Hostelworld.com

Great Glen Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Great Glen Hostel Located at South Laggan, Spean Bridge, Loch Ness.
Great Glen Hostel
Scotland
Loch Ness PH34 4EA South Laggan, Spean Bridge
86% 756
57.0341218 -4.8135673
Great Glen Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
9.4

Great location and good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
10.0

A nice, friendly relaxed atmosphere. Excellent hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.4

Lovely location, but other than that pretty disappointing. We'd booked a 2 person room which turned out to be a tiny room with bunk beds (and just about enough room to walk around them). For >£40 i thought it was far too expensive. We were right next to the toilet/shower room and the wall was paper thing, so having heard about 10 guys from the dorm next door brush their teeth and go to the loo, the bunk beds didn't matter as i wasn't much in the mood for romance anyway!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
7.7

Great location for the GGW. 200 mtrs from the way. Nice old building. We were only there one night so never really used the facilities. Clean and hassle free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

Nice clean hostel... Good location for great glen way... The walk down the side of the busy A82 from the trail feels a little threatening after the peace and quiet. Staff were welcoming, facilities clean and functional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel and location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

A superb hostel, staff helpful and friendly, rooms quiet and very comfortable bunks, showers great, kitchen well stocked, free wifi worked(not like some places) overall THE BEST HOSTEL IN THE HIGHLANDS, you wont be disappointed,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Really warm, clean and friendly hostel, open during the day so weary walkers can still get access to the lounge and kitchen which is a bonus. Rooms all have PCs and throughout hostel there is free wi-fi. Well equipped clean kitchen and cosy lounge/tv/dining area. Well stocked shop behind reception for basic supplies and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
8.3

A very convenient hostel for the Great Glen Way. Facilities were well maintained and clean, twin rooms were small but adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hostel is quite isolated but on a main road, so you need to plan to bring food in (only basics are sold by the hostel), or walk to either the Eagle Barge or nearby Waterpark. Lunches can be delivered by Well of Seven Heads Larder. A brief but pleasant overnight stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Mar 2016
9.4

I've been to many hostels in Scotland, but this is my favourite so far. The atmosphere here is special - in a way I can't quite put my finger on - especially so on long summer evenings. The staff are very friendly and helpful too. The only problem as far as I can see is that if you are arriving on foot, it can be quite tricky to get to, as it's located on an A class road. From the Great Glen footpath, the hostel is obscured by trees. Other than that, I can't think of anything negative to say.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.