Hostelworld.com

Greenhouse Backpacker

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Greenhouse Backpacker Located at Level 6, 228 Flinders Lane, , Melbourne.
Greenhouse Backpacker
Australia
Melbourne VIC 3000 Level 6, 228 Flinders Lane
82% 263
-37.8165880 144.9664580
Greenhouse Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
4.6

I've never seen this rude staff. Just be prepare not to be upset before you talk with them. I travel a lot, so I've been in hostel many time and never had a problem with hostel before. But seriously I was really surprised that how people can rude like this. No wifi in room. only in public area (which is very loude)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
6.6

Negative: - When I was there the Showers on my floor were closed so had to walk to another floor through back staircase, - Wifi wasn't working on my phone - Tiny and dark room - If you wanted to go to the kitchen the elevator took you right in front of reception so not a very homy feeling... Postive: Free PCs for use, free breakfast, free dinner (when I was there), ok Location But overall there would have been cheaper Hostels without Wifi which was my main reason I booked it...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
7.4

Great location, staff at night and early morning (guy) not helpfull at all, ignoring and bad attitude, in the room for 6 females only 1 power source

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
8.6

Fantastic location and facilities. The building is basically an office block turned into bedrooms, so very thin walls (sorry neighbours!) but room was a great size and bathrooms were also large (showers could have been warmer but they'll do). Receptionist wasn't particularly friendly and presumed we knew where to go when she handed us a key, watching us look blankly around us for any sign of room numbers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
7.1

Greenhouse Backpackers was ok but a bit too expensive for the amount of stuff you get. The breakfast is mediocre and the staff is really pushy about removing everything from the breakfast at 9am promptly so if you are in the queue to toast your bread, be ready to eat it plain because they won't wait. The staff wasn't friendly or helpful about anything, but the place is uber secure which is great but I just really didn't care for the clientele/environment there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.1

It's my second time staying at the Greenhouse. I love the location, right in the heart of Melbourne. The hostel is quiet with a nice atmosphere. Not a party hostel, but drinks are allowed in the common area. They have a big tv room and a rooftop. Activities like free walkingtours, pubcrawl, footie games and free pasta dinner is arranged throuout the week. The elevator is slow and cleanness varies from room to room. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
6.3

Reception Staff weren't particularly helpful and moaned about how tough there day was going. The kitchen was filthy and didn't look like it ever got cleaned. The positioning was good though really in the bustle of Melbourne with some great cafes around the corner and plenty to do

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
7.7

Perfect location..highly recommended!! The hostel is clean, rooms are really big.. There is a board at the entrance full of activities or free walking tours to do!! But the staff is AWFUL!!!! The rudest receptionists i've ever seen.. Such a shame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
7.4

Has good facilities and good location. Clean showers/toilets. Really noisy at night from sounds from Swanston St. Room was tiny though. Had a person in my room who lives there and had taken over half the room by setting up his own esky and TV. There were dirty dishes left on the floor which caused the room to stink. Full of old people too

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
7.1

Perfect location, the walking tours were amazing, Shannon was a wonderful guide. However I found the staff at the front desk not as friendly. Rooms were clean and same as bathrooms, lots of space in the rooms as well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.