Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Green Tortoise Hostel Located at 494 Broadway, , San Francisco.
Green Tortoise Hostel
USA
San Francisco CA 94133 494 Broadway
86% 168
37.7980750 -122.4053630
Green Tortoise Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.6

A really fun hostel with a great atmosphere. Good location near China Town, Little Italy and the bay. Fairly well connected with Muni buses/trams nearby and the bike share scheme right outside. Inclusive food was a great plus and fairly good quality too - both breakfasts and dinners. The communal 'ball room' was great for eating and drinking. The staff were helpful, knowledgable and courteous. Bathrooms usually very busy but never a particularly long wait time. Would definitely visit again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
4.6

This hostel is badly in need of renovation & modernisation. Compared with other hostels, the security is poor, the interiors dull and unwelcoming. In terms of cleanliness, both I & my friend started getting itchy feet after a few seconds of contact with the floors in the place. One morning, in the lobby internet area one of the cleaners disgustingly hocked up spit into the bin in front of everyone as if it were completely normal. Location - loud & bad area. No air-con. No value for money here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
10.0

I had the absolute best time at Green Tortoise! The staff was incredible and so accommodating. Everything was catered to making the solo travelor as well as group travelers meet and mingle. I really couldn't say enough about the place! I would 100% recommend it to anyone traveling in Bay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.9

Pros: Good location nearing to pier 39 and Golden Gate, good security, free breakfast, social nights but I didn't actually stay on a night they had one so can't comment. Cons: Parking! Don't bring a car to SF, hostel sends you to a suspect parking garage that costs $20 and you have to give your keys over... Just park on a street a few blocks downhill for free between 6pm-9am. Staff did their job well enough but we're in no way friendly or welcoming, they need to cheer up. Expensive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
4.6

Due to circumstances beyond my control i was delayed and pre-informed the hostel at lunchtime. They still charged me for that night. The 'deposit' paid to this website was not honoured so I was in total nearly USD100 out of pocket. On top of that? The bunk beds are high, narrow, and have no guardrails. The carpets are musty. Some rooms have no windows. What's not to like? When I mentioned these matters the girl at the front desk invited me to leave after the first night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Green Tortoise is an awesome hostel. They definitely cover all the bases of a traditionally good hostel but also add a few nice amenities. The kitchen is very well maintained and the free coffee, silverware, cups, plates, bowls, etc. available for use is really nice. The fridge space available for guests complete with labels for labeling your food was a nice touch. One of my favorite things about this hostel was the sauna on the third floor -- awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
9.1

Amazing breakfasts! Free meals! Free food! Great hostel! Good showers! Staff were really friendly and they have events on throughout the week so you can meet other travellers!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.9

Comfy big bunk beds, very clean and so many facilities on site! A must stay for San Francisco.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.6

Great Place. Very good breakfast. Good location. Nice people & staff. Sometimes free dinner + activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

Excellent Hostel especially for lone travellers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.