Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Great Glen Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
10.0

My friend and I had a twin room here on our holiday walking the Great Glen Way. We were warmly greeted and given all the information we might need. Our room was clean and cosy and the bathroom facilities across the corridor were impeccable. There was a handy little shop where we bought sachets of porridge and milk for the morning and plasters for my first aid kit. The kitchen and dining area were spacious and well-equipped. Overall, it was a really pleasant stay in a fabulous location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
10.0

I had a private twin room with shared bathroom, sharing with my son. Room was clean and tidy on first floor close to two shower/bathrooms. Showers were clean, warm and never had to queue. Undercover bike store was unexpected extra. Wee shop sold most stuff. Friendly greeting on arrival. Hostel ideally placed for SUSTRANS cycle route 78 (Fort William to Inverness). Lovely wee pub/diner 5 mins ride away (Eagle Barge).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Lovely room, brand new emsuite, and well stocked kitchen. My favourite hostel on our trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
7.4

Nice hostel. Only thing that bothered me was that you have to walk along the motorway to get there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
8.3

A lovely hostel, had a private room with ensuite which was fab. It's a bit noisy with people walking around but not too bad for a busy and popular hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
8.0

Wonderful location - just 20 minutes from Fort William. On the canal for those walking the Great Glen Way. Very laid back place - nice atmosphere. Fully stocked kitchen with all utensils you could need. I would say to take ear plugs as anybody going up and down the stairs causes the whole building to shake as do the bathroom extractor fans.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
7.1

Beds were really comfy and the kitchen had everything I needed. Would of preferred a lounge space. But that's all

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Really loved the place. Room 1 was very comfortable for us 4. Staff lovely and being able to buy provisions excellent as 2 miles to walk and we couldn't do that after our long walk to get there. Hope to come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
10.0

The room was comfortable as the staff were helpful and friendly. The laundry facilities and drying room were greatly appreciated and needed. The only suggestion i have is for more food choices in the'store' as there are no other dining options in the area. Oatmeal bars just werent very filling. The lack of dining options was specified on the Hostelworld listing but we thought there would be more options available. Great accommodations except being hungry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay. Hostel was clean and calm and I slept really well here. Lovely staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.