Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Great Glen Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Great Glen Hostel Located at South Laggan, Spean Bridge, Loch Ness.
Great Glen Hostel
Scotland
Loch Ness PH34 4EA South Laggan, Spean Bridge
85% 821
57.0341218 -4.8135673
Great Glen Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Was a good stay! Able to relax and enjoy yourself inside and outside the hostel. Kitchen had everything you need. Closest bar is a mile away. Storage is fantastic for anything from bikes to canoes. Overall great value!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
7.7

Good position by GGW, good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.9

Good location. Friendly staff with a small but well stocked grocery store, (it even has Coke Zero!). We stayed in a private room of 5, lighting (for reading) could be better but we didn't stay in much. Functional and well equipped kitchen and dinning room. Will definitely use again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.6

It was a tad bit expensive for the facilities provided. But then we booked last minute so I don't expect anything else. It was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
8.6

Had a really small room (bunk beds) next to the toilet, paper thin walls and there were some kids running around causing a havok late into the evening, which was quite disturbing. Its a hostel after all. The kitchen had a lot of free goods and items. Perhaps I'd opt for a better room next time round. Apart from that it is a nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.7

We loved our stay. We booked a private (2 person) room and were satisfied. The kitchen was very large with multiple areas to cook, plenty of room for many groups of travelers. The wifi wasn't great, but suited our needs well enough. The only suggestion I would make is for the owners to try to make a little more of a protected walk linking the hostel to the Great Glen Way. It was well-marked, but the 300 meters between the trail and them were on a busy road with not a lot of room to walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
7.4

Beautiful sceneries surrounding the Hostel in walk-able distance. However the location is not ideal travelling via public transport. Overall the Hostel is well mainatined and bed are nice with fair-good facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Used as a stop off when going further north. Family of 5 in 1 room, all very good. Kitchen and dining area suited us perfectly. We only really used it as a sleep stop and didn't spend much time here. Did the job, I would recommend and use again. Thanks Great Glen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
6.6

- No real interaction with the staff after checking-in. - Door catches very stiff and no-way to pull the door closed without having the key to hand. Not much use when the wife is getting stuff from the car (with the key to our double room) while I'm trying to go to the kitchen to cook. should have issued one room-key per bunk. - Evening disturbed until after 11pm by children playing screaming and shouting in corridors, despite complaints to parents (?) who shrugged & denied knowledge of English.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
7.7

The property is beautifully located, just by the lake and just looking out the window is a treat to the eyes. Having said that, the location is a little bit in the middle of nowhere, due to which I think having breakfast included in the room charge would have been nice. I wouldn't even mind paying extra for it. If you are looking to get away from noise and chatter, Great Glen is a great option. It's halfway between Inverness and Fort William and can be a bit tricky to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.