Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Green Tortoise Hostel Located at 494 Broadway, , San Francisco.
Green Tortoise Hostel
USA
San Francisco CA 94133 494 Broadway
85% 191
37.7980750 -122.4053630
Green Tortoise Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Definitely had a very strong backpacker vibes. Free breakfast and juice was nice as well. The hostel itself looks quite old and my room had a sort of funky smell to it. Overall a pleasant stay but I was not in the hostel very much but it should be a good place to meet other travelers but I would recommend HI-Downtown over this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.4

The hostel was in a great location being close to the financial district and China town. You also get a great view of the Bay Bridge. I stayed on the 3rd floor so i didn't find the nights too noisy and slept with relative ease. It was also fairly close to Lombart street, Fisherman's wharf and the piers which is where you need to be to get to Alcatraz. The beds are super comfy as they have sturdy wooden frames so you don't woken up by other guests climbing on the bunk above or below you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Friendly hostel, super cool common area, free meals and food was awesome .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
10.0

Wonderful in everyway

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.4

Favourite hostel ever!! It had such a great atmosphere, it was a little quirky, there was always free food around, and there were organised events every evening. There was also computers, a sauna and massage chairs all free to use! The top bunks in the room were a little scary though and some bathrooms were much nicer than others so look around for a good one. There's free shampoo,conditioner and body wash in the showers which is cool too. Love the green tortoise hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Aug 2016
8.9

Great party hostel with something going on every night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
4.6

Many stairs. Worse than 70's decor (the carpets especially). Reeked of vinegar, must and mold. No views from windows except 'After you die, you will meet God.'. Very dim rooms. Dirty bed sheets. Very dirty flooring (cleaners did not clean. Witnessed). Showers were dirty and unkept. Unattentive staff - with no facial recognition (had to prove I was staying every time I left). Redeeming features: Italian kitchen guy and the free food. Waaaay overpriced for what it was. Smell still haunts me.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Aug 2016
2.6

do not stay here!!!!! horrible hostel, very old fashioned. have to trek up 3 flights of stairs with no lift. Rooms are smelly and bed's very uncomfy, made to pay extra for towels and $20 is demanded for room key on top of room price. Staff also very very rude and wouldn't let us store bags... constantly huffing when asked a question etc. won't return! ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
8.3

I spent 4 days at GT hostel, a very good hostel with great atmosphere and activities.if you come there by yourself it is a good place to meet new people. Many facilities who created a good value for money. The location is good. I think you should improve the clean level in kitchen, the request to wash your own dishes creates different cleaning standarts.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.1

Terrible wifi

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.