Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Lizard Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
7.4

Basic Hostel with all the facilities you would expect, decent chill out area with hammocks, bean bags and cheapish beer for sale on site. It isn't far from the town but still a decent walk in the heat of day. We had a private room with ensuite where we paid upwards of £70, which in my opinion was basic and not worth the value for money, the accommodation in Hvar is very overpriced for how basic it is, I found a hostel closer which was the same setup for half the price, my opinion: Shop Around..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
9.1

Nice place to stay, i would recomend it to my friends :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.4

This was a nice hostel to stay at. The beds were very comfortable, staff helpful and facilities create a good atmosphere for socialising. You can buy beers from the hostel and there is a pizzeria (which is ok) two minutes down the road. Rooms are cool and the hostel feels very secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurencemessier18848
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2017
8.3

Expensive but it is the best we could find in Hvar... rooms are clean and have AC. Bathrooms are not clean but it was not that bad. You need to pay 10 kuna to have a towel. There is a cute cat chilling in the entrance.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
6.9

Location okay, about a 10min walk into town centre, up a hill which was difficult to manage in summer. Paid for a 6 bed mixed dorm & were placed in a room with 7 beds (all occupied) with no mention from the staff as to why. I think they just try to sneak this upon guests. Wifi was average at best, Unable to connect within room (even though we had the room directly opposite reception). Reception desk left unattended overnight & for long stretches (>40min). No help available which was concerning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
4.6

One plug per room (7 beds). The signal of the wifi very weak and works irregularly. Its well located, but it has cero atmosphere. For me it was over rated

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
6.0

Not horrible but there are definitely better places to stay in Hvar. No wifi in the rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience. We have two wifi networks. It's unfortunate that the one you were connected didn't reach your room but if you asked at the reception they could have helped you to connect to the other one.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2017
6.0

Not a party hostel. You're not allowed to bring your own alcohol and strict hostel manager which really influences the vibe and is very disappointing because the view from the rooms is very pretty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience. We encourage social atmosphere and guests enjoying some drinks but we do not allow excessive drinking. We are located in the residential area and the town rules say that after 23:00 it's so called "quiet time". We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
3.7

Where to begin? Overall, a lizard-y experience.. and not the good kind. At first glance, it appears to be a fair rated hostel. However, from first hand experience, these reviews are clearly not genuine. No honest traveler would rate the GL as 'The best hostel I've been to'. Instead, our window was incapable of being closed There were more guests than facilities, no outlets, broken wifi and instead of warm memories,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jul 2017
5.7

Staff weren't the most helpful, didn't seem to know a lot about Hvar trips. You were lucky to get a warm shower. Wifi was 'broken' with a different excuse everyday for it. Bathroom doors were broken, rather than replace the door handle they used plastic ties! Also the shower bathroom door gets stuck so a few of us were stuck for a few minutes until we eventually got it opened! One toilet between at least 3 bedrooms which had at least 4 per room! Such a basic hostel, was glad it was only 2 nights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.