X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Greenpoint Lodge Reviews

95 Norman Ave, Brooklyn, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
183 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

More like a small house share. No staff on site most of the time so it feels like a home but staff are contactable. Charming house, good locations; G and L train very close by, lots of cool shops and bars, Williamsburg and views of Manhattan in walking distance. Room was comfortable and well equipped but heating was constantly on and radiator was loud but to be fair we didn't complain. Information pack provided was really useful; lots of info info including how to get from airports. I recommend


86%

Great moment !

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

If you are visiting without a car, this spot is right on top of a subway station for easy travel. The rooms are cozy, the 2nd floor common area is very nice. The Private double I stayed in needed a stool or chair in it, but was otherwise very nice.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Will be staying again next time I'm in New York, better than expected!!

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

There should be smoke detectors in the rooms and there was no dead bolt or security chain on the door to the room. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

HIGHLY recommend!!!

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

It was the first hostel I've been where there isn't any employee to help you. So the moment of the payment was quite strange because you couldn't know if everything was right or not. On the other hand, the place was very clean and comfortable. Our stay there was great. Please, be aware that the extra $20/person cleaning fee is not included in the price which you get with your reservation. This fee should be added to the price before making the reservation.


86%

We had a wonderful stay at the Greenpoint Lodge, stayed 8 nights. We had the Queen Loft facing Norman Ave. We were not bothered by street noise at all, there isn't that much going on at night actually. Beds were comfortable, but we wish there was a chair in the room. We have to comment on the smell in the room as well, it has this smell of old cellar. The smell disappears if you turn the air con on max, but you don't want to do that all the time. Great neighbourhood and Debrah is a great host!


86%

We really enjoyed our stay!

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Felt like staying in someones home, nice to have easy access to a kitchen after a month of travelling.


97%

Really enjoyed our stay! Excellent accomodation in a lovely part of the city. Our only (minor) complaint is that there was no toaster in the top kitchen, but otherwise everything was perfect.


100%

Great staff, great location right beside the Nassau subway station, the bus stop and Williamsburg, the coolest place in New York. The pizza parlor next door is fantastic. Bring your running shoes with you so you can jog at the park in Bedford. What more can I say.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice place to stay if you're traveling to NYC. Just 10-15 minutes with the subway to central Manhattan and 30 seconds from your door to the Nassau Subway station. The place itself is really nice, Debra did a wonderful job with this place. Just the beds could be a little bit harder, but this is my personal opition :) Must do: try the pizza place just left from the Greenpoint Lodge!


94%

We truly enjoyed our stay! The environment and amenities were just what we needed. The very thorough restaurant and travel guide for the neighborhood and surrounding areas was very helpful. Thank you!

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice neighbourhood, the queen loft room is very lovely and quite tall. Good place to stay, because there are lots of small stores and restaurants around, you get quickly to manhattan and you can relax from the noise of the big apple.


83%

a good, clean place for staying in NY; the metro station is right in front of the house - it tooks 30 min to downtown manhattan; the private double room is small, but sufficient and the airconditioning was very loud; the room is located in the backside of the house and their was no noise, but the AC; the second floor is much warmer than ground and first floor and the stairs were very narrow - perfect for backpacks, but hard to handle for big suitcases i guess

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel in a very nice neighborhood (trendy bars and restaurants all around). The metro station is just in front of the door. Super fast wifi. The only bad thing which made everything else second-rank was that we had bedbugs in our room. The staff was very exerted to make the best out of the situation and there was also an expert coming to clean the room. But after all we still had the terrible itching and all the annoying cleaning thing of our luggage at home. We wouldn't go back.


97%

We stayed here for 3 nights and it is a perfect place to explore New York. There is a subway station right next to the appartment which makes it very easy to go to Manhattan. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back here!


91%

Greenpoint lodge is a great, low key place to stay in Brooklyn. The neighborhood has all sorts of good restaurants and small grocery stores. The kitchens in the lodge are fully stocked and it really felt like staying at a friend's house.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing neighborhood. The blue room is a little small, but cosy and with a pretty view to the backyard. Really near to the subway station.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all New York Apartments

Please give us your feedback