Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Culture Eco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • andreafo96
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

First "more than two nights"-hostel I've stayed at, and it set the standards sky high! Both staff and guests were amazing, and everyone is really helpful and interested in making your stay in Rio as memorable as possible. The hostel is placed in a favela, which we thought might be uncomfortable, but as two Norwegian young girls, we never felt unsafe. Atmosphere is perfect, breakfast is good, view is amazing. We left only a day ago, and already want to go back. This went over all expectations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.7

Would give it 11/10 based on atmosphere alone!! The owners make every effort to get everyone involved in the best that Carnaval has to offer, and the hostel offers a unique balance between manic partying and the need for some downtime and privacy, all in the middle of a pacified favela (read: safer than the streets of Rio) with plenty of wildlife on your doorstep. Says something that I and plenty of others kept coming back to see people here, even after we'd moved on!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

We where there during carnival, and it was an amazing experience. The place was full of young travellers, the hostel felt homey, easy to connect to people in the common areas and Pablo and Wilma took so good care of us. Pablo even bought face decorations and fun party accessories to us all the first day of carnival and it was so much fun! There was also a great party at the hostel the first day we came. It is recommend to open minded and social travellers. Thank you for the great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • eleanorblake6981
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.3

You are going to this hostel for the experience of staying in a favela so don't expect comfort or luxury. What you should expect though is a unique experience which you will enjoy if you are open minded. The hostel is in a good location, close to Leme and Copacabana. There are restaurants around in Chapeu Mangueira which are some of the best in Rio. Pablo and Wilma are really welcoming and the common area is great with a lovely view, making it easy to meet people. Breakfast is also really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

If you want to get an authentic experience in a favela that's safe and different from your typical touristy neighborhood, this is your place. The location is in Leme, the least-crowded and touristy of the beaches relative to Ipanema and Copacabana. The staff really make you feel at home, and Pablo, the owner, really takes you under his wing. While I was there, the entire hostel became one big family and we made countless memories together throughout Carnaval.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Magic was there! As a couple, we absolutely enjoyed our overnight stay. We had to catch a bus back to sao Paolo following day. View, hospitality,and staff who are volunteering there were truely good hearted people. Don't hesitate to stay there if you want authentic place to experience Rio! Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Brilliant stay. i wanted to experience a favela first hand and staying here did just that, I felt so welcome and everyone was extremely friendly. Breakfast could be a bit better but apart from that I had an amazing stay thanks to Pablo and his family. A memory that will last forever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
8.0

I made this reservation for some friends, so I'll make this review based on what they told me. They said it was a interesting experience, but an expected one. The hostel itself is quite nice, with some wildlife around, the staff was very friendly. There's basically one shared room, and the door was kept open 'cause of the heat, but that wasn't actually a problem 'cause everyone was trustworthy. The location is on a pacified community, but it can be difficult to access. A pleasant stay, overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Probably one of the best hostel I've stayed! The location is great if you wanna go chill at the beach or explore Rio. The view is amazing and it is perfect to relax in the hammocks. Pablo and the staff were awesome, they gave me very helpful tips about the city, what to do and where to have fun. Although the hostel is in a favela, I felt really safe and even extended my stay! If you want to have a good time in Rio, it's the place :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Very rarely really leave reviews but had to here, I've stayed in over 200 hostels and this is definitely one of my favorites . there is such a cool homely atmosphere that is so rare in a lot of hostels, the view is amazing and Pablo, the host, is one of the coolest guys you will meet,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.