X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Green Milk Hostel Reviews

26 rue Ceuta, Essaouira, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
64 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The staff here are really nice people, so it's a shame that I didn't enjoy my stay. The place is very dirty and smelly and people smoke in the kitchen with no ventilation. It wouldn't take much work to clean this place up and it'd be a nice hostel.


94%

Abdel and Simou made my stay in Essaouira. Great place to stay and meet people. I definately come back to Green milk.


97%

Me and my friends stayed in Green Milk hostel for 2 nights, but I wish I would stay there for much longer. I TOTALLY loved the place, we all!!! So nice, arty, with wonderful atmosphere and staff. For sure I am coming back. Thank you Simo and Abdel! xxx

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is a great place to stay! Directly in the medina, 5 min. by feet to the beach. The staff is awesome. The offer you any help you need and join the community so you feel directly like at home! The atmosphere in this hostel is the biggest point why i loved it so much! I met only nice beautiful people, had good conversations and nice times with music and a lot of fun! So if you like honest, homefeel places with beautiful people you should go there! I was there twice!!!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30


94%

I have travelled and stayed in Hostels across Europe, North Africa and Asia. I don't often leave reviews, but I feel compelled to leave one for The Green Milk. It's unlike any Hostel I've ever been to. The hostel creatively figures within a typical Moroccan Riad, with natural light filling the very bohemian living room area where there was always a friendly face to talk to. Abdel and Simou maintain this friendly environment and kept everything clean and carefree. Thanks guys!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

If you enjoy hostels and meeting new people then this place is perfect, the ethos of the place is everyone helps out with opening the door and cooking etc even painting/decorating the walls :) and it doesn't take long to feel you belong If you believe that the best part of travelling is the people you meet then you cant go wrong staying here :)

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location but the alley it's in could use a light, make you a little more comfortable arriving at night. Super chill, friendliest and most helpful staff you could ask for. Loved it! Unlike previous comments say, there were no bed bugs in the dorms.


26%

Very dirty. The bed, carpet, etc were smelling so bad that we had to let the window open the whole night. It was disgusting to sleep in this room with dirty blanket. They don't use any bed-linen. If you ask for bed-linen, you will get a dirty blanket were everybody has been sweating on. Our night was so awful that we had to change for another hotel, even if we had already paid for the second night.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are disappointed that you were unsatisfied during your stay. Please know we would have done our best to accommodate you if your complaint was brought to our attention before now. Due to the high percentage of humidity in Essaouira the air can make things feel a little damp at times. In an effort to improve the experiences for our future guests, we have replaced our bedroom blankets with new ones even though we have never had negative feedback in regards to the quality of our linens.

89%

Great Hostel in the medina of Essaouira, the staff are exceptionnally chilled and friendly. There is a kitchen to cook your own food if you wish to, two bathrooms couple of dorms a HUGE terrace to die for. right at the top there is a hut with a couple of mattress on the floor where i was sleeping and it was great !!! One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in !!!


89%

We loved this hostel. It wasn't the cleanest hostel, and there was probably too many people for the amount of showers and water available, but it didn't matter. It's well worth going. Really lovely hostel manager that was very friendly and made everyone feel really at home. We stayed on the roof here and it was really comfortable and a good temperature to sleep in. You should totally go to this hostel :)


97%

Green Milk is fantastic. Its right in the centre of the Medina, super close to the food markets, the beach and everything else. It has a really nice atmosphere, everyone is friends there and you'll meet a lot of nice people. And Abdel will do everything he can to make your stay as nice as possible. Everything is very informal, but its run really well, definitely my favourite hostel I've stayed at. I'd recommend to anyone.


100%

Incredible hostel. One of the best I have ever stayed in. Abdel the manager and all the regulars are extremely accommodating and friendly. Good communal atmosphere - you feel at home from the first moment. Essaouira was my favourite destination in Morocco purely because of this hostel.


97%

Green milk is the most amazing hostel I have stayed in during my 8 months of travel. An awesome & layed back atmosphere. If you love to socialise & music sessions with wonderful talented & like minded people, this is the place to stay. If your someone that prefers a quiet time away from others, then maybe not the place for you !! I booked for 3 nights & stayed 3 weeks. While the water can be an issue it's outweighed by the amazing staff Abdel, Mehdi & Hadijia u are amazing....see you in 2015


83%

Really nice hostel with cosy atmosphere. No signs on the door and quite hard to fin, but fortunately los of people in the street will help you :) One of the few hostels with hot water, that actually works.


94%

Great atmosphere from the guests and staff - especially the staff who were very happy to help us find our way out and about, and the location is perfect for people coming by bus from Marrakech or another city. Just know that there usually is singing and talking until the early morning, so if that's a problem for you, you should be at another place. Thanks guys!


91%

Nice little hostel. Impossible to find the first time so just get the guys at the hostel to try pick you up somewhere! Wasnt quite sure if I was staying in a hostel or a family home but it made for a great atmosphere. Don't stay here if you want a perfect shower and awesome kitchen! Stay here if you want a nice place to chill and make new friends while in essaouira!


71%

The staff is really friendly. The rooms do need some new paint and the toilets and shower could use some cleaning up...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't completely happy with your experience with us. We hope to see you once again in order to provide a better service.,you will not be dissapointed . Kind Regards,

94%

we stayed an extra night. abdel was really helpful and nice! we'll go back for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Benvinido amigos espagna la familla ;) hope to see you next year guys thank's for the amazing time best wishes

100%

best hostel in morocco, abdel (manager) is great and the atmoshere is really friendly and its like to be home,


20%

Do not go to this hostel, it has bed bugs the rooms stink and the staff dont even change the sheets its a horrible hostel dont book it


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Essaouira Hostels

Please give us your feedback