Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Green Tulip House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
Green Tulip House Located at 85 Samlan Road, , Chiang Mai.
Green Tulip House
Thailand
Chiang Mai 50200 85 Samlan Road
85% 582
18.7819980 98.9817179
Green Tulip House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.4

The owners are very sweet and helpful and are around 24/7 to cater for your every need. The rooms are basic but very clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic place!!!! Must stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
4.3

Place was nothing more than fine, for about $5-$10 more per night could stay at a nicer, newer hostel with a better atmosphere. Heck the owners didn't even let us drink beer we bought outside the hostel in the lobby. Major buzzkill. And the lady in charge was a little too pushy for our liking. Book travel with the tourist info offices around town, not with them and their shady contracts with local tours. Hope this is helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Firstly,we do not allow any outside food or drink to be consume in our café area,it is stated clearly,you were told that you may consume it at the roof top area which it is for our guests when buying outside food or drink to consume there,if we allow this then what’s the point of having a café selling food and drink,mind you,you come from a civilize country who should know this is a simple logical rule that you should obey! Secondly,almost everyday during your stay here,there was something happen each day,you acted like you own our place,doing things as you like which go again us and house rules,we had to take action and told you off which you were not happy about it and not to your liking,we did not push you to the limit,it was your own doing that lead to this unfriendliness situation! Finally,you did not even bother or ask about the tours that we offer,how can you compare that our tours which are not reliable contracts and trusted companies! All in all,it was your own wrong doing and bad behaviors that lead to your own unpleasant stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
7.1

The staff at green tulip were very friendly and helpful however we were very disappointed in the atmosphere of the hostel. Was told there was a roof top area, when we arrived there was only one table with a few small chairs, so only one group could be there at a time. The hostel wasn't booked out so we had a room to ourselves for a night, whilst another group had a room to themselves so there wasn't much iteraction between other backpackers. Don't stay here if you want to meet other people!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
9.7

Very nice stay in convenient location. Stella helped us arrange a trip to the Night Safari at a reduced price. Very secure. Would recommend paying for a/c as the rooms get warm without. We survived with only the fan, though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
8.9

A good hostel with helpful staff. Good location and clean. Shame it wasn't a more social place in the evenings though, but overall we had a great time. :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.3

Clean and quiet, good location with lots of places within walking distance. Not overly sociable if you want to meet other travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
10.0

This is a wonderful hostel to stay at. It's run by an angel named Stella. The entire staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, the location is great and the security at night is superb. The food that they serve there is delicious as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
6.6

This is a decent hostel for the price if you don't mind that there is no social atmosphere. The lobby closes at 8pm and I found it very difficult to meet people while traveling on my own. Also there is a "no hand washing clothes" rule, but you can pay to get your laundry done. The bathroom stalls in the girls dorm are so small your knees hit the door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Stella and her staff were incredibly helpful. The hostel was in a perfect location. It was simple and clean, which is everything you want in a hostel. I would absolutely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.