Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.1

Really good place highly recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.9

Beautiful hostel in amazing location. The free meal was delicious and the chef is such a character. The only down side is half the people there aren't actually travelling, they're staying there for business so it's a little difficult to meet other travellers. The staff were super helpful (especially Ella) and the rooms were always clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.0

Funny smell....could be better...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.3

I was skeptical about this hostel at first but ended up really liking it. One of the biggest pluses is the amount of free food around. The breakfast is really good bc they offer fresh fruit and eggs you can cook yourself, plus bagels and yogurt. There are free dinners on MWF. Mondays is pasta, garlic bread and salad. I thought it was going to be overcooked pasta with bland red sauce--I was SO surprised at how genuinely good it was! The sauna is a perk. I like that there are only 4 beds in a room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.7

I stayed for almost two weeks and had a great time. Staff is super friendly and the hostel is clean and cozy. Free breakfast every morning, free dinner three nights a week. Any food they haven't used they usually leave out in a free section in the fridge. Great place overall and very well managed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • angeldc94256
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

one of the best hostels I've stayed at! Fork over the nightly rate and that includes free breakfast, nightly events, and some free dinners. Facilities are top notch including printing, laundry, ironing, bikes for rent, and very helpful staff. Strict no visitors rule for added security, so you know everyone who enters is supposed to be there. Great location 10 minutes walking to the Pier and next to Chinatown and Little Italy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Such a good atmosphere at the hostel, especially in the ballroom. Met so many people through the organised activities. Free breakfast everyday and dinner 3 nights a week was great also. Would definitely recommend to all types of travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to stay. Close to chinatown and to most of the restaurants. Rooms and restrooms were clean the whole time. Free breakfast and dinners are good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aaronjbarlow8576
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.3

Great hostel, cool space but beds were super small and uncomfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

This was my favourite of the two hostels I used in San Francisco. The breakfast and free dinners were great. If I had stayed longer I know I would've used more of their facilities. I liked that they had print outs with instructions for how to get to the top attractions from the hostel, suggestions for cheap eats etc. The main draw back for me was just that the room was freezing, I had to sleep in my fleece to keep warm enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.