Hostelworld.com

Green Tortoise Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Green Tortoise Hostel Located at 494 Broadway, , San Francisco.
Green Tortoise Hostel
USA
San Francisco CA 94133 494 Broadway
88% 106
37.7980750 -122.4053630
Green Tortoise Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sasopaaf
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Best hostel In San Francisco!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.6

Staff are good, location is good, just a bit of noise if you stay close to window

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Hostel is in a great location. Staff is fine. I didn't eat the free breakfast, but it looked good. One thing I didn't like about it was the bed. I was "lucky" enough to be assigned a bed by the window, which turned out not to be a bunker. At the end of the day, I had to squeeze my legs to fit in the bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.4

This hostel is perfect. Accommodating to everyone who stays, nice kitchen for use all the time, free breakfast, planned activities and free dinners for the guests, very clean and nice bedrooms and bathrooms. And I met some very good people. Incredible experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
8.0

The good: First, The hostel was in a perfect location. Second, They provided breakfast and dinner. Third, it was safe, and for a solo female traveler this is everything. And finally, the WIFI was very fast all the time and everywhere. The not so good: First, The bathrooms were very small and there were only five of them on each floor. Second, I’ve been to cleaner places, and that coming from someone who traveled a lot and stayed in all kind of hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
9.4

The remodeled bathrooms were great! I just wish that all of them were up and running.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grassman
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.4

Green tortoise Effin rules. Good local. Great staff. You make friends in the dinning room and your room. Everyone is cool as a cucumber. Get blazed hang out. Can't get any better for a backpacker

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
9.7

We really enjoyed our stay at the green tortoise. It's in a great area which is central and close to a lot of restaurants. They have activities on daily, free breakfast and three free dinners a week which was really nice. They also have lots of recommendations of things to do in the area. We stayed in the annex building which we found was very quiet and comfortable. We would thoroughly recommend staying at the green tortoise

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
8.0

For the most part I think this is a textbook hostel. Beds are awesome compared to the other hostels I've seen in CA. Great place to explore this area of the city. It's definitely a different vibe here than the rest of San Francisco.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
9.4

The travelers staying at this hostel and the workers who run it really make this the most enjoyable hostel I've stayed at in SF ( vs. USA hostels, HI city center, HI fishermans' wharf, Encore). There is a large ballroom that serves as the common area, and something to do almost every night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.