X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Great Glen Hostel Reviews

South Laggan, Spean Bridge, Loch Ness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
732 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very quiet (when we were there) hostel in rural Scotland. Massive, well-stocked kitchen and plenty of space. The hostel has a very useful little shop to buy food as there's nothing for miles around. It was quite cold when we visited so I would recommend bringing some warm clothes!


100%

What a fantastic hostel and we sleep very well. Everything is prepared and the kitchen is pretty clean and large. Especially the staffs are very friendly haha. Really have to recommend this hostel!!!

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel i have been ever. Clean, nice, warm... everything was perfect


91%

The hostel was fine except for someone taking a shower next to our heads at 10.30 at night, playing loud music. The staff were very friendly, with yummy rhubarb cake when we arrived. It was nice to meet up with another traveler.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A lovely hostel, very welcoming clean and tidy. The dorm room that I stayed in was clean, but the lighting was disappointing as no lighting above individual beds, and only one main light. For those who are used to sleeping in the dark, i didn't have a great nights sleep because of the green exit light by the main door. I have experienced this at another hostel recently, I do think that some adjustments could be put in place to help users sleep. This wouldn't put me off staying again though.


89%

Really accommodating staff, especially as I've never stayed there before and I was arriving just after reception closed.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

clean, organised, great vibe, great staff! so helpful :) moved us rooms with no problem' we will definetly be back!

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely hostel, great common area and kitchen, spacious dorms and bathrooms, very clean. Perfect stop on the Great Glen Way.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We booked a family room so security was excellent. Good car park area. During our stay the Hostel was busy with school groups, canoeistscanoeists and people doing the Great Glen.

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

No complaints about this at all. Clean, secure, friendly, excellent value and the bus stops outside. Only problem is lack of local places to eat but the kitchen at the hostel is great for cooking your own.

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a good comfy stay here - would definately use again.

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

one of the finest hostels I have visited over a period of about 20 years

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice hostel - it's great that they even had a little "shop" to buy breakfast!


89%

We very much appreciated the possibility to have a tea and relax in your lounge. It would have been great if reception had opened a bit earlier (e.g. at 4pm), but other than that we had a nice stay!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Really friendly hostel, staff are nice and the facilities are good. Room by reception can be a bit noisy due to people coming up and down the stairs and chatting loudly but that's not the hostels fault. Mattresses could be a bit better too.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Our stay at Great Glen Hostel was really nice. The rooms and facilities were absolutely tidy and clean. The personnel was friendly and helpful at any time. The location of the hostel is good for day trips in the area of Loch Ness and we would definitely stay there again.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely hostel. I stopped here just for a night on the way back from Isle of Skye . Comfortable large beds, a fantastic large and well equipped kitchen and good bathrooms. Recommended if you want a quiet place to explore the outdoors in the area.




View all Loch Ness Hostels

Please give us your feedback