Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Greenhouse Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.3

Great location in the city but it has several steps to block your baggages from the gate to the lift in the ground floor. Acceptable price but some private rooms no windows and especially the room 502 which behind the common door which is noisy. Staffs are friendly and the sixth floor is a good place to get information.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
7.1

Pretty good for a few nights stay. Amazing location but very basic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • k-b143376
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

the greenhouse backpackers was the best place we stayed in melbourne! the locations is super central, on one of the best lanes in melbourne, however is still quiet enough to get a decent nights sleep. It's really clean, with very friendly staff available 24 hrs which helped checking out at 6am. It also has a rooftop with an nice view of melbourne. the only criticism would be the lack of atmosphere but that's down to the guets and not the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

Greenhouse Backpacker was an ok hostel to stay at. The location was perfect; very central. We could walk everywhere and we're close to cafés, restaurants, stores and parks. The bedroom was a little dirty, but okay. The kitchen, on the other hand, was almost always dirty, so it was a little gross to make food. The internet is free, but works only in the common areas - not in our dorm. Over all it was an okay hostel to stay at, but would prefer it to be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.1

Great place! Nearly perfect, but if you're unlucky you can get an uncomfortable bed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Nice hostel. Amazing location. Clean and secure. Decent AC. Wifi was good, but only available in the common area. Great atmosphere. Good facilities. Helpful staff. A bit expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ionacampbell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jan 2017
6.6

Great location right in the middle of Melbourne, two minute walk from Federation Square. I was staying in a 5 bed room and there was only 2 plugs for everyone to use which was a bit annoying. Free breakfast which was useful. Not a very lively atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • e_voesenek7067
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
6.6

Showers are on the small side for tall people. No individual electrical/USB sockets per bed. Lockers are old fashioned and noisy. Wifi does not reach down into the rooms and mine quit before I checked out. Free breakfast is nice, fewer activities and free dinners than I remember from 2 years ago. Seems to be only once a week now. Compared to others seems overpriced and not as green as they make it out to be. Time for innovation!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
8.3

It was a nice place and quiet close to the city centre but one thing that I felt was the lack of backpacker armospehere, there was no party culture especially on weekends ot gets so bored.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
8.3

Really good location just above the police station. Atmosphere is nothing special compare to other hostels in Melbourne.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.