Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Green Tortoise Hostel Located at 494 Broadway, , San Francisco.
Green Tortoise Hostel
USA
San Francisco CA 94133 494 Broadway
87% 249
37.7980750 -122.4053630
Green Tortoise Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
2.0

Worst place ever. Just pay a little bit more and go to HI SF or USA Hostels its paradise compare to this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Nov 2016
9.7

This is the best hostel I have stayed in, in the US! Green Tortoise has such a positive, welcoming vibe which means everyone who stays there is super friendly and keen to get to know each other. Facilities are great and free dinner x3 a week was fantastic. Rooms are clean and bathrooms are too, unless you get in there after a bunch of other people! Don't stay anywhere else in San Fran, this place is the best

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. In the world. Simple as that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

The best hostel experience ever - such a great vibe, great food and the staff were just incredible. Would absolutely recommend Green Tortoise!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
10.0

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in! The staff were lovely and the free dinners were amazing. Loads to do and everything was clean and well equipped. I'll 100% come back if I'm in the area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Good vibes and very communal. Free dinners were great and veg friendly. Great place to meet people and walking distance from China town / wharf areas / museum of modern art etc. A bit pricy for a hostel but definitely the best deal in San Fran plus the added value of free meals and very comfortable beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
10.0

I've stayed in hostels all over Europe and this is one of my favorites! Such an amazing atmosphere, a lot of fun and the dinners/breakfast are actually really good! Good for meeting tons of people too. Would definitely recommend a stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.7

It was a very great stay at Green Tortoise. They have a lot of activities going on almost everyday - or maybe everyday. It has a good location near the Embarcadero , Chinatown, Union Square - and it is a walking distance. However if you choose to take bus, you can also do that coz there are some choices of buses around the hostel. The food hall is huge and is a good place to exchange stories with others. They even serve a free dinner in some days. Their breakfast was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.3

Good hostel, area good and easy to reach all mots famous places in SF.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.