Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Green Tortoise Hostel Located at 494 Broadway, , San Francisco.
Green Tortoise Hostel
USA
San Francisco CA 94133 494 Broadway
87% 274
37.7980750 -122.4053630
Green Tortoise Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Hey! I was traveling alone to San Francisco, but in the green tortoise I didn't feel alone. Nice chatting all the time. The stuff is super funny and even when they are meeting a lot people all the time, they want to get you known too. It was really clean, of course. Another really important thing for me: the food! In the morning you can pick a tasty bagel, or you prepare some eggs. In the night ( 3 times a week ) they prepare a theme inspired dinner. Take it if you can. I would recommend to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Really fun atmosphere, favourite hostel. Is near strip clubs but felt safe at night as still busdbusdy area. Does occasionally smell of weed in rooms/corridors

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

I had an excellent stay here. It was like a young person's resort with everything you could need or want and more. There was abundant free food, a comfortable hang out area, and a big kitchen. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to any and all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels you will stay in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent location and pure San Francisco vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere! Met awesome people and had an amazing time. Personell is very nice and helpfull, went out partying with hostel staff on multiple ocassions. Abosutely a blast staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for staying and loving our hostel. We always have fun doing what we do and providing the best accommodations and amenities so our guests feel at home here. See you again! Best Green Tortoise Management.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.7

It is the best hostel I even stay. Just what you image a hostel should be. Great atmosphere, great people, a lot of activities. I had a great time there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So great to hear you enjoyed staying at the hostel. We also have a hostel in Seattle that is a blast too! Happy Travels! Green Tortoise Management

8th Dec 2016
10.0

Very nice , Free very good breakfast everyday , Three day vegetarian dinners, Awesome I will recommend my friends & family. Thank you Ninja Turtle

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
2.0

Worst place ever. Just pay a little bit more and go to HI SF or USA Hostels its paradise compare to this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are proud of the unique experiences we offer guests, I'm sorry you didn't seem to get a chance to be a part of our community and events. We help guests save money by offering free daily breakfasts and a few free dinners a week as well as nightly events. We have hosted thousands of happy travelers over the decades as you can see from the reviews of others. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for staying and reviewing us with top marks. We offer community and a great atmosphere where our guests feel at home. See you again soon. Best, Green Tortoise Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.