X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Green Tulip House Reviews

85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
465 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Thank you for your helpfulness throughout out stay. It was very clean and friendly which is perfect for all types of travellers. I will continue to reccommend the hostel to others - what a beautiful place! :)


86%

The staff was very friendly and helpful when we were looking for things to do around Chiang Mai. They also helped us book things, even on very short notice.

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The hostel is average but the staff is VERY VERYYY rude!!! Not nice or welcoming at all. There's not a nice atmosphere at all, partly because you are not allowed to sit at the front tables unless you buy the food or drinks the hostel sells. If you buy your own food or drinks you'll get kicked out of there and be sent to the rooftop where there is only one table. Honestly, the staff is so rude it's just better to go somewhere else, where you'll be treated nicely and respectfully!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
RUDE!!...we told you politely to have your food you bought outside consume on the roof top,we did not kick you out onto the street! We do not allow any outside food or drink consume in our café area,it is stated clearly,if you do not respect our rule than how on earth that we would respect you! If we allow that then what’s the point of having a café selling food and drink! Here again,with your bad attitude,arguing and shouting at us,how would we treat you nicely and respectfully!

46%

We're were so disappointed by this hostel, and particularly by the staff. We were really bad welcomed, the host immediately talked to us to sell extra activities in the city before the check in. Then different incidents came during our 3 days trip. The rules ares really strict : impossible to download files on the computer, at 10.pm everything is closed. Good place but really bad service. I don't recommand it at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nobody would welcome you with your bad attitude,you had created so much trouble during your 3 nights stay here,you had broken our house rules and did not listened what we had told you not to do but you continued to do so! You acted like your own the place,did what ever you like to do,the worst part was you had sneak in a man into the female only dorm room which we do not allow any visitor at all time! You had made us very angry with your bad attitude,would a angry person be nice to you?

86%

Stayed in 4 bed mix room and then a private twin room both spacious and clean with hot water and lockers which is all you really need. You have to ring a bell to get in after ten for added security tho you do feel bad coming in late and if your a couple you have to come in at the same time as you need to show your key to get in.


94%

This is one of the best hostels I think I've stayed in (I've stayed in a lot)!! Stella and staff are so helpful with recommending what to do and the best places to do them! I was travelling a lone for the first time and it seemed daunting until I arrived at this wonderful hostel! If you're in Chiang Mai definitely stay here :)

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay, wonderful staff are very helpful and included breakfast is good. Only one issue - very loud area. As long as you don't expect it to be quiet it great!


86%

Stella is the nicest host I've ever had! However, traveling on my own there weren't a lot of people downstairs to converse with. Overall great place, and about a mile away from the popular bars!


91%

An good hostel in the old city. Stella was an excellent host whose knowledge and efficiency helped us make the most of our time in Chiang Mai!


83%

Breakfast was disappointing. No chance that it fills your stomach...


94%

Very nice and helpful staff. Clean, big room. Only the sleepless rooster in the neighbor's yard disturbed our nights ;) but that's not the hostel's fault.


94%

We had such a good time here. The hostel had a chilled vibe, the location was fairly central and enabled access to do and see everything. Stella was so helpful and helped organised all our excursions which we really enjoyed. We would definitely recommend this place. (Couple 25 years pld)

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location. We had a private room. The room and bathroom were new, tidy and really clean. Beds were really comfortable. Stella the owner was helpful with writing us directions in Thai and always had local recommendations. It isn't a place with a huge social atmosphere, but if you're looking for a safe, clean, central and quiet stay then Green Tulip is for you.


89%

very helpful and friendly staff, nice, bright clean rooms, decent breakfast and good tours are available in the green tulip house. We were very satisfied with it. It doesn't have the funkiest designed common lounge area, but if that's not a concern for you then this guest house is a good choice.


86%

Great stay in Green Tulip. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. One important note to remember is that this hostel is not staffed 24/7, and they close at 10PM, and overnight put a chain on the main door. Which means that if you have an early flight, or want to check out at 5:30AM, like we did, you NEED to ensure you discuss this with the staff a day or 2 in advance, so that they can have someone there to open the door and let you out. Otherwise you won't be able to leave.


54%

This hotel costs well above average for the area, and yet provides very few comparable services. Not having basic amenities like hand soap, two towels per guest, and a more substantial complementary breakfast was an unpleasant surprise. The beds are very hard, the walls have no sound proofing, and it's impossible to not slam the doors. Don't blame that on guests. A 5 cent bar of soap, foam tape in the door jam, and a rug or at least paint on the bare concrete floor would help a lot.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry,we are not a hotel just a small hostel,thank you.

86%

We stayed here for two nights, and we loved it!


60%

I'm honestly surprised at all the glowing remarks this hostel received. It is a clean, 2-star mediocre hostel in a town filled with hundreds of choices. The location is very average (nothing around), breakfast is quite simple (just coffee/tea/toast), walls are paper thin so you hear everything, no socializing or alcohol in the hostel, and after dark you have to wait for security to let you in, no shampoo/conditioner/soap. It's simply a decent place to sleep if that's all you're looking for.


86%

We had a great stay here. Lovely room, great breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Everything so bright and colourful. Nice locational was central but away from busy spots.


91%

Stellar is amazing. She is very helpful and knowledgeable. It is very easy to organize an book tours from the hostel. We highly recommend it.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback