Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Great Glen Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 896 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 896 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
10.0

Excellent - many thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.4

Spent a great night in the great glen hostel. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Everything you could need in the kitchen. Liked the water urn. Saved boiling a kettle every two minutes. We'll run. Excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
8.0

Great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

Had a great time at the hostel. There was plenty of room to relax, the staff were friendly and helpful and there was a large kitchen and a well stocked shop. I had a comfy sleep in one of the two-person rooms. All in all I'd highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
9.1

Spacious, homey hostel along the Great Glen Way. Although there were no stores nearby, the hostel sells a wide range of food and useful items.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
7.7

very helpful staff. Comfortable lounge and convenient kitchen area. Rooms ok if a little cramped. Clean and tidy but the only negative is that there isn't many pubs, shops. cafes or restaurants near by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
8.0

Double room with 2 bunk beds was comfortably warm and close to the shared bathroom/. There was free tea/coffee at all times in the kitchen, and free porridge for breakfast. A good range of food and other products available at reception, and staff were very helpful. Not much happening at Laggan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2017
10.0

Great location... ideally situated along great glen way... friendly atmosphere... would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Afghanistan, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.6

I arrived late and left early- so didn't meet any staff. The place was clean and warm, with big kitchen and comfy beds. I slept well- no noise. Absolutely fantastic location. I would go back and stay longer another time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
6.9

I have stayed at this location on many occasions over the past 35 years. This time, the welcome was good and the hostel was much improved since SYHA days, although one of the male showers could be replaced. Unfortunately, on the second night, a group of path repairers were staying. These people acted in an ignorant and selfish manner. They played loud music and swore loudly. As a result, all of the other guests had left the social areas of the building by 9.15pm and gone to bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.