Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Green Tortoise Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Beautifil hostel with the loveliest staff, very clean rooms and common area, computers, big kitchen, sauna for everyone to use, free breakfast and lots of social activities everyday. Staff have the best recommendations on food, sightseeing and what to explore in the SF Bay area, go for it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at Green Tortoise. The room was practical, the bed was comfy (and even had its own light, something I was beginning to think was illegal in the US), the fan was working and there was a small sink. The breakfast was excellent, with a proper kitchen where one can cook one's own should you wish. My only complaint was that there were not enough bathrooms in the hostel. Three bathrooms between 30 or so guests is not enough to my mind. Overall, a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Very social very nice great experience would go again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

My room was a 5 bedroom and we had a lovely bay window and sink in the room. We rented bikes over night for $25 through the hostel which is at least $10 less than anywhere else. Despite this being a pricier hostel in San Fran, this savings as well as the huge daily breakfast already more than makes up for the cost. Would 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel had everything. clean facilities, great location, friendly staff, comfy beds. Party atmosphere and noisy from the main street from traffic and nightclubs but not every night! got a great set up! would recommend if you don't mind some noise and party atmos. Great for meeting travellers with excellent common room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.1

This hostel has a great atmosphere - with free dinners and some great events, I had a great time in this lovely city and met some great people at the hostel. Plugs by beds which is great but the lack of showers on the floors meant I was often waiting (pre dinner and in the mornings) - also it would be great if there were rooms with just toilets (the ones near me were all shared with showers which meant when I needed a wee and all the showers were busy I had to wait) but other than that - great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

Great, very social, very comfortable, private rooms have a sink which is lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
9.1

Good location, friendly staff and helpful, free dinner three times a week, the altomasghare is nice , I have syaied at there 5 days, it's the nice experienc except I have to waited to go to the both room in the morning , due to the both rooms are only few at outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • scottylew
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.4

Amazing Hostel!! Fun events every night, comfy beds, and a great way to meet people from all over the world. The location is great walking distance from Little Italy and Chinatown, Coit Tower is just up the hill with an amazing view of SF, and is right in front of a Hop Off Hop On tour stop (Grayline). I plan on coming back to SF and I plan to come back to the Green Tortoise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Gumasole22
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
30th May 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel, it was a. It more expensive than others but it's completely worth the extra for all the free stuff that's included, free evening meals, breakfast and great activities. Staff were really great helping out with everything including an airport shuttle even after office hours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.