Hostelworld.com

Green Tortoise Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Green Tortoise Hostel Located at 494 Broadway, , San Francisco.
Green Tortoise Hostel
USA
San Francisco CA 94133 494 Broadway
89% 116
37.7980750 -122.4053630
Green Tortoise Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
10.0

Exceeded my expectations in every way! Top hostel. Breakfasts and dinners were delish

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
10.0

The place is down the street from china town ( good food, fruits/ veggies, near the pier, bars are near by. I would definitely stay here again. Everything is so close. 10-20 minute walk from almost everything. Stayed in a dorm room, was good. A little too hot but with the windows open it gets better and soon it's cool. Also stayed in their 2 person bedrooms, great. Beds are comfy. The rec. room is HUGE! Definitely make friends there, play pool, enjoy yourself. this place is chill, stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Not cheap but nothing in San Francisco really is anyhow. The location is great though being just up from Bart and around the corner from north beach. Price is made up for with a giant free breakfast and free dinners so I would for sure stay again if I don't plan on eating out!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sasopaaf
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Best hostel In San Francisco!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.6

Staff are good, location is good, just a bit of noise if you stay close to window

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Hostel is in a great location. Staff is fine. I didn't eat the free breakfast, but it looked good. One thing I didn't like about it was the bed. I was "lucky" enough to be assigned a bed by the window, which turned out not to be a bunker. At the end of the day, I had to squeeze my legs to fit in the bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.4

This hostel is perfect. Accommodating to everyone who stays, nice kitchen for use all the time, free breakfast, planned activities and free dinners for the guests, very clean and nice bedrooms and bathrooms. And I met some very good people. Incredible experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
8.0

The good: First, The hostel was in a perfect location. Second, They provided breakfast and dinner. Third, it was safe, and for a solo female traveler this is everything. And finally, the WIFI was very fast all the time and everywhere. The not so good: First, The bathrooms were very small and there were only five of them on each floor. Second, I’ve been to cleaner places, and that coming from someone who traveled a lot and stayed in all kind of hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
9.4

The remodeled bathrooms were great! I just wish that all of them were up and running.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grassman
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.4

Green tortoise Effin rules. Good local. Great staff. You make friends in the dinning room and your room. Everyone is cool as a cucumber. Get blazed hang out. Can't get any better for a backpacker

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.