Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Grande Hostel de Coimbra

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1099 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1099 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • marcchristianpaje
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Toilet is a bit messy (just the tissue paper because it's all over the place). It's an old house so you can hear if someone is walking. Generally, I like my stay because I got upgraded to a 4-bed room and I don't have a roommate that time which is fine by me since I have to make a report (also they didn't charge me for the upgrade). Friendly and approachable staff. The location is a bit of a hike but it's Coimbra so you should expect that. Walking distance from the center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.6

Has great potential, but definitely needs a major clean up. Air quality in my room was terrible, and it was damp...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Easy to get to by bus from the stations to Praca Republica: just a couple of mins up the diagonal. Lots of quirky studenty bars round about. Andre at reception did his best with onward info. Comfy dorm bed. Reasonable facilities, though a pc would have been helpful. Signage isn't great, and the approach up steep steps in the unprepossessing 'garden' is Bates Motelesque. Spooky & creaky with a slightly House of Usher feel, but friendly enough, despite few guests in rainy February. Well priced.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
7.7

The social spaces would have been good if there had been other backpackers. The breakfast is very average, and at night the hostel gets very, very cold. The wifi was good and the staff were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Dec 2016
4.0

No lockers, the doors couldn't lock and the security was more than minimal. The guy was friendly but not more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
9.4

Actually quite nice. Woody, cozy hostel. I was there for a Sunday night in December and I think there were four other people in the hostel, so it was obviously quiet. I got in at about 10PM and someone came to the desk to greet me. Breakfast was basic but fine for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
5.7

This hostel has seen better days; it seemed somewhat run down and neglected. The location was okay, but the place needs work, paint, cleaning and additional staff and management attention.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
6.9

Wouldn't say I had the warmest welcome by the guy at reception. Spent well over an hour on the wrong bus as per the directions in the email and discussed that with him, but he didn't care. No early check in despite the hostel being empty, and room not requiring cleaning. Then others were welcomed and checked in before I was although I had been waiting there for 2 hours in the Tv room. Heater was a must in the cold weather which was provided when asked. Clean hostel, comfortable beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
9.7

I loved it here. The staff was really sweet & the atmosphere very laid back & comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.7

This was my second time in this hostel and it was just as wonderful as the first time! Again, thank you for everything. And I will definitely come back maybe not for a holiday but to study here ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.