X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Green Frog Hostel Reviews

Str. G-ral Dona nr.11, Bucharest, Romania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
454 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very good place. A few steps from the entrance to the castle. Very helpful and relax. I really liked the lounge area.


71%

It's cheap and close to the station. But don't expect much for it. I had a private room, just a bed (no shelves or anything in this kind). Strange that I coulnd't lock my room from inside. The staff was very kind and helpful, even though I came late at night.


77%

Most staff were friendly and very good but one of them allowed a guy to sleep in our room without telling us first. We were convinced to believe that the room was only for ourselves just to find another guy in there when we returned in the evening. Shower could use improvements, because it was flooding a lot. The breakfast was very good and the room was spacious, having a sofa besides the four beds and very good mattresses and pillows.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Indeed you had a 4 bed shared bedroom. A guest lost his flight and came back to our hostel very late. We let him sleep in your room behind the sofa. It was the only way of giving a hand as long as we were "fully booked". It was a particular situation with the guest and also it was an exception with the shower. It happened while a guest took a shower. Maybe he shaved there. Our staff solved the matter. Days are different pending the guests combination, weather and our staff shifts.

94%

We had a private room for two nights and were really happy with the hostel. The staff were helpful and gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Disappointed that we couldn't lock our own door though. All areas were clean and the shower is awesome.


86%

I really enjoyed staying here. Primarily for the staff. It's like family here. When I arrived they went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable. Within walking distance of all the major attractions in the city. Only drawback was the "noise". Not so much an issue but a situation to be aware of. The common area is in the middle of two rooms. You can hear everything. People were really respectful though. Praise to the staff for keeping things in line. Highly recommended.


80%

People managing this hostel were adorable and very nice. They were very generous in giving advices and tips for traveling over Romania. Our private double room had a great big bed and was very big. The breakfast was really generous and included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do thank you. It's great to feel your appreciation. The days are different. Sometimes "our best" is under our average. It's quiet normal for the human beings. Enjoy your trip in our country.

97%

Awesome hostel with a very hospitable staff. Maurice, Roxanna and their crew made my stay very welcoming and are just nice people overall. Great location in regards to getting there from the airport via the bus, the metro stations, parks, and a short walk to old town. Thanks guys!


89%

The location is very good, close to Cismigiu and in a very quiet neighborhood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank your understanding and excuse us for the inconveniences caused due to a rude volunteer that was suppose to give us hand and not to ruin our work, waste our energy and not to behave like the most difficult guest himself in front of our real guests. He is "working" now to one competitor. Good to hear that. :)

94%

Great hostel for the price, good location to old town and Victoria Square and the center.


97%

Nice and helpful owner, even nicer reception guy! i got a single room, with a bathroom, it was brand new and huge, for an extremely affordable price

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do thank you !

97%

Nice place helpful staff.. Good to meet young travelers.. Friendly enviroment... And good price


97%

The owner is one of the friendliest person. It feels like family.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

GREAT !!!! GREAT !!!! GREAT !!!! Thanks for all !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do thank you ! :)

86%

The staff was very very kind and helpful. The value for money is perfect, we had our own bedroom and breakfast per 3'5€! Plus good shower and location, since it is next to the train station. Very good place to stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you !

94%

staying at the greenfrog hostel is like going to a friend's place and crashing in while on a holiday , simple as that :) the owner is amazing she provides advice and help and a warm feeling :), the facilities are clean and tidy, free wifi, the atmosphere is wonderful and cozy :D and the location is great you can go anywhere by walking 10 or 15 minutes, and the rooms are clean and pretty . if i am back in bucharest i wouldn't go anywhere else

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Palestine
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We can't wait having you back so maybe we'll close for a while and travel. First destination....YOU ! :) After you left, we visited Sighisoara and Sibiu. I realized once again that Romania has got fairy tale places. Come and visit us again and we will manage the best and more convenient magic trips.

94%

It's a nice place, very friendly attention and support you to solve any problems you may have.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estoy muy agradecida ! Gracias !

94%

I didn't have any information about Bucharest, Romania. But I like so much because of Green frog.. Thank you for all staffs. I want to visit again someday. see you.. Gyoung ae Park.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ! Enjoy your trip in Europe and keep in touch !



View all Bucharest Hostels

Please give us your feedback