Hostelworld.com

Great Glen Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Great Glen Hostel Located at South Laggan, Spean Bridge, Loch Ness.
Great Glen Hostel
Scotland
Loch Ness PH34 4EA South Laggan, Spean Bridge
86% 774
57.0341218 -4.8135673
Great Glen Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.9

The rooms, common rooms, and kitchens are all very clean and tidy. The reception staff was very nice and helpful, and flexible measures were prepared for people who arrived late. I would advise to close the windows of the washrooms in the evening, as lots of flies came in and was a nuisance when we showered.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.6

Ben is a great manager: cheerful, helpful, and knowledgeable. I was glad there were laundry facilities and a drying room available. It's a very good spot for Great Glen Way hikers since it is so close to the path. The downsides are: It's a bit far from any restaurants and there are an unpleasant 300 meters of the A82 to walk on the way to the hostel from the GGW or the Water Park pub. Also, the double room was very cramped for 2 people with luggage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent Hostel. Very accommodating staff, with a nice relaxed atmosphere. Great kitchen and an excellent location for exploring the lakes and mountains nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
7.4

Welcome, clean basic accommodation No food apart from cereals and milk to buy at reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.4

It was my first time to stay in a hostel and I am 52, I was really impressed and would recommend to anyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.3

Stayed 1 night with a friend cycling the Caledonian Cycle Route 78. Very friendly and helpful reception at the hostel which was very clean. Room small but adequate for 1 night. Only irritation was the lack of kitchen hygiene by other hostellers! Not a fault of GGHostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
6.3

We had a terrible experience: at the end of a 20-km hike, couldn't find it and actually walked another half a mile before realizing we overshot. We called them and the response was: "oh yes sorry he had signs but some kids took it off a week ago". Turns out we were not the only ones. We will never stay there again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
8.9

Great place and great staff; unfortunately, it was a bit difficult to find, since the sign along the 'Great Glen' walking path is missing. If this was replaced, it would bei perfect. We had a great time staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccaclarence
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
9.7

Our stay at the Great Glen Hostel was very good, the location was excellent for walking and travelling by car - to Fort William, Skye, the West Highlands, Loch Ness, Inverness and more. The staff were friendly and the facilities were excellent, great value for money! One marginal improvement would be somewhere to store valuables but otherwise it was perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
9.4

Great location and good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.