X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Great Glen Hostel Reviews

South Laggan, Spean Bridge, Loch Ness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
709 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

An excellent hostel with friendly staff and all the facilities you need.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels we have stayed in. Everything was very clean and tidy. well stocked store as well.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

No hot water for shower was a bit of a disappointment. Left early in morning but wouldn't have thought that should have made a difference. Mind you there's always the possibility I missed some necessary procedure other than just turning the tap on.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Solid hostel. No complaints.


100%

Fantastic hostel , they are very friendly, welcoming! I would here!!


94%

Very helpful staff

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel located in the highway. Very friendly staff and overall clean.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A perfect Hostel stop-off on our Great Glen Way walk. Well & tastefully maintained, most hospitable staff, comfortable room & public areas, excellent shower & drying rooms & appropriately well-stocked shop. Thank you.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was clean and tidy. Good facilities, and friendly staff. Great location.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location, good facilities., positive staff.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Located conveniently close to the Great Glen Way but otherwise very remote. There is a suttle service to a restaurant (part of a water park) nearby. Also, you have the possibility of buying some pasta at the hostel reception and just cook yourself a meal in the spacious kichen. Bus stop (Citylink) is located more or less in front of the hostel.


94%

Great place to stay, big kitchen nice rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Served our purpose very well. Drying room very welcome.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel provides what I need on a walking trip. I am not sure why you want a rating for security. This is not a concern to me and is rarely an issue in rural Scottish hostels. It would be more relevant to rate the drying room facilities.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

clean and well equipped kitchen, nice rooms, good wifi, friendly staff, weather forecast advertised. Highly recommendable.


91%

Fab !!! Staff friendly & approachable . If you arrived early..... Big sign advises you to " make yourself at home" :)))

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We booked 5 b&b's or hotels along the Great Glen Way. This was the best,thanks to Glenn.

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff was really nice and helpful. Everything was clean and cosy :)

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

No issues whatsoever. Would recommend.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very comfortable, convenient for Great Glen Way

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


(50 results)


View all Loch Ness Hostels

Please give us your feedback