Hostelworld.com

Green Culture Eco Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
Green Culture Eco Hostel Located at Rua Dr. João Guerra, Chapeu Mangueira, Rio de Janeiro.
Green Culture Eco Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro Rua Dr. João Guerra, Chapeu Mangueira
86% 130
-22.9601320 -43.1655836
Green Culture Eco Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
4.9

Not at all what I expected. I am not hard to please. Dirty. The guy working was so stoned he could barely talk to me - no, it wasn't a language barrier. Yes it's called "Green Culture" but it was unprofessional. I stayed one night and left as soon as I could in the morning.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
5.4

Hostel has an incredible view but that's about all. It's a favela house with guest rooms. Stayed in the privet room and bed was made of three old dirty mattresses. Run by backpackers which is fine but they're quite unprofessional and even witnessed a drug deal and drug use. Was only 3 paying guest but at night friends of workers appeard. Might of been better if we witnessed the famous Pablo but he never appeared. Overall can get better for your money elsewhere. id recommend any other.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes we are located in a favela as clearly written in our description. Sorry I (Pablo) couldn't be there, and that you couldn't enjoy your stay. Unfortunately i had some family emergency i had to attend on. Haven't seen any bed made of mattresses. Are you it was on this hostel? Kind regards, Pablo

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
6.3

Small and simple hostel, volunteer run which gives it a relaxed feel. However, this made it often quite loud as we were near the living/kitchen area. Not a great deal of information provided about tours. Though the hostel is in a favela, it did seem safe, nice views out across the sea, hammacks. We did get to see monkeys who came to the hostel and fed them bananas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.7

Really lovely hostel set in a charming favela. Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff, with a chilled out atmosphere. Would strongly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.9

I had a great stay at Eco Hostel. Amazing location in the favela overlooking Copacabana. Great staff including the owner Pablo. Much of the hostel made from recycled or recovered materials and in good condition. Wonderful hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2016
9.1

A bit of a rushed booking ended up putting us, not intentionally, in the Capeu favela and at Green Culture Eco hostel. And what a great "mishap" it turned out to be. Even though we only stayed for a night, the authentic experience was one of the highlights of our journey. The staff makes you feel like part of the family. Couldn't have wished for a better first night in Rio. We were also served the best Caiparinhas we had for the entirety of our trip through Brazil. Thank you/tack så mycket

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • joeylaver4
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2016
9.1

Fantastic hostel. I'm a person who struggles to relax in hostels, especially chains. This is the opposite. Such a friendly welcoming staff, incredible views in the chill out areas and freedom to exist as you please. Andre was brilliant showing you bits of Rio you wouldn't have otherwise seen while Pablo is hell bent on you experiencing the fantastic city where he lives. The Favela is enchanting and by far the safest place to be in Rio. Brilliant stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel amazing staff especially Andre who took me on many tours and showed me places I wouldn't have seen in Rio. Fun atmosphere for a backpacker looking for a great time and friendly environment. Excellent location helped me enjoyed my Rio De Janiero experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2016
6.0

Theres no AC, no breakfast, privaterooms are next to office where staff is watching tv all night, and you will hear that./Otherwise the staff was great. Owner, Pablo, really wanted that everybody is having great time! Still there was this one shady staffmember who tried to come in my room (cant lock the door), 6:30 and 8:50 in my first morning! No idea why? Same guy was tripping on drugs on next day at samba party. He bit ruined the great atmosphere./Overall i had good experience for 2 nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
10.0

This place is amazing! Very safe, great staff, and clean. Staying in the favela was a great experience in its self. The common area has an incredible view of rio. This hostel has a very comfortable feel to it, the owner and the staff are always around and ready to help you with anything that you need. Would absolutely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.