Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Greenhouse Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
7.4

Ok for the price. The rooms are quite stuffy and not a lot of air flow. Interior rooms don't have any windows. Lots of long term stayers so not a lot of mingling, but good for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • heart007
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Fantastic place..im going back for sure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
5.7

It was loud because doors got banged permanently. Staff cleaned the kitchen and minutes later the backpackers occured a mess!!! Dishes got not dried, towels not hanged up! Chips and empty chips bags were in the lift. Behaved like pigs! I am too old to stay in such accommodations. My first room where I paid AUS$100 for 0ne night just to have the room for myself, was without a window. After 2 nights of claustophobia I asked for an other room with a window. The staff arranged it and I felt better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Not a party hostel but great for the more subdued traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2017
7.7

I'm happy about staying in this hostel for just one night. All in all the hostel was clean, but it felt a bit weird having no window in the rooms. The atmosphere was very impersonal, at breakfast everybody was sitting on his/her phone, nearly nobody was talking with others. I think that's maybe because the hostel is a very big one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.4

Free breakfast.in a heart of the city.super Friendly staff.but the toilet is not enough .only 3 toilets & 3 showers for each level.everything else is okay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.3

Great location in the city but it has several steps to block your baggages from the gate to the lift in the ground floor. Acceptable price but some private rooms no windows and especially the room 502 which behind the common door which is noisy. Staffs are friendly and the sixth floor is a good place to get information.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
7.1

Pretty good for a few nights stay. Amazing location but very basic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • k-b143376
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

the greenhouse backpackers was the best place we stayed in melbourne! the locations is super central, on one of the best lanes in melbourne, however is still quiet enough to get a decent nights sleep. It's really clean, with very friendly staff available 24 hrs which helped checking out at 6am. It also has a rooftop with an nice view of melbourne. the only criticism would be the lack of atmosphere but that's down to the guets and not the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

Greenhouse Backpacker was an ok hostel to stay at. The location was perfect; very central. We could walk everywhere and we're close to cafés, restaurants, stores and parks. The bedroom was a little dirty, but okay. The kitchen, on the other hand, was almost always dirty, so it was a little gross to make food. The internet is free, but works only in the common areas - not in our dorm. Over all it was an okay hostel to stay at, but would prefer it to be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.