X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Green Forest Hostel Reviews

110-25, South Zhongshan Rd, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
926 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

best Western breakfast in China yet! good menu and food overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
haha ... thank you for the positive feedback . What we are worry about most is repast in a hostel . It is kind of Western breakfast that made by Chinese way . Thank you so much again .Happy travel

89%

Great Feel to this Hostel. Front desk and bar were very friendly and easy to talk to. The helped us book tours and direct us around the city,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for stayed with us , we're so happy that we were able to help to on you journey . Please remember our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feel at home when they pass thru our door. and welcome back in any time , happy travel .

100%

This was one of my best hostels I have ever stayed in ^^ I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in guilin :3

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kindly recomendation . We are happy that we were able to help on your journey . Take care of yourself and happy travel .

94%

Great value for money hostel. The common room is excellent, and the staff are very friendly. Be sure to join in the Majong sessions at 8pm each night!


89%

A very nice stay, delicious breakfasts and lots of great information on activities and tours. The staff was stellar and helped rearranged our booking to their sister hostel in Yangshuo so we stay longer there rather than Guilin which was amazing of them. Comfortable room, really great bed in the double bed room, the only down side was the noisy street with the cards players by the window.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Thank you for stayed with us and we are glad that we were able to help to on your journey. welcome back anytime . Take care.

86%

We only stayed for a night. Easy to find, staff really nice, common room looked really nice. We got room without window, window was actually into inside hall so no light. It was ok for a night but not more than one night. Room was clean though and shower was good. Didnt have time for breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive feedback, we are very proud of our location which is only 10 minutes walk from the train station 5 minutes walk from the bus staion. We have some Normal Double rooms and Mix 4-beds room which have a very small window face to aisle . And we have already edit all the situation in our room description on the web side of Hostelworld.com .... Hope to see you again soon.Happy travel .

100%

Definitely the best hostel we stayed at during our entire China trip. The staff is wonderfully helpful and the hostel is located right in between the train and bus stations and the sights in town. The food they serve is actually good, too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing us and give it such a great feedback like this . We are glad to hear you had a great time in our hostel . Your postive review is a great encouragement to our staff here at guilin green forest hostel. Thank you so much again . Happy travel and please take care of yourself .

86%

Young and enthusiastic staff with excellent english. No wifi in the rooms which was a bit of a let down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for choosing us and give it such a good feed back . looking forword to having you back again . Happy travel .

100%

Excelent location and very helpfull staff.. Great dumplings night...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive reviews. we're glad you've enjoyed our weekly monday dumping party . whenever possible the staff is more then happy to show our guests the local area . Hope to see you again . Happy travel .

94%

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 6 nights in Guilin. We continually found ourselves saying that this was the best hostel we have stayed in. Reasonably priced, the atmosphere was very chilled and the food was lovely. If we come back to Guilin I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff really looked after me, giving me cups of warm water for my cold and after sun for my poor red roasted skin. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone!! Very enjoyable experience.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stayed with us and give us such a great feedback . we will always try our best to strive to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel . Hope to see you again someday in the futrue , and please take care of yourself .

97%

great staff running the hostel, very helpful and nice. nice common areas too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the awesome feedback . we are glad we were able to help to on your journey. welcome back anytime

86%

Very friendly and helpful staff that made our visit to guilin a memory for life.


100%

What a I remember the most is the Staff, all different, each person bringing something special to the Hostel! They even show us how to play Maj Jong! You can talk about everything to them. There are always there to help you. It was a great time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stayed with us and we are so happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. Hapyy travel and Please take care of yourself . May our paths cross again somewhere down that long weary road .

91%

Great hostel, I would rather recommend it. Next to the bus station and railway station, close to the centre, where the picturesque riverside is. Clean rooms, nice atmosphere. Welcome staff. I don't mind to stay in Green Forest again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the +++ positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel .

91%

Very nice hostel, really helpful and nice staff. If we come back to Guilin, we'll definitely stay at Green Forrest again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback . we are glad that we were able to help to on your journey. Welcome back in anytime .

91%

Great location right by the bus station and on the river. Nice communal area for hanging out in. Staff speak good English and were very helpful. Comfy bunks too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing us and give it such a good feed back . looking forword to having you back again . Happy travel

91%

Very friendly hostel, with clean rooms and great location. The only complaint is that the staff tend to be quite loud while playing games in the lounge; it happened three times in three days, and it was rather unpleasant for all guests still left in the common areas...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing us and give us a great review . and sorry for what you have been through in our hostel . Mostly , we will try to play games ( Majang and table football etc...) with our guests to make a comunal atmosphere here . However , thanks again for you useful suggestion .. We will try to play more gently while guests are chilling , reading and planning trips . Happy travel . Hope to see you again .

100%

Easy to find and very friendly staff. All possible activities were laid out for anyone who was interested, staff was very helpful, and the vibe at the hostel was lively. Great place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel . Hope you will have a funny trip in next stop in China . Happy travel .

100%

Easy to find and very friendly staff. All possible activities were laid out for anyone who was interested, staff was very helpful, and the vibe at the hostel was lively. Great place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel . Hope you will have a funny trip in next stop in China . Happy travel .

80%

The food all tasted similar (just very salty) and is overpriced as are drinks for a Hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Internet connection kept cutting out and was only available in Lobby. They do have a computer available to use that is Foreigner friendly a.k.a. Facebook etc. location is great for getting around Guilin, close to the bus terminal and to the elephant trunk hill. (Can't see it from the Hostel) Make sure you have the Chinese address as taxis don't know where it is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Thank you for stayed with us and give us the positive feedback, we here at guilin green forest hostel are very proud of our location location location which is only 10 minutes walk from the train station 5 minutes walk from the bus staion . Very sorry to hear about the salty food you had in our hostel . We will try to make it better .. Thank you again for the uesful suggestion. I have to say the price of all the drinks we have are reasonable . Happy travel .

(592 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback