Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.1

Really good place highly recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.0

Funny smell....could be better...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.3

I was skeptical about this hostel at first but ended up really liking it. One of the biggest pluses is the amount of free food around. The breakfast is really good bc they offer fresh fruit and eggs you can cook yourself, plus bagels and yogurt. There are free dinners on MWF. Mondays is pasta, garlic bread and salad. I thought it was going to be overcooked pasta with bland red sauce--I was SO surprised at how genuinely good it was! The sauna is a perk. I like that there are only 4 beds in a room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • angeldc94256
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

one of the best hostels I've stayed at! Fork over the nightly rate and that includes free breakfast, nightly events, and some free dinners. Facilities are top notch including printing, laundry, ironing, bikes for rent, and very helpful staff. Strict no visitors rule for added security, so you know everyone who enters is supposed to be there. Great location 10 minutes walking to the Pier and next to Chinatown and Little Italy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

Such a good atmosphere at the hostel, especially in the ballroom. Met so many people through the organised activities. Free breakfast everyday and dinner 3 nights a week was great also. Would definitely recommend to all types of travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to stay. Close to chinatown and to most of the restaurants. Rooms and restrooms were clean the whole time. Free breakfast and dinners are good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aaronjbarlow8576
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.3

Great hostel, cool space but beds were super small and uncomfortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.9

This was my favourite of the two hostels I used in San Francisco. The breakfast and free dinners were great. If I had stayed longer I know I would've used more of their facilities. I liked that they had print outs with instructions for how to get to the top attractions from the hostel, suggestions for cheap eats etc. The main draw back for me was just that the room was freezing, I had to sleep in my fleece to keep warm enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
4.9

To be Honest, this place is awful for any local staying there. I was not allowed to cook my partner dinner or even have her over to hang out in common areas. The staff was not accommodating of this fact and would not even consider that I was not the traditional occupant and maintained a very one-dimensional perspective. Having such a diverse amount of clients and making a set of standards that focus on 60% is not only discrimination it in ineffective. I would never stay at Green Tortoise again as it would

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

I rate this hostel highly. Fantastic location, free brekkie, and kind travellers passing through. I stayed here twice. The first time (1st level), the bathrooms were immaculate and the room was spacious. The second time (2nd level), the bathrooms were gross and the room was cramped. I paid for a 4-person dorm and there were 5 of us cramped inside a small room. Despite the smell of pot wafting through regularly, overall I think the hostel is better than most and great value for money. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.