X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Great Glen Hostel Reviews

South Laggan, Spean Bridge, Loch Ness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
608 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

What a great place to be at ! - Morning coffee available for costumer consumption AND free wifi (no limits) for my internetfix. The general staff are awesome at their job and kind, which made the already good experience, better !.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good place to rest your weary bones after a full day's walking.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very kind and flexible staff, thank you so much!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels we have ever stayed in. Great food prices. Faultless.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place great location, well thought out shop with stock you need to turn up at silly o'clock at night and make a meal. Well done Great Glen.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We were walking the GGW, we didn't know that the hostel was self catering, possibly we missed the information

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel experience.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A great hostel ideally located for exploring the area. Good atmosphere and a good mix of people

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Carpet was dirty. Corridor stinks. Shared bathroom and no breakfast also scored low.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

snoring roommates all the night,unfortunately.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nicely located, good kitchen and nice staff.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We really enjoyed it. Thanks a lot.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I will definitely be back.


91%

The Great Glen hostel is an excellent hostel. The facilities are great - large kitchen and communal area. Access to computer. And the standard of cleanliness is high. The best place I stayed on the Great Glen way.


74%

The door in the bedroom we used didn't lock automatically, therefore it was predominantly left open and lockers in the dorms would be much appreciated. The staff were lovely, we appreciated the little things such as the shop, some more instruction upon arrival would have been nice


80%

Thanks very much to the warden who when he found out our bag had not been delivered by the baggage company, phoned the company and then went and collected it for us from where it had been delivered. Only downside was our room was very noisy as it was surrounded by the kitchen, car park entrance, mess room and main corridor. Otherwise it is a really good hostel with a good shop and the warden and family are very helpful and friendly.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Glen Hostel was a great find for our family of six. We rented out a room for five and a room for two that were co-located and close to a bathroom. Rooms each had their own computers and a good wifi signal. The common areas were large and well equipped. We arrived by car, but the hostel was easily accessible to public bus transportation. Overall. Excellent value for money in a great location!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

It was good stay. there was only thing with my trip. i booked for 5 people , however we turn up 4 people. i tried to call a day before however it went to answer machine. when we checked in we have been charged for 5 as it could have been charged for 4 people staying in the hostel.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The one suggestion that I would make is to post the hours off the front desk/grocery shop. We had planned a very early departure and would have purchased our breakfast supplies the night before had we known the desk only opened at 8:00AM. I acknowledge that we failed to ask the nIght before, which would also have solved our problem. Otherwise, we had a very pleasant stay and found the common kitchen to be superbly equipped.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks guys for making my short stay at the Great glen Hostel so enjoyable, I only wished I could have stayed longer. I

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Loch Ness Hostels

Please give us your feedback