X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Green Tortoise Seattle Hostel Reviews

105 1/2 Pike Street, Seattle, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1391 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The staff like to tell you that it is the friendliest hostel in town.....not true the Seattle City Hostel is 10x better! The free food is good though! I would recommend the Seattle City Hostel for anyone visiting Seattle! It's also cheaper!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Unfortunately my brother found bedbugs in his bed, which really overshadowed our stay. We told a member of staff when we checked out but didn't feel it registered as a significant problem.


63%

Unfriendly vibe. Most staff were rude, in particular a lady named Leah. Two guys were very was nice and gave great suggestions. No lockers. No wifi in dorms. Very good location but extremely loud all night long. Uncomfortable as I was on too bunk and the other girls in my room were extremely rude.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location is perfect, and there's only one street across to the Pike public market. The facilities are enough to make food, and the washroom is big and clean. You can meet lots of people in the common room. They will also held different activities for people to make friends. Nice and wonderful hostel!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location right near the market. Fans, lights


89%

Great location amd a super chilled hostel. Staff were helpful and friendly without being fake. The walking tour from the hostel is a real highlight of staying here.


100%

Great central location. Amazing to have a large locker to put your all stuff in.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay. Not a huge common area to meet people, but they plan a ton of fun activities that encourage you to meet other people.


74%

No wifi connection in some rooms (I was in 205 and cannot connect to wifi)


74%

Great location, across the street from Pike's Place Market and 1-1/2 blocks from major bus stops/light rail stations. I've stayed here at least 8 times over the last 4 months and have noted that some of the desk staff are a bit surly and curt, particularly the ones that come on around 0800. The PM staff have always been super-friendly and will go out of their way to make your staff nice. The bathrooms can get a little grotty at times, due to heavy use and not frequent enough cleaning.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Jenna was exceptional helpful to us.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

My room near 1st avenue,very noisy.this affect my sleeping


86%

I enjoyed my stay, met lots of people from different countries, thus their weekly activities in the board is cool which I enjoyed and some of the staff are cool and entertaining.


89%

Was great that each bed had its own lamp, fan and curtain. Bathrooms were also nice and free dinner on certain nights was good. Although directions from the Greyhound station need to be updated, is no longer on Stewart St but Royal Brougham Way


91%

The Green Tortoise was a great hostel, very European unlike many of the ones that you find in the US. The beds each had their own curtains, fans, and lights to increase individual comfort, which was great. The bathrooms were all individual with their own showers. The free breakfast was wonderful, you get to cook yourself, which I liked. The kitchen is fully stocked and ready for your own cooking! Though I didn't get to experience it they have free dinners a couple nights a week as well. Happy!

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very helpful staff. The coupon for the EMP they provide was awesome. And the curtains around each bed was really nice for privacy since I was travelling alone.


91%

Free breakfast everyday and free dinner 3 nights a week were amazing.. Great food for a hostel. Great atmosphere for meeting other travellers, especiall the on the free walking tour. The green Tortoise goes above and beyond what you expect from a hostel.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location even if you get tired of the touristy spot of Pikes Place Market. The fact that you're so close to Pikes Place Market means traveling throughout the city is easy because all of the mass transit stops near your hostel. Friendly staff, lockers in the room, fans and power outlets at every bed. All the details that most hostels leave out. You cook your own breakfast, they provide the eggs and cooking equipment which was kinda cool.


100%

really enjoyed the stay! location is awesome, right in downtown! close to waterfront, the main streets and the most known sights like the gum wall! the room was big and even had a table and an own sink! haven't had that in any other hostel so far! breakfast was great and you even get free dinners on three days in the week, you also get to meet a bunch of other people at these dinners and also during the other activities they offer, like guided tours almost every day.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing location. We loved everything. Will certainly be back.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Seattle Hostels

Please give us your feedback