Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Culture Eco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2017
8.9

Green culture is unlike any hostel I have been to before. As well as the fantastic views, this hostel has an amazing atmosphere. Pablo likes to throw BBQ's and parties, and you end up feeling like one of the family. All the staff are amazing and I strongly recommend this hostel for an unforgettable stay in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.4

Staying here was easily one of the highlights of my three month trip. I can honestly say that I felt completely safe within the favela and I would go as far as saying that I felt less secure whilst staying in Lapa. The hostel is a little rough around the edges, however this is more than made up for with the location, authentic experience and the hospitality of Pablo and family

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.7

Very nice place, authentic, relaxed and confortable! The hosts were very welcoming and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

If you want a hostel that is truly unique then stay here. We had never been to a favela before but the stay was well worth it. Pablo was a great host, always keen to help and make our stay memorable. Won't forget the beautiful view from the hammocks, monkeys in the morning and the general buzz of favela life. The Leme local is perfect to explore all of Rio and is a quick stroll to the beach. We never felt unsafe even at night. A bit of mission to find initially but you should stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andreafo96
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

First "more than two nights"-hostel I've stayed at, and it set the standards sky high! Both staff and guests were amazing, and everyone is really helpful and interested in making your stay in Rio as memorable as possible. The hostel is placed in a favela, which we thought might be uncomfortable, but as two Norwegian young girls, we never felt unsafe. Atmosphere is perfect, breakfast is good, view is amazing. We left only a day ago, and already want to go back. This went over all expectations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.7

Would give it 11/10 based on atmosphere alone!! The owners make every effort to get everyone involved in the best that Carnaval has to offer, and the hostel offers a unique balance between manic partying and the need for some downtime and privacy, all in the middle of a pacified favela (read: safer than the streets of Rio) with plenty of wildlife on your doorstep. Says something that I and plenty of others kept coming back to see people here, even after we'd moved on!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

We where there during carnival, and it was an amazing experience. The place was full of young travellers, the hostel felt homey, easy to connect to people in the common areas and Pablo and Wilma took so good care of us. Pablo even bought face decorations and fun party accessories to us all the first day of carnival and it was so much fun! There was also a great party at the hostel the first day we came. It is recommend to open minded and social travellers. Thank you for the great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • eleanorblake6981
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.3

You are going to this hostel for the experience of staying in a favela so don't expect comfort or luxury. What you should expect though is a unique experience which you will enjoy if you are open minded. The hostel is in a good location, close to Leme and Copacabana. There are restaurants around in Chapeu Mangueira which are some of the best in Rio. Pablo and Wilma are really welcoming and the common area is great with a lovely view, making it easy to meet people. Breakfast is also really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

If you want to get an authentic experience in a favela that's safe and different from your typical touristy neighborhood, this is your place. The location is in Leme, the least-crowded and touristy of the beaches relative to Ipanema and Copacabana. The staff really make you feel at home, and Pablo, the owner, really takes you under his wing. While I was there, the entire hostel became one big family and we made countless memories together throughout Carnaval.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Magic was there! As a couple, we absolutely enjoyed our overnight stay. We had to catch a bus back to sao Paolo following day. View, hospitality,and staff who are volunteering there were truely good hearted people. Don't hesitate to stay there if you want authentic place to experience Rio! Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.