, but there´s no supermarket nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.