X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Green Forest Hostel Reviews

110-25, South Zhongshan Rd, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
902 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was far the best hostel i ever stayed. All facilities were nearly new, totally clean and in very good condition. But the highlight is the very friendly and helpful staff. They were availabe 7/24 at least (at night) 5 minutes after you called them. They gave good recommendations concerning tours, helped us booking and getting reasonable prices. Some guys we met even changed their hostel and checked in there.


91%

Good facilities: clean, bed comfortable. Great staff: good english, very helpful and very welcoming Good location Good atmosphere: nice common room where you can have drinks and food, nice deco, good to relax and get to know people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the +++ positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel . Hope to see you again .

74%

A good central location in Guilin - very handy for the bus and train stations. Prices average. Room fairly comfortable and clean. Food OK but nothing special, a fairly limited menu and nothing very adventurous or spicy on it, noodle soups filling but rather bland. The lack of an outside seating area is a downside. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Crystal who gave me some great info on getting to Huangyao.


100%

The best hostel i've stayed in in china! Clean, new, good beds and bathroom and good prices.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you had a great time at our hostel. every postive review is a great encouragement to our staff here at guilin green forest hostel.

100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed at in China

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for such a positive review . we are glad to hear you a had great time at our hostel. every postive review is a great encouragement to our staff here at guilin green forest hostel.

86%

Nice Hostel, clean, friendly and helpful staff. Nothing to complain about. But be sure to head quickly to Yangshuo (and also to the green forest hostel over there), as there are many more things to go. But for 1 or 2 nights are really nice hostel!


94%

Absolutely brilliant hostel, very safe and clean with lockers in all the dorms, towels available upon request for free and very spacious rooms. Staff were incredibly helpful, helping us to book trains and buses for the next stage of our trip, acting as translators where needs be and phoning up bus companies to organise tours, without a commission and providing honest opinions. Great atmosphere, really sociable in the evenings with DVDs, music and a bar with cheap drinks. Thanks everyone!


89%

A great place to stay in the city and most of the staff were very helpful , If I am ever in the city again I will stay there for sure .

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door. Hope to see you again .

89%

First of all: SUPER CHEAP! Y35 for a 4-bed dorm room, and the food was cheap - and good! The hostel is juts by the river, which gives it a nice view, and also you can walk across the river which is fun! Staff was great and very friendly - especially Happy was a joy to be around! Only bad thing to say was that there were no windows in the rooms, which makes them dark, and very confused about the time. But all in all a great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you stay at our hostel. sorry to heard about the dorm room sitiuation. on a positive note we're glade you had a great time & that our staff were helpful in your stay at our hostel here at green forest.

91%

Very convenient location - walking distance to bus and train station. Staff were extremely helpful with regards to how to get to nearby tourist attractions and which tours to take. Many tours are available with pick-up directly from the hostel. Air conditioning and wifi available in rooms. My only complaint would be that the shower did not drain very well, but this was a minor inconvenience. Would definitely recommend this place! One of the nicest and cheapest hostels I stayed at in China!

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the positive reviews. We're currently remedied this shower problem with our house keeping team. Whenever possible the staff is more then happy to show our guests the local area. Hope to see you again .

89%

Very good location, clean, with a comfortable living room and a staff realy friendly especially "Happy". Thank all for this transition to Guilin

  • 24th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is really one of the best hostels I ever went! you can compare it rather to a hotel than to a hostel! When you go to Guilin, this is the hostel of choose!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Remember the crazy Champions League night ? That was unforgettable . Thank you for stayed with us and the +++ positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel . welcome back in any time .

100%

Nothing to improve on really. Free upgrade was amazing, great room. Loved the communal area and the food was great. Great location, amazingly friendly staff, and helpful. Just brilliant over all, probably one the best hostels I've ever stayed in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel. our incredible are in a never ending quest to make everyone feels at home when they pass thru our door.

71%

furniture is very old. Don't sleep in the rooms near river. It got so noisy in evenings. We did not sleep well because of the loud water. The hostel is on 2rd floor with wet stairs. So you have to carry ur luggage all the way up. The rooms are more like zhaodaisuo in china. Luckily we just stayed their for one evening. The hostel is okay. Avoid it if you have high standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your stayed at our hostel. sorry to heard about the riverview room sitiuation which we can not charge this kind of natures . We were trying to keep it like a backpackers Hostel as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home . and speaking of the stairs up to the 2ed floor without elevator . We thought that wasn't a problem for a backpacker . We are sorry for the trouble you've been through . and please Avoid it if you have high standard next time .

80%

Our room flooded with water. This was quite some time ago we stayed at your hostel though. This room was the cheap room that is near the windows to the main street.


74%

The hostel isn't far from the train and bus station located next to the river. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with a bathroom but without a window. Besides the room was quite humid and not very clean. Towels didn't get dry at all. The staff is pretty friendly and helps you with organizing tours e.g. to the rice terraces.


97%

I would be back for sure

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi.Thank you for the ++++ positive feedback as always our staff strives to make everyone feel at home here at Guilin green forest hostel . Welcome back in any time .

97%

Out of this world!!! Best hostel I have ever stayed. No complaint at all. Staff was EXTREMELY helpful - especially Happy and the boy............ :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for stayed with us , thank you the postitive feedback , we are happy to hear of your lovely stay at our hostel . and that really is a great encouragement to our staff here at Guilin Greenforest Hostel .

66%

Good price and decent wifi. Otherwise I was unimpressed. We originally booked 1 day & wanted to book another but were told that only private rooms (130 yuan) were available. But I went online & found availability among 35 yuan dorms. They also overcharge for tours; better to go through an agent, & there are plenty in Guilin to choose from. Also it's LOUD at night & it seems unprofessional seeing female staff partying with guests at night in the lobby. Strange hostel...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kindly feedback and useful suggestions . there are something I want to explan it . First . It was really fully booked that day due to a Chiese May Day Vocation and the reason why you got a room because someone was just cancelled . Second . There are plenty agencis in Guilin like you said which have diferent cruise and itineraries, of cause it has different price ..The last thing . the girl who was off duty and went to spend time with fellow guest she befriended . My boss and i were absolutly uphold the act of friendly . and we do not think thats" strange'. but we are sorry about the "strange " for you .. Thank you again . Happy travel...

80%

anice hostel in centre of city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the postive feedback we're here at guilin green forest hostel are very proud of our location which is only 10 minutes walk from the train station 5 minutes walk from the bus staion. Hope to see you again soon and happy travel.

(578 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback