Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Aug 2017
9.1

Good location for port. Common area for meeting other guests. Staff there to book you in but after that not really visible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
8.6

This hostel was within walking distance to the Yakushima ferry which was nice. In the all female dorm room, the privacy curtains on the bed didn't extend all the way to give you full privacy. This was particularly frustrating as I had the bed next to the door and the people could see me every time the door was opened. With the male form being right next to the female, it was uncomfortable to not have that privacy. There was lots of hair on the shelves and floor of the shower room too. Ick.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Jul 2017
7.7

Great location for the ferry port, lots of people off to Yakashima. Very clean dorm room and invidious lol curtains and lights. Would stay again if we head back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dumaslaure2392
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.3

Good value, near the port of the jet foil. Very convnient to board on early morning boat to Yakushima. Facilities are good, with nice showers and kitchen. A bit noisy due to the proximity of the road, but overall quite good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2017
7.4

The Green guest house was very easy to get to and was a nice place to stay. The only issue I had was the fact the male dorm had a small portable A/C unit, by the end of the day the room was uncomfortably warm and humid, with the A/C doing nothing the doors to the balcony were left open to have some airflow which made the heat bareable. However with the doors open and with the tall building across the road the noise of passing cars and trucks was amplified which resulted in a poor night of sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • couturesb3669
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.6

Needs ac in dorms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
14th May 2017
7.4

Located quite close to waterfront and ferry terminals both to Sakurajima and Yakushima. We stayed in Japanese style room and it was nice. Downside is that this hostel is located next to busy intersection, so it is almost always noisy and you can forget about sleeping with windows open.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2017
9.1

Nice hostel, very close to the ferry and easy to find. The kitchen is a bit small but it made the evenings very social. Check out the view from the rooftop, it's quite decent at sunset.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.6

We stayed for only one night in order to take the ferry to Yakushima, the port and ferry are just 5 minutes away which was great. Although it was just for one night we really enjoyed our stay, there were great people and a nice atmosphere. There were also computers and a good book exchange. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
6.9

It's one of the only hostels in kagoshima for this price but it's more of a guest house for local or traveling Japanese people. The staff was okay, nothing that really stood out about them, but the customers there were so loud at like 5 am in the morning it made it hard to sleep. The location is the best part because it's right next to the ferry that takes you to yokushima or the other islands. Not the best hostel by any means but it'll do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.