X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Green Plaza Shinjuku Capsule Reviews

1-29-2 Kabukichyo, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
422 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved it. Did not want to leave.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Couldn't stay... Had tattoos


80%

Good location, pretty clean, very old-fashioned.


86%

Very traditional, smoking allowed in the lounges.


49%

Abhorrently dirty old building (bathroom walls and floor in particular thick with detritus), strong old cigarette smoke smell, unclean capsules (one wall was covered in something orange and sticky), bright, noisy and hot dormitory room. The capsules aren't long enough to accommodate a 6 foot tall individual, at any angle meaning, together with the above, very little sleep was had. No power socket in capsule. ¥100/10mins to charge elsewhere. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was clean, almost had everything you needed. Capsule can not exactly sound proof . Free safe baggage check- in if your stuff doesn't fit in the lockers which i think are only meant for small suitcase and suits (clothes).

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very unique experience for western travelers. We definitely enjoyed our stay, make the most of the amenities!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hotel is in Shinjuku area, so great place if you want to hang around without worry about catch last train, capsules are big enough, BUT they dont have any plugs at the capsule ( they have security boxes where you can charge your phone paying 100yen for 10') also they don't have laundry machines, just a reaaally ovèrpriced laundry service. For 1 night is a good place to stay but not convinient for more nights.


80%

So this is the typical Japanese capsule hotel experience. These are intended for business people with little luggage, and a big backpack can be a pain (I ended up keeping it in my capsule). Pros: you'll be able to sleep well, you can enjoy the sauna, and get a real capsule experience. Cons: dingy, no traveler atmosphere, annoying to walk up and down multiple flights of stairs for everything, NO PLUGS IN THE CAPSULE (have to pay to charge anything). You can beat the location for Shinjuku tho!


83%

Basic room but everything you need. Bed was comfortable and the shower good.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This capsule hotel was awesome. The staff are very polite and helpful, the capsules are clean and roomy, and the facilities are amazing for the price. Do be aware that you will have to check out every day at 10am, but you can store your luggage free of charge during the day. I was amazed when I went to the bath floor and they had (free to use) a sauna, steam room, open air jacuzzi, and other spa stuff. Around $30/night and I can chill naked in a rooftop jacuzzi? Yes please.


71%

Having to check in and out every day is incredibly annoying. The no tattoos rule should be made clearer on hostelworld. This makes this hostel unusable for many westerners


86%

Had a great stay for 2 nights. It's a shame you have to check out every day but that's ok. Great location and price! Finally had my own experience staying in a capsule hotel. Place was clean and tidy - would stay here again. Thanks

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

U can be necked, with a bit of cash an you would find here all you need for a nights stay.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The Atmosphere is quite weird. However sleeping was quite possible even though up to 40 people sleep in the same room. There are only small lockers leaving few space for luggage. Larger storage is available but costs extra. The staff is friendly but kind of stressed out because of a lot of customers. Also English is not always spoken nor understood.


66%

I used a economic capsule. Good for traveling business man with little luggage. I had a lot of luggage and the luggage storage was in a different floor to my capsule, so it was very difficult to access. It was very hot at night, woke up a few times. Might try a premium capsule next time.


20%

It was by far the worst place I stayed in all of Japan. It was hot, sweaty, smelly, dim yellow lighting throughout and at least Y1500 more expensive per night than far far nicer hostels in Shinjuku. They take all your possessions as soon as you get there and put them in lockers, hand you a robe you have to wear when you're there and a wrist band with a number and a key as if your in some POW camp. It's good having an onsen but as far as they go this one isn't even that good.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

This is right up there with the best hostels around. Right in the middle of a really interesting part of Tokyo but very accessible from the Subway (airport line). The beds are very comfortable and the en suite was very clean. The best thing is the staff - they are fantastic and so friendly. Highly recommend!


49%

I did not enjoy this stay at all. The whole hotel is hot all the time and you literally sleep in your own sweat, it's a hot box in the capsules. Also every time you leave or arrive at the hotel you have to get changed into there cloths which make it feel like a prison. Every morning you have to check out at 10 and then check back in at 3, it's a really dumb system. They don't allow tattoos and the showers are a public bath. Worth 1 night in capsules for the experience, but I wouldn't do it here.


86%

Stayed one night for a capsule hotel experience. The place was fine but the whole hotel was very hot, without sufficient air conditioning, even though it was cold outside. This did make the whole stay a little unpleasant. Japanese style baths/onsen was fine - but as a westerner make sure you know the etiquette for using these. Very clean. Wifi worked well.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(304 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback