Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Great Glen Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel with great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.9

Great Hostel, very relaxed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Recently refurbished, this is a really great place, everything works, great kitchen and very clean. Very obliging staff. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
9.7

Unbelievable atmosphere and facilities. Friendly staff, beautiful kitchen and lounge, great wifi, one of the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Doing the Great Glen Way, there is a short horrible walk up the A82 with fast lorries passing very close. But this is a minor on the overall very positive experience. Note The Eagle barge is closed Mon+Tues, and no shops close. We had an ASDA delivery for dinner, breakfast and pack lunch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

We stayed in the ensuite room for five opposite reception. Nice and clean, great common area and well equipped kitchen. Friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.0

Only guest at the hostel, so I'm not exactly sure about the atmosphere. Regarding cleanliness though, the room I was assigned had dust covering the furniture, but the washroom was very clean. If the owner knew I was going to be the sole guest, maybe he could have dusted-off the room a bit? Just saying. I had a booking, so it wasn't like I arrived unnanounced. Overall, he was helpful and polite. I do think the price was a bit too much for what was offered, so maybe I'd look into a B&B next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Hi, Great Hostel, Great staff, Great location. Only minus - Drying room capacity and function (not good enough for Scottish weather!) Only enough room for 2 wet walkers kit and that did not dry overnight. Apart from that all good. 2 small things - extractor fan not working in shower / toilet. Only one of the 2 lights working in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay at the Great Glen Hostel. The 2 of us had a family room with en-suite all to ourselves, since the hostel wasn't busy. Great and plenty cooking facilities. Nice common room. Great location for Munro bagging.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Oct 2016
7.4

We went during the quiet season, so there wasn't much atmosphere, but that's our fault i guess! Having a car here is a must of you're not a walker. Staff were great, helpful and friendly. Room basic, but fine. Toilets and shower rooms could do with a deep clean/refurbishment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.