Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Great position, friendly staff and clean facilities!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Defintly one of the best hostels that I've stayed at. Always has lots going on and lots of inclusions which was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
8.9

I stayed at GT for three nights and the accomodations were exactly what I was looking for. Besides being surrounded by nightlife and city noise, it was a very chill and quiet stay to unwind from the day. I didn't get a chance to be there during a dinner, but their breakfasts (served everyday) were a perfect start to the day. The location is great and accessible to China Town, Little Italy, Fishermans Wharf (20 min walk), and public transportation to get across the city. Great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.7

This hostel was excellent and i would recommend it to anyone. Very clean, safe and friendly atmosphere, knowledgeable staff and lots of amenities. Full kitchen access with free breakfast and some dinners included was a great perk too - will definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ellierd
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Staff are amazing, location is phenomenal, dorms are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and surprisingly insanely nice! Can't recommend enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Cool vibes, friendly staff and activities for those traveling solo and can meet others. Def would stay again next time in sf. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Apr 2017
10.0

Very nice and clean hostel, I enjoyed my stay a lot. Breakfast is okay. Rooms are quiet. Location is kind of perfect, we did everything by foot; also lots of restaurants nearby. The best thing is the free sauna, very clean, and uncomplicated to sign up! I would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Help out with cooking free dinner and you get a beer while you work and first in line to eat. A great way to meet other people staying at the hostel. I will stay again next time I'm in San Fran

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.4

A few extra toilets and showered would be nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
7.4

The staff were very friendly and helpful and felt safe. There are not nearly enough bathrooms considering how many people there are and almost always had to wait for one. The rooms had an odd smell to them. The light for each person and four outlets was excellent. Honestly, I thought it was overpriced considering what was provided. For a hostel proclaiming itself as being a huge party hostel, it was social, but did not live up to its name. The social events were more expensive than advertised.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.