Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Greenhouse Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
7.7

Greenhouse Backpacker was an ok hostel to stay at. The location was perfect; very central. We could walk everywhere and we're close to cafés, restaurants, stores and parks. The bedroom was a little dirty, but okay. The kitchen, on the other hand, was almost always dirty, so it was a little gross to make food. The internet is free, but works only in the common areas - not in our dorm. Over all it was an okay hostel to stay at, but would prefer it to be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.1

Great place! Nearly perfect, but if you're unlucky you can get an uncomfortable bed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Nice hostel. Amazing location. Clean and secure. Decent AC. Wifi was good, but only available in the common area. Great atmosphere. Good facilities. Helpful staff. A bit expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ionacampbell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jan 2017
6.6

Great location right in the middle of Melbourne, two minute walk from Federation Square. I was staying in a 5 bed room and there was only 2 plugs for everyone to use which was a bit annoying. Free breakfast which was useful. Not a very lively atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • e_voesenek7067
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
6.6

Showers are on the small side for tall people. No individual electrical/USB sockets per bed. Lockers are old fashioned and noisy. Wifi does not reach down into the rooms and mine quit before I checked out. Free breakfast is nice, fewer activities and free dinners than I remember from 2 years ago. Seems to be only once a week now. Compared to others seems overpriced and not as green as they make it out to be. Time for innovation!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
8.3

It was a nice place and quiet close to the city centre but one thing that I felt was the lack of backpacker armospehere, there was no party culture especially on weekends ot gets so bored.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.0

It is a really big hostel, it occupies 3 floors on a building that is ridiculously well located. The breakfast is ok, not much variety though. The rooftop is really nice if you're a smoker and to socialize as well. I didn't find it easy to engage with conversations or hangout with people cause the place is really big.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
9.1

The hostel was located at the center of city and it was super convenient for food and shopping. Bathrooms and public areas were clean, but seat covers were dirty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
8.6

Great location, wifi, good sized kitchen. Lacks a bit of ambiance/atmosphere. Access to the rooms without going through reception not really secure :( Shower room a bit awkward: have to leave your items outside of the cabins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.0

Pretty standard hostel, comfy enough bed, good sized room but not enough outlets, wifi connection wasn't the greatest, good location, staff was very friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.